We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super weekend location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Galway
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranmore
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super weekend location.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Superb, spacious hotel and extremely competitively priced. We were particularly impressed by the attentiveness of the staff throughout our stay.

Would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it.

Rooms were clean and spacious, and the quality and quantity of food could not be faulted. There was a gym area but we did not get round to using the facilities - maybe next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    380
    145
    48
    29
See reviews for
451
211
34
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

i chose to stay here because i was playing in a golf tournament 7 miles away at the Athenry Golf Club. i chose it based on price and value. i will not stay here again. The staff are very accommodating and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable, this is most likely due to the volume of complains they field. The rooms very not very clean, obvious places had been cleaned but scratch a little below the surface to expose the dust, dirt and grime, yuch.

The rooms are spacious enough in size and have everything you need, if it works. Our shower rarely pumped hot water even though the water from the sink hot water tap would have melted your skin after running for only a few seconds.

The restaurant food was ok-ish, but I'm not a fussy eater. The menu wasn't very lavish, more the contents of a canteen menu than a restaurant.Not much else to say about the food.

What really upset me the most, and I realise this is beyond the control of the hotel and more to do with it's locale, situated on the outskirts of Galway at a roundabout which is part of the Galway ring road bypass system but heavily influences my review is the noise from the traffic outside. Having children my quality of what little sleep I get is precious so do not stay on a Saturday night or you will not get any. The constant tyre screeching, cylinder head tears and exhaust release roars of the engine noise from 'car enthusiasts' or 'boy racers' from around midnight until daybreak were deafening as they ripped and raced up and down the roads outside. If you do stay here, insist on a room that does not overlook the road, perhaps the noise is not so prevalent at the rear of the building.

I understand that the Gardai should be doing something about this but perhaps it's an indication of the volume of young driver road deaths in Ireland that they obviously are not, and show no interest in calming this behaviour as in all of this constant din i did not hear a single siren all night.

My last comment is that the bar prices in this hotel are extortionate but then aren't they everywhere in ROI (rip off ireland), buyer beware. You're also looking at a 15 euro taxi fare into Galway center or a 2.50 euro bus ride.

i will not return to this hotel, ever.

Room Tip: Do not sleep overlooking the road outside on a weekend. Traffic noise will deafen you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloppydec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Slpppydec,
I was very disappointed to read your review and to learn there were some issues during your stay with us last weekend. It is very unusual that such issues would arise and I would like to apologise for that. The Accommodation Manager and I have checked the room thoroughly to ensure the room meets with our normal high standards of housekeeping.
It is very rare that there would be "boyracers" on the main roundabout in front of the hotel. When this issue did arise last Saturday night the staff of the hotel notify the Gardai straight away.
Thank you for bring this to my attention as it will assist us in our continuous improvement. If I can be of any further assistance please let me know.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Great bar comfortable rooms. Really friendly staff who make the hotel. Yeah the hotel is old it uses to be a quality hotel and it shows but the staff are very friendly. Beds are comfy and rooms are comfortable. Would return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamieh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went in sept midweek with the kids
The games room wasn't open to guests as was being used as a crèche
Restaurant was closed and the bar food was below par for the price
The jewel of this hotel were the staff couldn't do enough for you
The pool is great with free arm bands for the kids
The rooms were clean and comfortable

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptrcksheehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently with family in order to tour around Galway and surrounding area.

The Pro's: Check in was friendly and efficient. Family room was clean, spacious and well laid out and contained lots of information and discounts for local attractions which was excellent. Staff are also very keen to put things right.

Cons: Stay was only marginally let down by expensive breakfast and evening meals and room wasn't fully cleaned/maintained by housekeeping. Sleep was also disturbed on the last day by a bus parking under a window at 0645 with engine running whilst waiting to collect guests.

Would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had "lunch" (I use the term lunch lightly) yesterday in the Maldron and I have never experienced anything as bad. First off the bar was filthy, the floor wasn't swept, it smelled stuffy and dirty and my hand stuck to the chair when I moved it out to sit.

There are STICKY menus on all the tables which show that they serve soup, desserts and a selection of sandwiches and wraps. I took a seat and waited to be served which I expected they would do since the menus are on the tables. After waiting for 10mins I went up to the counter and asked for soup and a toasted ham & tomato sandwich. I was told that the sandwiches were in the fridge. I wasn't quite sure what she meant, but sure enough beside here was a large freestanding fridge with pre-packed sandwiches. When I said I wanted a toasted one, again she replied "there in the fridge, pick one and I'll toast it". I don't eat butter and they all had butter on them, when I asked if they could make up a fresh one she replied "No".....So I chose a wrap (pre-packed in the fridge) and brought my soup to my table. I saw the girl heat the wrap and then leave it on a plate on the sinks draining board for 5mins whilst she served other customers. She washed items in the sink whilst my wrap was sitting on the draining board and hovered over it on several occasions to dry her hands on the hanging paper towels, no doubt dropping water and soap on my wrap.

This hotel has a lot to learn about customer service and food hygiene. I didn't eat the wrap, I felt physically sick after watching it being "prepared". I wouldn't advise anyone to stay here or eat here. It's a horrible, dirty place and should be closed down in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtowngalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear OldTimeGalway,
I am very disappointed to read your review of your recent Lunch Time experience in the Q Bar. Please accept my sincere apologies for the drop in standards you encountered, this is so far removed from our normal high standard of cleandiness and customer care.
We are addressing the issues you have raised immediately through further staff training and supervision.
At lunch time we also offer Carvery Lunch and a Deli Counter in our Stir Restaurant apologies again that this was not explained to you.
i do hope you will return to the Hotel in the near future and I assure you your experience will be a positive one.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent service and staff, in the Galway Maldron Hotel. From the warm welcome we received on arrival, to the very friendly receptionist, who gave us useful driving directions, parking, shopping, etc. All staff were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms and leisure centre were spotless. We would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OaklandsMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
3.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
5.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
1,691 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,862 reviews
4.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.8 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Galway
Address: on N6, beside 2nd Roundabout | Carrowmoneash, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellently located on the N6, just 10 minutes drive from Galway City. Modern Superior 3 Star hotel with Superb Leisure Club... 20 m Pool, Gym, Therapy Suite etc. 113 spacious bedrooms..... crisp white duvets, T/C Facilities, Sat. TV & Hairdryer. 2 Lifts. Restaurant & Bar .. Food served all day. Free secure car parking. Regular entertainment. Family Friendly....Kids Club weekends & all holidays. Cinema & Bowling next door. Business rates. Conference Rooms. 2 Km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maldron Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Oranmore
Maldron Hotel Galway Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing