We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value casual dining.”

Basilico Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Oranmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Basilico, Galway's award winning Italian restaurant in the heart of Oranmore. Basilico offers the finest of contemporary Italian cooking in surroundings nothing short of sheer elegance. Translated Basilico is Italian for Basil. This essence has been incorporated in every detail of this charming and sophisticated restaurant and bar; from Paolo Sabatini's creative Italian menus and Fabiano's selected wine list, to the inviting interiors providing comfortable, intimate and memorable experience.
Galway
Level Contributor
150 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great value casual dining.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had food in the House Bar Restaurant on Monday night.
I had the goujons which were served in bag with chips and garlic mayo and have to say it was excellent, my friends had pizza's which were also great. A good choice menu of pasta's,pizza's steaks,burgers etc.
It was not too busy but was warm and inviting,casual, clean and very pleasant staff and good service.
Have to say on leaving you felt you got great value for your money and definitely will return again.
Small gripe but the covering on some of chairs are getting a bit worn but this is obviously due to turnover.......................so keep up the good work!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gcsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick O, Owner at Basilico Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review, we will fix the issue very soon, I hope you will also have tried the Italian Restaurant inside, Basilico, for a new food experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    107
    30
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“an unusual italian experience”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

It serves pizzas, pastas and the usual Irish burger/goujons pub-grub. Much of the staff is Italian, so you get the feel that you're in a very Italian place. I heard they imported their pizza oven from Italy for the genuine experience. Sometimes it feels more like a regular diner though, so it's a mixed dish!
The burgers are good, the pastas are good and the coffee is good. They're open for lunch and dinner and, if you're in Oranmore, are located in a very convenient spot with a customer car-park beside/behind it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaticaNera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick O, Guest Relations Manager at Basilico Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest,

I Believe that you was eating in our House Bar Bistro, if you like to have a real full Italian food experience you should next time try to book a table inside the Basilico Italian Restaurant, located inside the building.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian Food”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Entertained a party of ten on Oct 28th after Galway races. We received a lovely welcome and were seated promptly. Restaurant was full of happy punters,great atmosphere,professional Italian waiters. The service was impeccable and when the food arrived it was excellent. Ten out of ten, Well done Basilico. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Very over rated. Irish people seem easily pleased foodwise. I asked if the tiramisu was homemade and was assured it was but when it came it was so obviously bought in. I coulda made a better one myself! Overrated and over priced

Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick O, Manager at Basilico Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I am writing in return to your bad comment about our desserts, our chefs prepare all the desserts, bread, pizza and some of the pastas in house everyday.
Please, before of accusing us of something false, try of speak first with one of the managers in duty.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Disappointed with food quality and lack of flavour steak tasted like it hadn't been seared or else had been previously frozen

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick O, Manager at Basilico Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are very sorry to hear this bad comment, but we guaranteed you that we sell a daily amount of 50 juicy Brady's Striploin steak from Athenry in county Galway, dry aged 28 days , and from the last 4 years and we never heard of any complaint about pur steaks or the way we grill them.
We got a very good reputation in all county Galway for this product, we are very proud of all food we buy and cook for our customers at basilico.
In fact, it is our service policy to always ask in the middle of the meal if is everything ok and you if you are happy with your food, in case you was not happy you could get another steak cooked for you or change your dish for something different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilico Italian Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Oranmore, Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Basilico Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing