We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another happy return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coach House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another happy return”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I have been staying here 2 or 3 times a year for the past 3 years and have enjoyed every visit. There is always a warm welcome from the staff, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the restaurant is really good. On my last visit, 3 nights in January, home side Connaught were playing Quinns and the match was showing on the big screen in the bar, where a noisy but good natured crowd slowed down the bar service, but lets face it Guinness doesn't pour quickly for anyone and anticipation is good for the soul!! This is a nice small hotel in a dormitory town close to Galway, the rooms aren't huge but lets face it, they are bed rooms, the usual television, coffee making stuff, small table and chair and desk space are all there, with enough space to work when you need to and when you don't need to work, the west of Ireland is just outside your door!.

Room Tip: First floor front rooms can be a little noisy but the free wifi signal is better, the rooms to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p.lm_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    81
    31
    12
    16
See reviews for
28
103
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I would not even grace this place with the word "Hotel"
We stayed for my husbands birthday and were highly disappointed.

The negatives:
There was no receptionist on duty AT ALL during our stay, which we found very strange, there was no-one we could go to if we had a problem, or to ask about anything.

The room was tiny, there were dirty marks all over the walls and cobwebs in the corners, the bed was appalling, so saggy in the middle, I didn't get much sleep and when I did I awoke with pains in my neck and back, so I had to avoid going to sleep.

The shower room was tiny and very dirty, there were pink body fat marks all over the shower, and there were lots of hairs in the washbasin and shower cubicle and there was a sewage smell coming from the bathroom.

The bar is busy so don't expect any kind of service. The waitress looks at you as though you have 10 heads, and you need to point at the menu as she doesn't understand what you say. We were left waiting for 40 minutes after our main course to order dessert and coffee, and even then, we had to go up to her and tell her what we wanted.

The morning after, we waited over half an hour to order breakfast, there were other couples who came in after us and we were left until last to be served. Then we had to wait 20 minutes for more toast as we got one slice each. We were waited on by a loud mouthed Italian.

The positives:
The food was good (when you got it) and the bar man with the designer beard was lovely.

I would never return here, we were ripped off and I would not recommend it to anyone, unless you want a hostel.

Room Tip: If they give you room 103, ask them for a different room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_P_G_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Myself and two friends stayed here for three nights as a base for three days of motorcycling in the 'dear green place'. Excellent value for money, clean modern rooms and comfortable beds. Staff were good fun and Karen helped with routes and stuff., Guiness was spot on and breakfasts were freshly prepared - no buffet here but more that enough to fill us up. A short taxi ride into Galway at night sorted out any absence of entertainment in Oranmore iteslf. Smashing small hotel.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had 201 and 203 were good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citytravellerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I have booked this hotel for a nice week-end in couple in Connemara with my Gf. It was the 5th time for me in that hotel, and I have been very disappointed.

First thing, it was my first time on the 1st floor. Avoid it ! You are above the pub, so you have the music, the noise of the chairs and tables moving, and the people talking under your windows.

Second thing: we spotted a lot of dirty spots in the bathroom: nail polish on the bath tub, dust on the ground near the walls, air extractor completely covered by cobwebs and dust, some cobwebs in the opposite corner of the room, a lot of stains on the frame of the door (inside the bathroom) (finger stains, but also a stain like you can do with your luggage - kind of rubber black stain-).
Even if I asked the reception to checked the bathroom and to clean it, nothing was done when we came back.

Third thing: We have been offered an Irish breakfast in order to apologize for the inconvenience. That could have been a smart move, if the team in charge of the bar wasn't a bunch of lazy guys. They brought us half of the breakfast (no drinks, no toasts), one of the waiter ate our toasts, and the food we got wasn't even good. During the time we were waiting on our toasts, they were laughing the whole time, like if they were customers (you are supposed to work when you are a waiter, not to laugh as loud as you can, pointing finger at customers and eating their food...)

I have been there 5 times, and I also sent my parent to that hotel once.

That was my last time in that hotel where they seem to prefer working with lazy housekeepers and waiters than give the customers a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boldorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed here for just one night on the 18th of Aug. I got stranded for the night in a truck. I was late in the evening booking the room, but was lucky as here was only 2 rooms left. I had been talking to the girl on the phone only a half hour before I checked in. When I arrived she was so helpful and really nice to me. I just can't remember her name to thank her. I ended up getting the room for only €45 as I was leaving again at 5am.
I went for some food in the bar and it was really busy, but my food arrived in good time and was very nice.
The room was very clean and fresh. I liked the fact it had laminate wood floor because at least you knew it was clean and you could walk in your bare feet. God knows what kind of state some hotel carpets are in. The shower was great and after a long days work it was just perfect. Had really nice power to it.
Anyway, I really liked the place so I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazxf95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I took a weekend trip to the west coast of Ireland and were very happy with The Coach House Hotel. Easy to get to the Cliffs of Moher and into Galway. We ate at the hotel bar twice and weren't disappointed. Breakfast was fairly simple, but delicious. Staff was wonderful! This is a great option if you prefer to stay outside of Galway city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my sister for two nights whilst travelling to Galway for a hen party. We could not fault this hotel in any way. Our room was large with a double and a single bed with a big bathroom, very comfortable and extremely clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast at the hotel both mornings and were impressed, the food was delicious. We also had dinner in the bar on the Sunday evening and enjoyed this, the prices are reasonable and service was good. I definitely plan to return to Galway in the future and will use this hotel without question, great location, 10 minutes from Galway city centre and Oranmore is a nice town to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
3.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
4.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
6.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Property: The Coach House Hotel
Address: Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Hotel ideally located in the heart of Oranmore village, just outside Galway city, is renound for its excellent accommodation and fine dining experiences. The Hotel opened in July 2007, and consists of sixteen modern en-suite bedrooms, a Bridgestone Award winning Italian restaurant "Basilico” and a newly refurbished hotel bar. Limited on site parking.This Galway Hotel’s location is ideal for the tourist providing easy access to Connemara, The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands and Salthill. The Coach House Hotel Galway is within 2 miles of Galway Carnmore Airport, 37 miles of Shannon Airport and with the opening of the new M6 Motorway we are within 2 hours of Dublin Airport. Many of Galway’s major Industrial Technology and Business Parks such as Deerpark, Westlink Business Park and Oranmore Business Park are within a 5km radius of the Hotel. Hotels in Galway are among the best Hotels in Ireland when it comes to professional hospitality and quality accommodation and the Coach House Hotel is no exception. The Itaian themed Basilico Restaurant is amongst the finest restaurants in Galway. The locals love the Basilico Restaurant, which is the best accolade an establishment can have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Oranmore
The Coach Hotel
The Coach House Hotel Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing