We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's like living in a story book!!!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Front View of Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front View of Cottage
Entrance Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Front View of Cottage
Entrance
Kitchen
Parlour - Sitting Room View 1
Parlour - Sitting Room View 2
Bedroom 1 - Garden Room
Bedroom 2 - Blue Room
Bedroom 3 - Canon's Room
Bedroom 4 - Mezzanine
Garden Room  - En Suite
Blue Room - En Suite
Winter View from West Lawn
West Facing Gable
View from Front
Summer View of Entrance
Winter View
View of the Atlantic Shoreline
View from Front of Cottage
Seaview adjacant to cottage
View of the Atlantic Coast with Ardfry in the background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Oranmore, Galway, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dirish96
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's like living in a story book!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My family (extended) has stayed here many times and always loved it. I stayed here with my husband, two kids, and my mother...plenty of room for everyone....it is so quaint...the beds were very comfortable....my boys looked forward to making a turf fire every morning and every night... within walking distance of a store that carries almost everything....surrounded by horses, donkeys, sheep, cows , and two neighbor dogs that would come and surprise us- Beans and Bingo....we fell in love with those beagles that when we got back to the States we bought a beagle puppy and named her Beans!!! We created life long memories there and the owner and caretaker were very helpful and hospitable...I would definitely recommend this gorgeous thatched cottage.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and I hope to see you back again.Thank you for writing the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestboy15
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was a real treat for me. I came to Ireland to do research on my ancestors and found this lovely, 300-year old cottage. As part of my trip I wanted to get a sense of what my ancestors left when they emigrated to America. This cottage gave me a good sense of that, although I was in much more comfort. One of my favorite aspects was have a peat fire going when we were home. The cottage also has radiators, which we also used, but the smell and warmth generated by the fire made it feel like home, and gave a true experience of what it must have been like in the old days. I got great nights of sleep as the beds and bedding are top notch. The bathroom towels are of excellent quality. The cottage is surrounded by farms but is conveniently close to towns with bars and restaurants. I live in a huge city, so waking up to happy cows on the other side of the road was a welcomed aspect of my holiday. In my job I use the computer and internet a lot and I enjoyed a break from that here. While I understand wifi might be added at a later date, I enjoyed my time off the grid, and my wrists got a break from the carpel-tunnel syndrome that I fight at work. In a time when it’s harder and harder to find a kept-up traditional Irish cottage, thatched roof and all, I am grateful that I found this one, close to Galway city, with all the comforts of modern living as well.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2017
Thank you Peter. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you back in Galway in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-mari...
Cessy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous thatched cottage”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The second time we stayed at this cottage in the west of Ireland. Full of character, but with all mod cons. In the countryside, but only a 3-minute drive to Oranmore. Friendly donkeys in the field out the back. Seals and foxes just down the road. 10-minute drive from Morans on the Weir.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy character of the house
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My 4 sisters and myself took our 82 year old mother for a short break in Galway. We choose Lallys Corner Cottage as it resembled an old Irish cottage that our mum would have grown up in and we wanted her to have a wee trip down memory lane. The house far exceeded our expectations, it was so spacious on the inside with ample room for 10 people, and there was only 6 of us. The owner Mary C was so helpful to us before our visit and provided us with lots of info on all the things we could see and do, with the most detailed directions I have ever been given - and her recommendations for where to eat where spot on! The house was so well equipped with everything you would need and we had the lovely surprise of arriving to a welcome food pack of tea/coffee, wheaten bread, butter, milk, yogurts, and fruit. We where welcomed by Mary O' who checked we where Ok and showed us how to work the heat and the cooker, a lovely women who made you feel like you've known her all your life.The area was beautiful, and we where able to sit outside and have our breakfast every morning and watch a local rider hack by our wall, while listening to someone playing an accordion somewhere in the distance - pure bliss! The house is only a 5min drive to the local village of Oranmore where you can get any supplies you need, and a couple of really nice restaurants if you don't feel like cooking. We had an absolutely amazing time in Lallys Cottage and are hoping to go back again next year.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old world charm - but with all the modern things you would need
Liked least: We didnt care that there was no wi-fi, but young families might
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sullygrl9...
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely renovated cottage”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage was beyond our expectations by far. The setting was gorgeous and the cottage authentic, though completely renovated with every modern convenience. We had three generations staying and they all adored it! Plus our host, Mary, was as lovely and helpful as could be. I would highly recommend a stay there, and would love to come back myself!

Date of stay: May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul1818
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Galway location”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is a truly authentic experience in rural Ireland. It is beautifully renovated so that you get all the modern conveniences you need to make your stay very comfortable. It is also big so plenty of room to give everyone space. Outside there are lovely gardens and the coast line is within walking distance. There is a local shop within 500m, a town within 3km and Galway city only 20 minutes away by car.I couldn't think of a negative aspect to the cottage...you won't regret booking a holiday here. My family had a great holiday here

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the cottage
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendy d
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage surrounded by nature”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lally' corner is an idyllic spot. The cottage is surprisingly spacious inside and full of real character features. The turf fire adds to the authenticity and makes it really cosy. All mod cons are provided. Lots of secure outside space perfect for children or pets. An ideal spot to chill out. Miles of lovely coastal walks. Service was amazing!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character features
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing