We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Date”

Basilico Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Oranmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Basilico, Galway's award winning Italian restaurant in the heart of Oranmore. Basilico offers the finest of contemporary Italian cooking in surroundings nothing short of sheer elegance. Translated Basilico is Italian for Basil. This essence has been incorporated in every detail of this charming and sophisticated restaurant and bar; from Paolo Sabatini's creative Italian menus and Fabiano's selected wine list, to the inviting interiors providing comfortable, intimate and memorable experience.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Date”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My partner love to try Basilico restaurant, and so yesterday on a beautiful sunny thursday, we decide to give it a go .
My boyfriend had a crispy fried squid for starter and i had for myself the Vegetarian Antipasto, it was a mix of grill vegetables marinated with fresh herbs and lemon, plus a good helping of mozzarella cheese and bruschetta, we both were very happy with our. Than for Mains he had the steak (the usual), he asked medium-rare and got the way he asked (very hard to get it right), i had a goat's cheese and spinach pizza, cripsy and thin as it should be.
The wine choice is very wide, so we asked for help and the waiter suggested a beautiful Organic red wine, cant remember the name, but also lovely.
We will be back for more, and thank everybody for the experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    109
    30
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

We went there today, March 18th 2012 for Mothers Day. We made a reservation for a table for myself, my wife & my 2 year old son. All I can say is that the whole experience was nothing short of a disgrace. We were put at a table totally inappropriate for having a young child there. The staff were running around in a huff acting as if we were an inconvenience, not one of them smiled or wished my wife a Happy Mothers Day. The food was tasteless and honestly we could have put something better together at home. We didn't stay for desert because to be honest we just wanted to get home and get something descent to eat. When this restaurant first opened it had class and was always a pleasure to visit and we ate there on a regular basis. However we have noticed both the food and the attitude of the staff have deteriorated to an unacceptable level. It was heartbreaking to leave as much money as we did there today after the thoroughly disappointing experience we had. We won't be back.

Helpful?
7 Thank Lar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick O, Manager at Basilico Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about this,
We was very tight on space for Mother's Day and we really worked hard
to accommodate everyone and give a beautiful experience to all our guests.
However it may happened that we fail to do so with your table.
Please accept our most sincere apologies from all Basilico Management and staff.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Middle of the road”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Service is not the friendliest. I love real authentic Italian food but find the pastas are very sauce heavy here. However, it is good middle of the road Italian food and very popular.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Value”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Bar food excellent, great value.try the steake and pizza. Staff very helpful with menu and special offers.

Helpful?
Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“food to die for!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and i went for 5 course tasting menu last monday,it was absolutely gorgeous and we were given plenty time in between courses.We had gorgeous ciabbata bread with a fab pate and cranberry sauce to start,then a mini calzone with goats cheese,then gnocci with porcini mushrooms in a gorgeous sauce,that and the hake i had for main was my favourite.so so tasty!the hake was fabulous,nicest i ever had.Tiramisu is unreal!we love basillico and highly reccommend it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilico Italian Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Basilico Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing