We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coach House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, MAY 2012. It was easy to find, and the proximity to Galway is excellent, a very simple drive into Galway itself (well worth a visit). The Hotel is very nice, the room was modern, very clean and because there are only 16 rooms it is not too noisy. We were able to use the hotel carpark. The breakfast was excellent, we also ate in the Bare one evening, SUPERB food! Wifi worked well in the bar area.
The biggest plus point would be the staff, lovely! especially Karen, very friendly and helpful.
negative - our shower was very noisy, worst still so was next doors! The town can look a little "rough", and not many facilities in the town, but Galway so close.
We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julietink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 229 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed one night here and found that the staff were lovely and the food was excellent. The room (108) was clean, modern and comfortable, however the small window overlooked the bins and had a noisy air conditioning unit which came on early in the morning.
The breakfast was very good and the staff were warm and welcoming. I would gladly stay here again and the meal in the hotel restaurant Basilico was excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayNools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

we went for the weekend of easter, ansd what a joyful experience .. excellent bedroom,food , and the hand on approach of the staff made us feel very welcome.. highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relaxed ,peaceful time away ..and the entertainment in local pubs was fantastic,,,while the bar ppl in the coach house were very friendly, and pulled an excellent pint of guinness ... we will be back .. and the family room that i looked at for further booking is roomy,and done out to cater for an enjoyable time away .. oh and the food ... excellant ...

Room Tip: we had a fab room .airy,clean ,and smelling fresh ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz315879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Coach House is one of those "finds" that even the frequently traveler relishes. It's a small hotel in the heart of Oranmore, Co. Galway, Ireland. Oranmore is one of those special Irish villages that I was fortunate to discover some 15 years ago. (It's 12 to 15 minutes by car to Galway City) The Coach House's rooms are modern and spacious for starters. The staff, (ask for Karen) are fantastic and treat guests like family. There's a four star Italian restaurant that also serves a variety of local fare, and a spacious bar (ask for Simon) for watching a match, or just relaxing with friends. If you're still unsure--it's great value for money. Location, within walking distance of all shops and 5 minutes walk from Galway Bay. Facilities, modern and comfortable. Food is excellent as is the bar. People are fantastic and it's great value for money. I'm there twice a year and have never had but great experiences. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We arrived at the hotel around 30 mins after the restaurant had closed and despite repeatedly ringing the hotel and assuring them we would only be a tad late, and there were three of us, and we were starving, and we wanted to spend a lot of money, the hotel refused to feed us or suggest any alternative. If that were the only issue I had with the hotel I wouldn't mark my review too harshly, however it is not my only complaint.

Despite clearly being there on business we were not informed at all during our evening in the bar that breakfast was now served (we've stayed before) at the later time of 9am during the week. I would assume that the majority of midweek hotel trade consists mainly of business people, business people who typically start their day no later than 9am. So why they would change the breakfast time to a slot that doesn't suit a professional I have no idea. As we walked down to the restaurant, hungry and salivating at the promise of the breakfast we had heard great things about you can imagine our disappointment when we were informed that the best the hotel could do was coffee and toast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed here with three friends for one night and we all felt that writing a review was a must!! The hotel was lovely, located on the main street in Oranmore, the rooms were very clean - well done to accomodation staff.

We spoke with Simon on making our reservation and he was really helpful, professional & friendly, this left us with high expectations for our stay and we were not disappointed.

On arrival we were greeted be Niall who was very friendly & helpful, we were checked in promptly and given directions to our rooms & meal times. Our Rooms were lovely!!

We then made our way to the bar - as we were going out for the night - and were greeted by a very friendly barman (I'm sorry but we didn't catch his name), service was very good and really friendly with recommendations as to where to go for the night.

When we went back to the hotel there was no problem getting back in and we decided to have a nightcap (",) - again Niall was working and was very friendly as was the Night Porter!

We all had a very comfortable nights sleep and in the morning we were greeted by Karen who was just lovely and took the time to ask about our night in Oranmore and ensure that we had an enjoyable stay.

Again we went to the bar for coffee and the friendly barman was there again!

Unfortunately we did not have time to dine on the occasion as I was rushing home for work, but locals all said that food was of a very high standard.

Overall I would certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone, as would my three friends.

Thanks to all the staff - you are doing an outstanding job and we are already planning our return stay.

Room Tip: We had three rooms - 102, 103, 109 - all 10/10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballina_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I have been staying here 2 or 3 times a year for the past 3 years and have enjoyed every visit. There is always a warm welcome from the staff, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the restaurant is really good. On my last visit, 3 nights in January, home side Connaught were playing Quinns and the match was showing on the big screen in the bar, where a noisy but good natured crowd slowed down the bar service, but lets face it Guinness doesn't pour quickly for anyone and anticipation is good for the soul!! This is a nice small hotel in a dormitory town close to Galway, the rooms aren't huge but lets face it, they are bed rooms, the usual television, coffee making stuff, small table and chair and desk space are all there, with enough space to work when you need to and when you don't need to work, the west of Ireland is just outside your door!.

Room Tip: First floor front rooms can be a little noisy but the free wifi signal is better, the rooms to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p.lm_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
840 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
3.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
7.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Address: Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range: $64 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Hotel ideally located in the heart of Oranmore village, just outside Galway city, is renound for its excellent accommodation and fine dining experiences. The Hotel opened in July 2007, and consists of sixteen modern en-suite bedrooms, a Bridgestone Award winning Italian restaurant "Basilico” and a newly refurbished hotel bar. Limited on site parking.This Galway Hotel’s location is ideal for the tourist providing easy access to Connemara, The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands and Salthill. The Coach House Hotel Galway is within 2 miles of Galway Carnmore Airport, 37 miles of Shannon Airport and with the opening of the new M6 Motorway we are within 2 hours of Dublin Airport. Many of Galway’s major Industrial Technology and Business Parks such as Deerpark, Westlink Business Park and Oranmore Business Park are within a 5km radius of the Hotel. Hotels in Galway are among the best Hotels in Ireland when it comes to professional hospitality and quality accommodation and the Coach House Hotel is no exception. The Itaian themed Basilico Restaurant is amongst the finest restaurants in Galway. The locals love the Basilico Restaurant, which is the best accolade an establishment can have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Oranmore
The Coach Hotel
The Coach House Hotel Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing