We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like Home”
Review of Birchgrove House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oranmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchgrove House
Ranked #2 of 9 Oranmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane,Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Felt like Home”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We too were welcomed like old family returning. My Great Grandfather was Irish and Mary and Pat made us feel like he'd only left last week, not 150 years ago! Our room was lovely and quiet and Mary gave us good recommendations for dinner. The breakfast was fantastic and lasted all day! There's lots of parking there too.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara falls
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Mary and her husband welcomed us like lost family and made us feel like we were in
Ireland? she gave us advice on where to eat, how to research our family heritage and served us a wonderful breakfast. Lots of parking. Quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was initially planning on winging my way through Ireland with nothing more than a whim and B&B vouchers but the unexpected need to plan things occurred when my mother, last minute, informed me she could come with. As such, we ended up booking many of our lodgings once in Ireland (and through a tablet no less). That said, our wonderful host Mary was quite surprised to see the 2 of us appear when only one was booked. Needless to say, she was very accommodating and set us up in our own single ensuite rooms despite the error. Mary was an absolute delight and the location of her B&B was close enough to take in Galway and the Cliffs of Moher. I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klumac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Mary and Pat are so wonderful! We were welcomed like they had known us for years. Their home is so comfortable and quiet. The room/beds very clean.
Full irish breakfast is a feast and the best scrambled eggs I've ever eaten.
Pat and Mary were a great source for information and went out of their way to help us get our tour organized.
Mary's flower gardens are stunning.
The location is perfect for so many different activities, from Connemara to the Cliffs and just a short drive into Galway.
Absolutely loved Birchgrove B&B in Oranmore
Thank you so much,
Sally and David T.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a great time at Birchgrove House. Mary and Pat welcomed us in a way, we never had thought of. Our room was very comfortable. We enjoyed Marys Irish breakfast and that she helped us to plan our day. We felt like coming home!! We will never forget the time at Birchgrove House and are sure to come back as far as possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildedreizehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I think being a repeat guest says a lot about a place and we are such visitors. Mary and Pat have redecorated since we were last there and the new lounge furniture is so comfortable you could easily fall asleep there. The best things about Birchgrove are it's hosts. Mary and Pat go out of their way to make your stay there memorable. They have a wealth of information about the area and are ready with suggestions about your days outing. This is a wonderful place to use as a base and make day trips. While we only spent one night there on this trip, we hope to return again soon. Thanks Mary & Pat for your very warm welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent 5 nights with this great b&b with 6 Dutch guys. Good and clean rooms and full Irish Breakfast up to your choice. Pat and Mary are really great people and do everything to really enjoy the stay. We will come back.

Jeroen, Peter, Bart, Andre, Nico and Fred from the Netherlands.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FishingtripIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
2.0 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
770 reviews
8.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,068 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,689 reviews
9.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
335 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchgrove House

Property: Birchgrove House
Address: Oranbeg, Oranmore, Galway Co. Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Oranmore
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birchgrove House is a comfortable modern bungalow with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere situated about 1.5 km outside of the picturesque village of Oranmore, and about 8 km outside of Galway city, the cultural capital of the west of Ireland. It is an ideal base, as it is situated on the main national routes, and is especially popular for touring the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Connemara, Lough Mask and Lough Corrib, each of which comes recommended by our guests. When you stay with us, you can be sure of a place of lodging of only the highest standards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchgrove House Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing