We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Train and hotel information which may be helpful.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oranmore
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Train and hotel information which may be helpful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I got a 'Lidl' break deal on this hotel. First,we travelled to Galway from Dublin and its worth bearing in mind it is much more straightforward to go into Galway and get a taxi for 15euro from the station to the hotel. We missed our changeover stop at Athenry to get the train to Oranmore,as the train literally stops for 2 minutes there. We would have had a 40 min wait and still would have been charged the set price of 15e per journey to hotel.
Hotel was lovely, very warm,(maybe too warm) and clean. Friendly staff and average evening meal that was included. We paid 7.50 extra for steak which again was average. Wi Fi in the rooms is through a service called Bit Buzz and you have to register your information such as email and telephone number to use it which I didn't like but did so I could avail of the service.
The pool is definitely not 4 star quality. It was shabby and outdated and had no private changing areas and didn't look particularly clean. The pool is not big and is 4'6'' in depth the whole way. The towels were very small and not good quality. The steam room and sauna are not too bad and the Jacuzzi was okay, but again I felt it wasn't well maintained.
However, it was a nice break, the taxi service to and from hotel is reliable and fairly priced.

Room Tip: The staff will oblige wherever possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    226
    117
    67
    31
See reviews for
273
232
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our stay at the Oranmore Lodge was pleasant with some exceptions - however rather than post a review with negative comments - I decided to contact the reservations manager Shirley and spoke with her and found her to be very receptive,agreeable and helpful .The staff were first class and I couldnt fault them in any way

Room Tip: Specify rooms in the newer portion of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I got a deal on pigsback for this hotel. The deal was great as you got an executive suite and breakfast included. However, if I hadn't got a deal I don't think it would be worth staying here. It is definitely not a typical 4 star hotel; I think it really should be 3*. Room was large but nothing remotely fancy. The pool was fine but it really had a local sports center feel to it rather than being part of a 4* hotel. The staff that were part of the sports center were not very nice. I would definitely not book a treatment.
The staff in the hotel were lovely, especially the lady on reception. Breakfast was decent.
What I was really disappointed with was the quality of food in the restaurant. At 35e per person for the set menu you would expect decent quality food. It was slopped up and much more like something from a carvery (not that I don't like carvery but not at that price). The glasses of wine were pathetic also. So I would recommend eating in the bar where it is cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I don't usually write a review online but I recently stayed in the Oranmore Lodge and truly found the experience to be wonderful! From the moment I arrived I was warmly welcomed by all staff.

The reception area is beautiful with a huge amount of detail put into the furnishings - not something you usually see these days! I had lunch in the restaurant upon arrival - delicious freshly made sandwich with fresh salad and chips (those with me had full dinners and equally said they were delicious and decent portions).

The rooms were spotless with all the expected amenities of a four star hotel. WIFI was also free throughout the hotel which is great (strange to think in this day & age that other hotels actually charge for internet).

I also visited the swimming pool while there and it was great!

Again I need to mention that the staff were so friendly and helpful and a special mention to Bernie who was wonderful!

Will definately be returning in the near future!

Room Tip: I was located on the second floor facing the front of hotel - room was spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleyKilduff, Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Jenny L,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and taking the time to write this after your recent stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future - Bernie will be delighted with her special mention!

Kind Regards,


Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed in the Oranmore Lodge last week and once again found it to be comfortable, friendly and well located. I Love Galway City but prefer to visit it for Meals Out, Entertainment and Business, but Love to go out to Oranmore to relax in the Leisure Center, have a chat in the Bar and eat in their Dining room. My room was lovely and my bed comfortable. A Haven for anyone travelling alone in the West.
Thanks to Brian and all his staff for another comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Just ask, they will do all they can to make your stay comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56RubyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleyKilduff, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear 56RubyD,

Thank you for a really great positive review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us again.

Kind Regards,


Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I won a 2 night break in the Oranmore Lodge, it was a lovely place to stay, the staff were so friendly, especially Robin & Bernie. Dinner was included and could not fault it. It is a bit of an old style hotel which we loved, really homely and so close to Galway. I will definatley go back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleyKilduff, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Lucy H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel.

It is always great to get feedback on the hotel and the service we provide and of course great to hear you highlight and compliment our staff members which thrive on these positive reviews.

Again thank you and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back to stay with us.

Kind Regards,


Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of Shearings Hotel tour of Ireland.We were given a room over the kitchen which stunk of cooking smells.On the door was a price of 300 euros per nt in summer.I would not give 30 pence a nt for this room

Room Tip: Complain as soon as you given your room if your are not happy with the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Billyboy704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oranmore Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Property: Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Address: Tudor Vale, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranmore Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb 4* Hotel in Oranmore, Galway, the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre. Now less than 60 minutes from Shannon Only 2 Hours from Dublin via the new M6!Failte, 150 years of Irish hospitality awaits you.The Oranmore Lodge Hotel, Conference and Leisure Centre Galway is a prime location just off the N6 approach to Galway offering ease of access from all destinations, located only 7kms from Galway city .... The Oranmore Lodge is a superb venue for a major conference or small meeting, private dining, Wedding Reception or gala banquet alongside superb guest rooms and excellent service, we provide the best whether its for business or pleasure!The Hotel offers luxury accommodation with a variation of 50 standard and executive rooms offering FREE WIFI throughout the hotel for all our guests and the luxury of a full leisure centre and gymnasium available to help you relax and enjoy your well deserved break!You are guaranteed the best of Irish food whether you dine in our cosy bar or intimate Restaurant the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Galway provides the service and professionalism you would expect from a 4 Star hotel where guests have enjoyed the very best of Irish hospitality for over 150 years.The original manor house was built in circa 1850 and it has been tastefully extended to a 4 star luxurious hotel, incorporating a superb leisure centre, conference centre and banqueting suite ensuring our guests enjoy a truly unique irish hospitality experience here in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Oranmore Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranmore Hotel Oranmore
Oranmore Lodge Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing