We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel and perfect for our weekend trip to Galway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Galway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent family hotel and perfect for our weekend trip to Galway”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is excellent value for money. We got a good B&B rate for a weekend family stay.
The rooms are of great size - specially the family room with a double and two singles. The hotel is built and set up with families in mind - all common areas are spacious, there is a leisure centre and the pub ha a lounge that allows kids until midnight.
Although it is outside Galway city, the Oranmore main street is a 15 mins walk and its full of bars and restaurants. Galway is about 15 mins by car.
Oranmore is on the way to the Cliffs of Moher so it was the perfect location for us.
Breakfast is good - with a counter to get an Irish breakfast and an area with croissants, breads, cereals, juices, coffee/tea and juice.
I must mention the excellent staff that works in this hotel. They always look happy to be doing their job and they are most helpful. Probably the nicest hotel staff I have come across...

I wouldn't hesitate in going back to this hotel if I was ever back in Galway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    387
    147
    51
    30
See reviews for
459
223
35
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Maldron after an absence of 2 years.

Pleasantly surprised by the newly renovated reception area. Stayed in 125. Room also recently renovated. New carpet, curtains, bed linen etc. Huge improvement. Much more comfortable.

Area around the hotel is currently being landscaped. Looks very well.

The owners are obviously making an effort to enhance the hotel and they are going the right way about it.

I will return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exptrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I took my Mother and Father away for Easter to the Maldron Hotel Galway, a hotel we have stayed at a number of times before. We returned to this hotel because of its excellent service and value for money. Our rooms where really nice and we have a wonderful weekend, the staff as always where friendly and very helpful with any of our needs. My parents had a really enjoyable weekend and we are looking forward to our next visit to the hotel which I would recommend to anyway looking for any sort of a break as the hotel caters for all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antow1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a lovely break in The Maldron at Easter, we arrived early and did not expect to get into our room but it was ready and we were able o settle, The staff were were extremely friendly and very helpful, There was a children s playroom with table tennis and a PlayStation and it was supervised in the evening from 6 pm with activities and a movie. We had dinner on the second night and the food and service were really good. The choice for breakfast was also very good, On the whole it was a very enjoyable experience and we would definitely go again and recommend it especially for families as it is very family focused

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent three nights at the Maldron near Oranmore leading up to the Easter weekend and the Connemarathon. Our children (5, 6 and 7) loved the hotel - the swimming pool, games room and the kids club all scored highly. The breakfast was particularly good and varied and they happily provided gluten-free bread and cereal. Throw in the included dinner and a pretty good rate and it made for a great break - the location was very handy, the staff helpful and the room was fine. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huggydaddybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Myself, wife and 2 kids stayed in the Maldron hotel last week during midterm. Going away with 2 kids of 5 & 3 can be testing to say the least, but I have to say last week was a breeze, in no small part to the staff and facilities in this hotel. We checked in at 6 o'clock and thought we'd chance booking dinner for that evening at late notice. Although the hotel was fully booked out, we were catered for and tables moved together to allow us enjoy what was top quality food and very friendly service. Breakfast both mornings set us up for the days adventures and no delays. We had a lovely lunch in the bar which was very reasonably priced. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Playroom and movie night for the kids is a great idea. Gym & leisure centre has everything you need.
Will definitely be staying there again. Highly recommend this hotel for a family break. Thanks again to all the staff and will see you the next time we are in Galway.

Ian

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 781IanS781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Easter weekend my husband and 5 yr old daughter stayed at this hotel,check inn was quick,rooms were lovely,breakfast was good and the food in the bar was excellent and reasonable,kids club was on from 6pm till 10 pm (supervised) every night doing a range of different activities on a hourly basics, finishing with a movie from 8pm till 10pm,we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel that we checked in for a extra night there was no problem and we didn't have to change rooms which really helped,would definitely recommend this hotel for a family with small children.The one and only problem is the pool was a little too cold(for me anyway)!!! I would definitely stay at this hotel again roll on the summer...!!! The hotel is about a 10min drive from galway town,there is bowling
(22e for a family for half hr or 35e for a family for an hr)and a cinema directly across the road

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
3.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,868 reviews
5.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,522 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Galway
Address: on N6, beside 2nd Roundabout | Carrowmoneash, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellently located on the N6, just 10 minutes drive from Galway City. Modern Superior 3 Star hotel with Superb Leisure Club... 20 m Pool, Gym, Therapy Suite etc. 113 spacious bedrooms..... crisp white duvets, T/C Facilities, Sat. TV & Hairdryer. 2 Lifts. Restaurant & Bar .. Food served all day. Free secure car parking. Regular entertainment. Family Friendly....Kids Club weekends & all holidays. Cinema & Bowling next door. Business rates. Conference Rooms. 2 Km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Oranmore
Maldron Hotel Galway Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing