We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel… Very homely and friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel… Very homely and friendly!”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I have just returned from a lovely weekend in Galway…. Is Galway always this busy??? It seems to be the place to go !

We stayed in the Oranmore Lodge Hotel which is about ten minutes drive from the city centre. We parked our car for the weekend and availed of the local bus service in and out of the city… only €3… very good value! We found this little gem of a hotel on the internet and booked in for a deal of 2 nights B&B and 1 dinner – it was great value! We checked in on Friday and was met by a lovely receptionist – Nicole … she welcomed us and showed us where our room was and offered us an upgrade to a suite for only €20… so of course we availed of it!! When we were showed to our room she explained to us what we could do in the area etc and informed us of the bus route for the city centre which we were unaware of… but found her a great help.

The room was fabulous… leather sofa, huge TV and aircon.. .which we didn’t use of course!!! We even got bath robes – what a treat when your away!

We dined in the hotel on Friday night and had a wonderful meal in the restaurant.. the restaurant is small and intimate but really lovely… its so in keeping with an old hotel.. beautiful big fireplace in it. Our food was delicious – I had the pork belly which is the best I’ve had yet and my partner availed of a steak which was cooked beautifully - however we got so much food we were hardly able to move after it….

Breakfast next morning was busy – but again very good and plenty of choice. The girls serving us for dinner were working the next morning and I have to say they are great.. they nearly know everybody by name and they really make you feel at home!

We checked out on Sunday - the hotel was crazy busy Sunday morning and we ended up chatting with the wedding guests from the night before and they were full of praise for the hotel also.. apparently it had been a very late night .. but luckily we never heard a sound!

So in my opinion – this is a great hotel – well worth a visit to and I will definitely return again. I hope this review helps some of you travelers out there .

Thanks again to all the staff… you all made our weekend!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyduffy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianOhiggins, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Dear Stacey,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Not many people make this effort but I can assure you it is really appreciated.

Its great to hear feedback and I will ensure the staff get to read your review so they are aware of the great professional job they do!

Once again.. Thank you for your comments.

Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    244
    127
    70
    31
See reviews for
295
247
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Comfortable but dated. Small but adequate pool and fitness club. OK for a stay in Galway area if price is right but better modern alternatives.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneeyetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My husband and I booked a last minute break to Galway to this hotel. We just booked a bed and breakfast rate as we knew we would be eating in the city centre. I could not believe the room it was so tiny and the stale smell once you entered the room was just awful, The bed was also tiny and pushed up against a wall!!!! I looked into the bathroom and the taps were just filthy. I went down to the desk and asked to be moved but was told that we could pay €50 extra to be moved. I did not take this up as it was a last minute break and did not want to pay extra. We decided just to spend as much time as possible in thecity. We asked for a Iron and that was just filthy and we had to clean it ourselves before we used it. The towels that are provided are grey not white and just so small you could not call them bath towels. I found out to my horror later that the girl I spoke to at the desk was actually the Reservation Manager and she selects the rooms you are allocated. The room that was given to us was usually used as a single room. We thought that we would have used the swimming pool while we were there but again we were dissapointed as it was so small and could do with a good clean, Over all the hotel needs to be renovated. I would never advise anyone to stay in this old hotel that is stuck in a time warp.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonegalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianOhiggins, Owner at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Dear alias Donegal Traveller,

I refer to your comments in relation to your stay at this hotel. You booked a last minute weekend deal at a rate of €37.50 B/B per person sharing, per night. You were allocated a standard bedroom measuring 18 sq. meters that was built 12 years ago ! The reservations manager offered to upgrade you to a superior room measuring 24 sq. meters for an extra €12.50 per person per night. You were adamant that you were not going to pay this rate and demanded a free upgrade. When this was not forthcoming, you have now set about to criticse the hotel in a defamatory manner. We are amazed as to how you could comment on the swimming pool when you state that you did not use the leisure centre ??
For your information the swimming pool is 17m and is maintained to the highest hygienic standards.

Brian J. O'Higgins,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

well this is my 2nd time to stay in this hotel... myself and 3 friends decided to holiday at home this year and do the galway races..... we didnt stay in the city as it was a bit too pricey!! however we stayed in Oranmore... what a lively place to stay. we checked in on the wednesday and stayed until saturday before moving on to our next hotel... which I will also review! We had a lovely room.. plenty of space for us .. 1 double and 2 single beds... we had dinner on one night which was included in our package..... food was amazing.. again.. but way too much of it. If you are looking for a family run hotel.... this has to be the best.. you can tell simply by the friendlieness of all the staff... even the breakfast staff... Im Celiac myself but brought my own bread as I didnt want to be a nuisance... once they noted this they had everything ready for me each morning and made sure they had special bread bought in for me.. by the time we checked out we knew every member of staff and we are already organising our next girlie trip away for October... So thanks again to all the staff and the owners... they all know how to do their job! Well done!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larkinclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianOhiggins, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thank you for your great review of our hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed both the hotel and the Galway Races and its great to see repeat guests coming back to us....

I hope everything was even better than the last time you stayed and we look forward having the opportunity of welcoming you back to us again.

Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The reviews I read of the Oranmore Lodge Hotel were very good so I was quite disappointed when we got there. The location is right next to the highway so not very "Lodge" like. The hallways smelled intensely like baby powder and the rooms were very dated looking. The breakfast was just edible.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runnermom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We arrived at the hotel at about 2pm in the afternoon. Checked in and sent down to room 6GL. Firstly you went down 8 steps of stairs ending up on the lower ground floor. The hallway was really narrow with doors on both sides. Got into our room to find the most drab bedroom . 2 double beds, dark curtains, no wardrobe only a rail. A closet with a small fridge and tea making facilities. A table with a small mirror over it. That was our 4 **** bedroom. The bathroom was clean but nothing fancy. Called reception and asked for a better room. Told €20.00 extra to move upstairs but room would be the same. Also asked did I want to move out. We put up with this as it was only for 2 nights but extremely dissapointed. Next went to see the Leisure centre that was equally as dissapointing. The pool is only 16metres and not very clean. Could do with a face lift. The exercise room was tiny. Machines on top of one another. Went for breakfast next morning and restaurant was tiny for the amount of people for breakfast. Food nothing to write home about. Very basic. Waiting about 15mts to geta table for 3.
As for the bar that is the pits. It is so gaunt and drab. The curtains are dating back 30 years. Old tables and chairs nothing exciting about this at all.
All I can say is it was a very dissapointing few days in a 4 star hotel. Don't know how it could be a 4 star.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deborah0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We booked 2 nights B&B with 2 dinners and got a good deal. Hotel had some charm but was somewhat tired and dated. Staff overall were friendly and the food in the restaurant was tasty and provided good size portions. They were child friendly and a lot of families were small children were also staying for the weekend, also had good size bedrooms which were comfortable. On the downside there were a lot so surcharges and for internet access/ Wi-Fi they charged €7 an hour while most other hotels provide it free. I was also looking forward to watching the Magners league final but discovered to late they do not have Satanta Sports which I took for given in a hotel. Also leisure centre did not open until 9am at weekends. My sister had a problem with a smell in her room and they did little to try and sort it. Small things would have made a big difference

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentley38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
3.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.5 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
7.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oranmore Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Property: Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Address: Tudor Vale, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranmore Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb 4* Hotel in Oranmore, Galway, the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre. Now less than 60 minutes from Shannon Only 2 Hours from Dublin via the new M6!Failte, 150 years of Irish hospitality awaits you.The Oranmore Lodge Hotel, Conference and Leisure Centre Galway is a prime location just off the N6 approach to Galway offering ease of access from all destinations, located only 7kms from Galway city .... The Oranmore Lodge is a superb venue for a major conference or small meeting, private dining, Wedding Reception or gala banquet alongside superb guest rooms and excellent service, we provide the best whether its for business or pleasure!The Hotel offers luxury accommodation with a variation of 50 standard and executive rooms offering FREE WIFI throughout the hotel for all our guests and the luxury of a full leisure centre and gymnasium available to help you relax and enjoy your well deserved break!You are guaranteed the best of Irish food whether you dine in our cosy bar or intimate Restaurant the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Galway provides the service and professionalism you would expect from a 4 Star hotel where guests have enjoyed the very best of Irish hospitality for over 150 years.The original manor house was built in circa 1850 and it has been tastefully extended to a 4 star luxurious hotel, incorporating a superb leisure centre, conference centre and banqueting suite ensuring our guests enjoy a truly unique irish hospitality experience here in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Oranmore Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranmore Hotel Oranmore
Oranmore Lodge Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing