We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Reasonable just outside Galway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coach House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Quaint and cute hotle with nice clean rooms, excellent Italian restaurant at the hotel. Just a short drive from Galway, and much quieter than it would have been in the city. We found it very convenient for our last night becuas eth enxt day we had to drive to Dublin airport and we were already on the east side of Galway. Cute town to walk around also.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktownannie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 229 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

6 of us booked 3 rooms here to visit Galway which is about 5 - 10 minutes drive away. Hotel has private parking and is situated in the middle of a street next to several pubs & restaurants, all of which were very busy on a Saturday night. Pub next to the hotel had live music. Did not eat in hotel restaurant as it was very busy but had breakfast which served to the table - no buffet here which pleased a couple of our party as the food was piping hot. Rooms were small but functional and the smoker in our party was pleased with the smoking deck on the same level as the bedrooms. Staff were very helpful during our short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANA20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The bedroom 109 was awful, really Tiny but staff was Nice and the bar restaurant excellent: Nice food, perfect service, good atmosphere...enjoyed the evening there. Check in and check out vert quick: efficient staff

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaraDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have stayed here two consecutive years during Galway Race festival and have enjoyed our stay immensely. Staff are so friendly and helpful and make you feel so welcome. Our room was spotless and so comfortable, I could not fault anything. I love the village of Oranmore and have stayed there many times in other establishments but none can compare to this little hidden gem in the middle of the village - it is on the main street but yet not obvious and this is a good thing as you don't need neon signs nor huge foyers in a quaint village. The original stonework from the old Coach House is beautiful and this is an outstanding feature. Breakfast is excellent and served until 11.30am Saturday and Sunday (Bank holiday weekends)!!
Many thanks to Karen and Helen at reception who are so lovely and we look forward to seeing you again.

Room Tip: Noise from the street can be heard from rooms at the front but it was Race week! Beds are so comfy y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinToddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

stayed one night at this hotel - good rates during galway races. Staff friendly especially Karen the receptionist.who was exceptional. Rooms very clean and had everything you needed. Breakfast was of a very good standard. Would stay here again. There is a italian restaurant on site, did not eat here but other guests told me this was good quality food at good rates.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Was in Galway City for the weekend at a wedding, so decided to stay in Oranmore for a change. We were looking for something basic and of good value and this hotel ticks both boxes. The rooms are functional with all the conveniences you would expect and very clean too. The only thing that needed fixing (I didn't ask as it was minor) was the TV. Loads of sport channels (good), but no news channel, just for something on in the background.

The bar is perfect for a nice quiet pint and a newspaper, or if you're looking for other choices, walk out onto the main street (the hotel is right on it) and you've several other choices of bars and restaurants.

We didn't get to eat in the restaurant so cannot comment, but they must be doing something right, as it was extremely busy on the Saturday night. We did have breakfast on both days, which was included in the rate and that was tasty and plentiful. One great thing about breakfast, it's serviced until 11:30 on Saturday! Most hotels are finished breakfast while you're still asleep!

Not sure how much a taxi is from Oranmore to Galway as we were driving, but can't imagine it's that much, as it's only about 10 minutes in the car and it's only 2 hours from Dublin thanks to the M6.

If you're spending a few days in the west, this is a great hotel to use as your base.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I won't stay here again. The room was so small I couldn't even walk around the bed to close the window. Tv didn't work. When I inquired about fixing it the receptionist said jiggle the cables or she could go up there and do it for me. I didn't care that much so I let it go. No wifi. Free parking. I called down to reception for clean towels because there was hair on the ones in my room and no one answered. I called about 5 times within a couple hours. I went down to reception and no one was down there. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
840 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
3.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
7.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Address: Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range: $64 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Hotel ideally located in the heart of Oranmore village, just outside Galway city, is renound for its excellent accommodation and fine dining experiences. The Hotel opened in July 2007, and consists of sixteen modern en-suite bedrooms, a Bridgestone Award winning Italian restaurant "Basilico” and a newly refurbished hotel bar. Limited on site parking.This Galway Hotel’s location is ideal for the tourist providing easy access to Connemara, The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands and Salthill. The Coach House Hotel Galway is within 2 miles of Galway Carnmore Airport, 37 miles of Shannon Airport and with the opening of the new M6 Motorway we are within 2 hours of Dublin Airport. Many of Galway’s major Industrial Technology and Business Parks such as Deerpark, Westlink Business Park and Oranmore Business Park are within a 5km radius of the Hotel. Hotels in Galway are among the best Hotels in Ireland when it comes to professional hospitality and quality accommodation and the Coach House Hotel is no exception. The Itaian themed Basilico Restaurant is amongst the finest restaurants in Galway. The locals love the Basilico Restaurant, which is the best accolade an establishment can have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Oranmore
The Coach Hotel
The Coach House Hotel Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing