We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good music”
Review of Keanes

Keanes
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Oranmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Keanes Bar and Restaurant is a family run business. Entering into a lovely stove fire, giving that extra touch to the cosy and warm atmosphere. Breakfast served Mon-Sat 10-12, Lunch from 12-6 Sun-Sat, A'la Carte 6-9 Sun-Thurs 9.30 Fri-Sat. Cater's for partys and large groups, Live Music every Sat and Trad Session every Sunday.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good music”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Good quality food, for a very good price. Ample choice of dishes, excellent service. We had a wonderful evening with traditional Irish music. Frequently visited by local people, which is always a good sign.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pieter_Gouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    99
    25
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great staff”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Brought my family for meal to keanes on saturday night 31st of May. We had the most helpful waitress I have ever met.nothing was a problem an took the time to make sure we had everything we needed. A great meal was had by all.good value for money which is rare these days in ireland

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Dinner. Friendly Atmosphere.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I were considering several different restaurants along the main street in Oranmore but the specials of the day caught our attention at Keanes. They had lamb shank as one special and pork chop as another. In we went.

We ordered one of each. The lamb shank was served with mashed potatoes and steamed root vegetables. The grilled pork chop (Boneless) came with chips (french fries) and slaw and salad. I asked to substitute the vegetables for the slaw and salad which they did without question.

Both dishes were served hot and well presented. My wife and I shared and we both agreed that the food was excellent. My wife asked for some additional gravy for the lamb shank and this was presented in a beautiful gravy bowl within a minute or two.

The entrees were EURO14.95 for the lamb and EURO11.95 for the pork chop. Very complete meal.

We definitely would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEGATLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We arrived on spec but were warmly greeted. Service was courteous and quick and the food lacked nothing. Three of us all had different choices and they were all well prepared and served. Looks like a pub from the outside but the interior is warmly decorated and has a good ambience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cats_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spider in salad”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Ate in keanes this evening for the second time. On our first visit (a few months ago) 2 of the 4 people at the table found plastic in their 2 different main courses( fajitas and fish). The waitress on the evening was very apologetic and gave all 4 of us a free dessert to compensate. We gave them benefit of the doubt thinking it could happen to anyone. This evening we gave them a second chance. I ordered the chicken gougons. When the food arrived I started into the salad only to find a daddy long legs spider. I was horrified and called the waitress who offered me a replacement meal which I ordered. When the bill arrived I was most disappointed that we were charged full price for all meals. We complained to the waitress who just about managed a sorry. The attitude of the staff annoyed me more than the spider. It's was absolutely pathetic service. We will not be going back. Bad kitchen and bad service not a good combination.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bforan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keanes also viewed

 

Been to Keanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing