We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Do Enough For you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coach House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Myself and my sister travelled from Longford for weekend. Never in Oranmore before but will definetly return. If I ever have to go to Galway again I will stay in Coach House. as It is near the city (9 Km). The hotel is small and the staff are very friendly.I have stayed in much bigger hotels but was never treated as well as here. The staff couldn't do enough for you and the food in restaurant is excellent. That explains why it was so busy. Special word of thanks to Marie who treated us like royalty. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrislake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2009

I visited Galway City for a two day conference. I decided to stay in Oranmore as I was getting there late at night. The hotel receptionist was most helpful and welcoming. They have the most wonderful Italian restaurant. You can generally tell when the locals visit a restaurant, it is good. I really enjoyed that. Maybe it was the surprise of find it.
The rooms were clean and well maintained.
Next morning I got a taxi into Galway City. They could use the bus lane, so it did not take very long. Overall, a great experience and I certainly would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wexford-Men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Coach House Hotel in Oranmore, 4 miles from Galway City, an easy bus ride. An attractive and comfortable hotel. Marie, the accommodation manager, is an angel; nothing is too much trouble for her. Her warmth, generosity, kindness and all-round hospitality alone would take us back to this place. Good Guinness and a wide range of excellent Irish whiskeys in a bar which stays open to all hours. Breakfast is relaxed and serves until 11.30. A real find.

Thank Delcini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Since the Coach House Hotel opened in July 2007, we have made it one of our regular pitstops while taking in the sights of the glorious Clare & Connemara region. It is situated in the heart of Oranmore village. This hotel is truly amazing, the staff were so friendly right from reception, where we were met by this charming young lady, who made you feel at home right through to the bar and restaurant staff. We had an amazing two nights in this hotel, on the first we dined in the Italian restaurant "Basilico" which had superb service and the food was exquiste. I cannot wait to return to the West and stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelforlife4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

I picked this hotel based on it's rank on this site (currently no. 2 of 7) and I think overall I was a little disappointed. The hotel is in the middle of Oranmore village and there is limited parking in around the back.

The room was small. We had a small desk, a flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities and two bed-side lockers. The double bed was good although too soft for my liking but if you had much luggage the room would seem very cluttered very quickly.

Another problem we had which could have been worse is that it seemed we could hear people in other rooms. It looks like the hotel has been renovated recently as a lot seemed to be quite new but the locks on the doors are old-fashioned key-locks - swipe cards would have eliminated this bit of noise anyway. My partner was awoken a couple of times during the night.

We actually requested a quiet room but were told this couldn't be guaranteed as the hotel was located in the centre of the village!

The bar was good and we had a decent brakfast there. The restaraunt was full so we ate at a place called Keane's just down the street which was very good. We had a couple of beers back at the bar which had a good atmosphere. There is no gym/pool onsite which you can get with other hotels for the same price.

All up I think you can do better especially if you don't need to stay in Oranmore. We paid 85 euro and I don't think we got value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fergalfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Needless to say that it was raining when we arrived in Oranmore after a longish drive up from Kilkenny, and not having been here before did not know what to expect.
The hotel is situated on the main street in the town and was easy to find and within a short while were settled in our room, which was clean, comfortable and, as it was at the back, relatively quiet.
The bar and restaurant were welcoming and a pleasant refuge from the world outside and the food was very good. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful and as the header says, I lost my heart to the smile!!!
Oranmore is only a 10 minute bus ride from Galway and everything that is on offer there. Loved the bars which were numerous and the general buzz in the place.
Hope to return in the not too distant future as the lifestyle will surely seduce you.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mendipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

This is advertised as a boutique hotel which is pushing it a bit. It is next door to a very noisy petrol filling station. If a car goes through the car wash do not expect a lie in and the Texaco red lighting means darkness will not happen. The picture shown on the advertising in all websites suggests an atmospheric older-style building in a small village. Again, it is actually next door to a Texaco garage and shop - litterally the view from our bedroom window! The Shower room was good and it was generally very clean with a very friendly receiptionist. If you want to eat in the restaurant book before you arrive as it does get busy. Breakfast is very hit and miss. Served in the pub and priced individually it leaves you analysing things a little too much to enjoy. Pitty it was not one price. All in all would not recommend and would not stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Donno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,130 reviews
3.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,666 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Address: Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range: $66 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Hotel ideally located in the heart of Oranmore village, just outside Galway city, is renound for its excellent accommodation and fine dining experiences. The Hotel opened in July 2007, and consists of sixteen modern en-suite bedrooms, a Bridgestone Award winning Italian restaurant "Basilico” and a newly refurbished hotel bar. Limited on site parking.This Galway Hotel’s location is ideal for the tourist providing easy access to Connemara, The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands and Salthill. The Coach House Hotel Galway is within 2 miles of Galway Carnmore Airport, 37 miles of Shannon Airport and with the opening of the new M6 Motorway we are within 2 hours of Dublin Airport. Many of Galway’s major Industrial Technology and Business Parks such as Deerpark, Westlink Business Park and Oranmore Business Park are within a 5km radius of the Hotel. Hotels in Galway are among the best Hotels in Ireland when it comes to professional hospitality and quality accommodation and the Coach House Hotel is no exception. The Itaian themed Basilico Restaurant is amongst the finest restaurants in Galway. The locals love the Basilico Restaurant, which is the best accolade an establishment can have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Oranmore
The Coach Hotel
The Coach House Hotel Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing