We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilico Italian Restaurant

Basilico Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Oranmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Basilico, Galway's award winning Italian restaurant in the heart of Oranmore. Basilico offers the finest of contemporary Italian cooking in surroundings nothing short of sheer elegance. Translated Basilico is Italian for Basil. This essence has been incorporated in every detail of this charming and sophisticated restaurant and bar; from Paolo Sabatini's creative Italian menus and Fabiano's selected wine list, to the inviting interiors providing comfortable, intimate and memorable experience.
Galway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I brought a group of friends here for a birthday celebration recently. I was disappointed to say the least. The service was very rushed (even through we had a table booked!!)...the food was less than average. I got pasta with bacon and it was barely edible. The majority of our meal was left on the table & when I informed the waitress she did not seem bothered!

I used to come here a lot but think the food and service has slipped! It is very hit & miss! I don't know is this because we ate in the bar & not the restaurant...either way....lots of room for improvement!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suilgorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick O, Manager at Basilico Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback and my apologies for the disappointment regarding the mistakes on the night of your party.
Although your review is a disappointing reading for us, we really do appreciate feedback from our customers, good or bad, and we take it seriously, as that is the only way for us to continuously improve and keep up with customers’ expectations.
We hope you will still pay us a visit sometimes to treat yourself to your salmon.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    104
    30
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Real gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Love this restaurant, I go every few months. The staff are so friendly and helpful, it's pretty much the same staff for years which tells you alot about a restaurant. Food is always excellent, nice wine menu not over priced. Like that on the menu it states their suppliers and they have a loyalty card for us returning customers

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abmGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good for family occasions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good value food, plenty of choice. Very authentic Italian. Staff are very attentive. Have been on a few occasions and never disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eilis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in Oranmore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Great Italian food in Oramore. Authentic food and nice wines. Great for family meals and occasions. It's nice that you can enjoy a similar menu in the bar. The mid week deals are great value and the people working there are great.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank techkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
2 reviews
“Great food at this hospitable Italian establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food at Basillico was unbelievable to say the least. My friends and I were amazed at how friendly and helpful all the staff were here and it's safe to say I'd return there again when I'm in the area

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank loughreawarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilico Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Oranmore, Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Basilico Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing