We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Irish paradise”
Review of The Green Gate B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Gate B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Ardara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portadown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little Irish paradise”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in a gorgeous thatched cottage in an idylic rural location, the views were truly wonderful. Ideally located for exploring Donegal and was a lovely little haven to return to at the end of a busy day. The green gate b&b deserves all the best praise bestowed on it!! There is no tv, wifi, shower etc but I think it is a real traditional experience and having mod cons would take away from the experience. Paul the host is very much a peoples person. He prepared us a lovely breakfast and had a special plate for our 2 yr old daughter and made her feel right 'at home.' We will definitely come back in the future

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    31
    2
    7
    7
See reviews for
37
117
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Me and my partner visited here and had the most memorable stay. The setting was outstanding and the hospitality was second to none. Green gates is the most authentic experience one will have in Donegal, if not Ireland. A hidden gem and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Staying at the Green Gate B&B is a perfect way to experience the rustic beauty of Donegal, Ireland. And the delightful owner of the B&B only makes it all the more rewarding. It is not the lap of luxury but it caters to the seasoned traveler in search for a new and bohemian experience. Tucked deep in the rolling hills of Ardara, the Green Gate is an experience like no other, going the extra mile to lure the visitor into the deep green beauty that is Ireland. Paul is an exceptional host and it is true that half the experience of coming here, is to meet this eccentric soul. I only wish we had more time to spend there. Merci Paul!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustafa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Probably it would help if a new word was invented to describe the joyful experience of visiting this place. Give and receive blessing and allow your soul to be touched by the beautiful surroundings and the heart of Paul (who looks after everything there). Something of an antidote to the many false claims that the modern world makes upon our lives. I hope to meet Paul again and spend more time by the fire in Nancy's pub.

Room Tip: worth the extra euros to get the room where you wake up and see the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeStaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Green Gate is a lovely place not to miss in your journey. For sure it deserves its reputation of ''one of the best B&B of Irlande''.
Authentic, simple and unusual, it is the best place to spend a good time feeling like at home !
More than recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlOoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

When you stay at Green Gate B&B you get so much more than a room with a bed. We received a warm welcome from Paul, the peaceful owner, while being treated to stimulating conversation, helpful hints about where to eat and where to visit in the Adara area, a stunning sea view, a wonderful breakfast, and a sense of calmness and beauty that you cannot get anywhere else. Staying at Green Gate is like taking a step away from the world and back into a rural Ireland, an experience like no other.

Thank you Paul for creating this beautiful and magical place for us all to enjoy.

Room Tip: We went for the individual cottage which is €10 extra but this is well worth it when you wake up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went there with with my girlfriend a few weeks ago, upon driving up the mysterious lane leading, we couldn't help but admire the view and surroundings made even better by the smell of burning turf. The room was exactly what we wanted, a nice old style mini cottage, if you want chandeliers and chrome faucets, go to Mayfair, if you want a back to basics no-nonsense rural escape, go to the green gate. The host, Paul, was very charming, great craic and a great conversationalist, he also got in touch very promptly regarding forgotten belongings. Would and will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardara
1.2 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
277 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
14.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
73 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Central Hotel - Donegal
The Central Hotel - Donegal
#5 of 7 in Donegal Town
721 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Gate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Gate B&B

Property: The Green Gate B&B
Address: Ardvally, Ardara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ardara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Gate is a real old traditional radiant irish thatched cottage. The greatest Bed and Breakfast in Ireland - The Sunday Times. 1 des Bed and Breakfast les plus originaux d'Irlande - Le Monde ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Gate Hotel Ardara
The Green Gate Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing