We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff were friendly,helpful and informative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel offers a home from from home experience,it was clean and family room was spacious.The staff were polite and very informative,we really enjoyed our stay just wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aclin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleyKilduff, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear aclin 2013,

Thank you so much for having chosen the Oranmore Lodge Hotel for your stay - Your review is like music to our ears - a home from home experience is exactly what we aim to achieve and we are so glad we did... so a huge thank you for letting us know!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 817 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

My first impression of this hotel was the manner in which I was treated by the reservations manager Shirley. She quoted me a price for a family room. I asked was there a few rooms available as other families could be travelling - I was told yes. I rang back the following morning to confirm and the reservations manager told me that there was a room available but the price had gone up. When I queried I was told "its like Ryanair you don't get the same price every day !!!!". Ryanair are a budget airline ... it this the impression a four star hotel wants to give ??? She then proceeded to say " its only 15 euro extra - do you want the room or not ?!!"

I booked as we were travelling with other families (mistake !!) . The hotel is clean but dated. The bathrooms are quite old - shower curtains and rubber bath mat !! The complimentary soap/shampoo is in the form of a plastic container dispenser stuck on the wall - as you would see in cheap accommodation. It states in the guest directory in the bedroom, that if you require a shower cap, shampoo etc. just call reception ??!

There were several other incidents during my stay, but the final straw was the phone call I received from the hotel an hour after my departure accusing me of stealing a cushion from the bedroom, which was one of two in the room ??

I can safely say that I will not be visiting this hotel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful hotel outside the city centre. Leisure centre was excellent and all staff very accommodating. Was disappointed the restaurant was not open so decided on bar food. Food was average and found the portions of some of the dishes (tagiatelle) very small. Staff were excellent and very friendly. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianOhiggins, Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Pete,

Thank you for your lovely review - We really appreciate that you take the time out to review us.

With regards to the restaurant not being open - this we are a bit confused about as it opens every evening from 7pm -9pm - bar food is available from 6pm each day..

But on a positive note it is great to hear our staff did a great job and that you would recommend us - so a huge thank you for that!

It is always great to get positive feedback and makes our job worthwhile.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us.

Thanks again,

Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A delight, especially compared with others nearby that looked out onto a roundabout and were without air-conditioning on a very hot afternoon. Entrance slightly awkward to find, but very easy parking directly out front.

The bedroom and bathroom were clean and the bed was very comfortable (we don't really look for "modern" furniture, as this has to be paid for). The room itself was pleasantly large and enabled us to lay out our travel luggage.

The bar is a very pleasant location and has excellent, reasonably-priced, bar food, which we appreciated as we weren't in the mood for a full-on meal. The restaurant itself was well laid-out for breakfast, being the usual full-service Irish breakfast.

All in all, a very good alternative to accommodation in the centre of Galway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayneCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianOhiggins, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Wayne,

Thank you for taking time out to review us online.

I love your choice of words "A delight" which says alot!

It is really great to hear such positive reviews and know that our guests are happy with the service and food we offer.

Should you ever decide to visit Galway we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us.

Thanks again,


Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great value for a familyfamily of four, staying in room 106 ( two twins). We were very satisfied with the spacious room, friendly staff, excellent leisure centre (pool) and the nice breakfast buffet.
The location between a residential area and a main road may be a bit odd, but as the entire hotel is surrounded by trees, it generally has a lush and country atmosphere.
Two suggestions for possible improvement: Start breakfast 30 minutes earlier (7.00 instead of 7.30) and improve the quality of the scrambled eggs (were quit watery). Otherwise a great stay at a very competitive price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoostDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianOhiggins, Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Joost,

First of all thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted and proud to read this review and very happy you enjoyed everything from the facilities to our friendly staff.

With regards to starting breakfast earlier we will most certainly look into this and take your idea on board - its always great to get feedback from what our customers want!

Again thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel, and thats it. Located about ten minutes from the city center by taxi. Seems nice from outside but the rooms are poor. Old furniture. Old beds. They have free wi fi but every day you have to change password. Most of the time the internet disconnects and you have to reconnect. You cant open a window completely. Not gonna stay one more time in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reuvenhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived back yesterday after staying for 3 nights at this hotel.Disappointing to say the least but just about bearable as Galway was really busy this week and I don't think we would have been able to find another hotel instead...Where do I start???Reception area the smallest I have ever seen.Front door wide open and a skinning breeze blowing in the door while waiting to check in.We went to our room(102,family room)pretty basic but clean.Two double beds and the usual extras you find in a hotel(not that big for a family room)Dated furniture.Very few channels on the tv,especially kids channels,no dvd player.There was however a fridge and a microwave which we didn't expect.Bathroom was fine.The bar was desserted alot of the time so you had to wait around to order.However,the bar food is delicious there.We didnt have breakfast at the hotel as we felt that a extra 90 euro for same was crazy for 2 adults and 2 children.They were repainting the hotel when we arrived so that was a bit annoying for the first 2 days.It was very hot at night time so left open our windows,only to be awoken each morning at about 6.30pm by trucks reversing with that beeping sound?Our room was of course at the back of the hotel.And it wasn't 1 truck,there was about 2 or 3 of them within 10 mins or so of each other so needless to say we were wrecked.The pool is lovely here but the changing rooms very disappointing.I thought it was shocking that the leisure centre is separate to the hotel which meant we had to walk outside to get to it?Lucky enough it wasn't raining all that much.Which is why I can't faddom why this is a 4 star hotel?This badly needs to be reviewed...I've stayed in better 3 star hotels.Because our room was right beside the reception area(which they refer to as the reading room,I had to laugh)at night time you could hear the scraping of the chairs in the reception area.Had Galway not have been so busy we would have upped and left.Wont be rushing back again.

Room Tip: not the rooms at the back of the hotel anyway cos if you have to open a window at night the trucks i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,129 reviews
3.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
7.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,665 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
226 reviews
6.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oranmore Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Address: Tudor Vale, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range: $60 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranmore Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb 4* Hotel in Oranmore, Galway, the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre. Now less than 60 minutes from Shannon Only 2 Hours from Dublin via the new M6!Failte, 150 years of Irish hospitality awaits you.The Oranmore Lodge Hotel, Conference and Leisure Centre Galway is a prime location just off the N6 approach to Galway offering ease of access from all destinations, located only 7kms from Galway city .... The Oranmore Lodge is a superb venue for a major conference or small meeting, private dining, Wedding Reception or gala banquet alongside superb guest rooms and excellent service, we provide the best whether its for business or pleasure!The Hotel offers luxury accommodation with a variation of 50 standard and executive rooms offering FREE WIFI throughout the hotel for all our guests and the luxury of a full leisure centre and gymnasium available to help you relax and enjoy your well deserved break!You are guaranteed the best of Irish food whether you dine in our cosy bar or intimate Restaurant the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Galway provides the service and professionalism you would expect from a 4 Star hotel where guests have enjoyed the very best of Irish hospitality for over 150 years.The original manor house was built in circa 1850 and it has been tastefully extended to a 4 star luxurious hotel, incorporating a superb leisure centre, conference centre and banqueting suite ensuring our guests enjoy a truly unique irish hospitality experience here in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oranmore Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranmore Hotel Oranmore
Oranmore Lodge Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing