We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing a good job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Doing a good job”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel was very quiet the weekend that we were there but I think in general there is a nice quiet ambiance about the place. It is a bit aged in places but then again I don't expect any hotel to be spending on things like that in the current times. The food is quite excellent and that goes for breakfast and dinner. You would not need to leave the hotel for food if you don't want to. The bar is probably not the cosiest of places to be but the Guiness was good so all is forgiven!

The leisure centre is pretty good an dthe gym is well equipped which is always a bonus. Oranmore is a quirky kind of place and if I was going back I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tevezr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    246
    133
    73
    31
See reviews for
302
252
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a difficult one because overall I really can't bring myself to feel strongly about this hotel one way or the other. My wife and I and our second-born (1 year old) were in the area for a 2-day family gathering. Ultimately, this meant a late check-in and little time spent cumulatively in the hotel. We had checked in advance to be absolutely sure that they understood we needed a cot, and yet, upon check-in the room was cot-less and an already stressful late check-in was rendered as straightforward as a using the automated check-outs at a well-known international supermarket chain. Okay, no sweat. Lesson number 1 - ensure that your guests' special requirements are fulfilled.
In the morning our toddler takes to exploring the room and emerged from the bedside with a small cardboard box in his hands. Neither of us were paying too much attention to the provenance of this box until the word 'sex' caught my eye. Wonderful. It was an (empty) box for a utensil that a gentleman might wear during times of particular intimacy, which vibrates, and in doing do presumably renders his partner utterly speechless with enjoyment. Now, I'd be very disappointed in myself if I thought for one minute that I've become a prude - and yet to see my boy grasping this box really bowled me over. Even now I don't know whether to laugh about it or be outraged. Lesson number 2 - clean the rooms properly.
Finally, and again this makes me chuckle rather than fume, when starting the car and getting ready to set off from the hotel on the first morning I looked up to see the receptionist knocking on my window. Her problem, it transpired, was that she was concerned that I had not settled the bill and was concerned that I might be 'doing a runner'. Her enthusiasm was indeed laudable. However she quickly apologised when I told her that we hadn't checked-out and that we were staying another night. Lesson number 3 - know your guests; that way Basil Fawlty moments can be avoided.
Incidentally, when we did eventually check-out I brought the sex toy box to reception (well wrapped in toilet tissue) to explain our find and lest the hotel might form the opinion that it was ours. I must assume that the receptionist was highly embarrassed as she really didn't make much of a fuss about it save for a sincere apology.
Cripes! This review sounds harsh doesn't it? It really wasn't THAT bad - nothing a few small changes couldn't fix.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerodCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently spent two enjoyable days down in Galway in Oranmore.

Staying in the 4 Star Oranmore Lodge hotel. Rooms were clean and well kept and it was clear the hotel had recently been repainted and given a makeover.

Service was the number one feature , all of the staff we came contact with from Reception to Bar to Breakfast were excellent.

The lady on reception was os warm and welcoming and Samir in the bar was a character!

One slightly negative comment regarding the cooked brekfast was that it was average and not cooked to order. Menu choice slightly limited.

Leisure facilities were excellent in terms of pool and gym and staff very helpful.

Overall very good and enjoyable. Thank you to all at the hotel

Room Tip: Ask Reception !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We called in on the off chance that they would have a room available for 1 night prior to going to the airport.
What a warm welcome we were greeted with, very helpful staff, food in the bar was very good but the Full English breakfast was not so good.
The room was very nice, comfortable beds but very cold, had to sleep with a top on all night. So they could do with turning up the heat a little.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnjudypartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Don't go there. Confronted with a line of customers checking in, why this took so long is baffling, you give all info online and then have to again, the first impression was poor, rude and unwelcoming receptionist. Food poor. Some friendly staff. Rooms old fashioned. This hotel promises much more than it delivers. Don't go there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Journeyman1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Myself and my 3 friends spent a recent 3 night stay in the Oranmore Lodge. We found the
hotel very comfortable,warm and welcoming - it was lovely to walk into the hotel and our rooms having just come in from the cold and rain. The staff were absolutely fantastic - friendly and helpful particularly Bernie in the restauant. The food was fabulous and plenty of it. We didnt have a thing to complain about and we all would highly recommend this hotel if you your looking for something in the Galway area. Very convenient to the city. One of the days we booked a taxi
to go shopping in Galway rather than take the car and had a lovely day out and came back to
the hotel to enjoy a fabulous dinner that evening.

Room Tip: Our rooms were towards the end of corridor and we had no complaints about noise whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianOhiggins, Owner at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valerie G,

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write this wonderful review.

It was a pleasure looking after you and your guests and I hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

From all the the hotel we wish you a Merry Christmas and and very Happy New Year.

Regards,


Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have recently returned from a two nights stay here at the Oranmore Lodge Hotel. We had a very pleasant stay. The staff here are so friendly and very welcoming. But I'll be honest, I was a little let down by the hotel itself. It is definitely not a 4 star in my opinion. The hotel is very dated and tired and it needs a good facelift in some areas.

Our bedroom was old fashioned but very clean (immaculate carpet, clean and crisp bed sheets, pillows, etc.)...but unfortunately our bathroom was a different story, I was so disappointed with it as it wasn't clean at all.

We had a three course meal in the restaurant on the first night and I have to say our first impression of the restaurant/dining room wasn't positive. The decor was cold and dreary and it was a little chilly too. But to our surprise, the food was absolutely gorgeous, although it was very pricey at €35.00 for a set menu (where i live, the same set menus in our local restaurants are no more than €25). Due to this, we ate in another restaurant in Oranmore the following night.
We really enjoyed our breakfast each morning and the breakfast room is alot nicer with a warmer feel to it than the restaurant/dining room.

Even though the staff were lovely and the food was very good, unfortunately I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreeLee0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianOhiggins, Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear BreeLee0805

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

We are delighted you chose to stay with us during your stay in Galway.

Your comments about our staff are wonderful to hear however we are a little disappointed you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay.

The hotel is a Manor House Hotel and the decor and style is in keeping with the building - we are not a new modern build hotel which are now mostly NAMA hotels..

Your lovely comment about our bedroom cleanliness is great but I am a little confused about the bathroom issue... we have a very high standard of cleanliness in the hotel - did you contact a manager on duty at all if you had an issue with the bathroom - we would certainly have been able to rectify this for you at the time if an issue was brought to our attention.

We pride ourselves with the food and service here and are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience, the €35 menu is very well priced based on Galway restaurants and offers a great selection of food giving you a choice of over 7 starters, main courses and desserts, Tea/coffee.

Thank you for your feedback, we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,


Shirley Kilduff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,059 reviews
3.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
3.8 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,866 reviews
7.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oranmore Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Property: Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Address: Tudor Vale, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranmore Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb 4* Hotel in Oranmore, Galway, the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre. Now less than 60 minutes from Shannon Only 2 Hours from Dublin via the new M6!Failte, 150 years of Irish hospitality awaits you.The Oranmore Lodge Hotel, Conference and Leisure Centre Galway is a prime location just off the N6 approach to Galway offering ease of access from all destinations, located only 7kms from Galway city .... The Oranmore Lodge is a superb venue for a major conference or small meeting, private dining, Wedding Reception or gala banquet alongside superb guest rooms and excellent service, we provide the best whether its for business or pleasure!The Hotel offers luxury accommodation with a variation of 50 standard and executive rooms offering FREE WIFI throughout the hotel for all our guests and the luxury of a full leisure centre and gymnasium available to help you relax and enjoy your well deserved break!You are guaranteed the best of Irish food whether you dine in our cosy bar or intimate Restaurant the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Galway provides the service and professionalism you would expect from a 4 Star hotel where guests have enjoyed the very best of Irish hospitality for over 150 years.The original manor house was built in circa 1850 and it has been tastefully extended to a 4 star luxurious hotel, incorporating a superb leisure centre, conference centre and banqueting suite ensuring our guests enjoy a truly unique irish hospitality experience here in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Oranmore Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranmore Hotel Oranmore
Oranmore Lodge Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing