We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Gate B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Gate B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Ardara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Probably it would help if a new word was invented to describe the joyful experience of visiting this place. Give and receive blessing and allow your soul to be touched by the beautiful surroundings and the heart of Paul (who looks after everything there). Something of an antidote to the many false claims that the modern world makes upon our lives. I hope to meet Paul again and spend more time by the fire in Nancy's pub.

Room Tip: worth the extra euros to get the room where you wake up and see the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeStaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    30
    2
    7
    7
See reviews for
35
113
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Green Gate is a lovely place not to miss in your journey. For sure it deserves its reputation of ''one of the best B&B of Irlande''.
Authentic, simple and unusual, it is the best place to spend a good time feeling like at home !
More than recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlOoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

When you stay at Green Gate B&B you get so much more than a room with a bed. We received a warm welcome from Paul, the peaceful owner, while being treated to stimulating conversation, helpful hints about where to eat and where to visit in the Adara area, a stunning sea view, a wonderful breakfast, and a sense of calmness and beauty that you cannot get anywhere else. Staying at Green Gate is like taking a step away from the world and back into a rural Ireland, an experience like no other.

Thank you Paul for creating this beautiful and magical place for us all to enjoy.

Room Tip: We went for the individual cottage which is €10 extra but this is well worth it when you wake up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went there with with my girlfriend a few weeks ago, upon driving up the mysterious lane leading, we couldn't help but admire the view and surroundings made even better by the smell of burning turf. The room was exactly what we wanted, a nice old style mini cottage, if you want chandeliers and chrome faucets, go to Mayfair, if you want a back to basics no-nonsense rural escape, go to the green gate. The host, Paul, was very charming, great craic and a great conversationalist, he also got in touch very promptly regarding forgotten belongings. Would and will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Green Gate is amazing, basic accommodation, do not expect a spa like glossy hotel experience this is rural Ireland complete with brown bath water ( from the peat...amazing for your skin ). We arrived the eve of New Years eve 2012 / 2013 in the dark so unfortunately did not get to see the most spectacular view, but in the morning once the Donegal rain had cleared and in true Donegal fashion we were blessed with the most amazing of winter sunshine. The view from The Green Gate across to Maghera beach is breathtaking and Paul ( owner ) will advise of what walks and drives to take to ensure that you see the best of what the surrounding areas has to offer.
I booked the accommodation months previous as a surprise for my man who was spending time in Ireland for New Year before returning to California for work, he was blown away by the beauty of the North West of Ireland and the icing on the cake was the rainbow appearing at Slieve League cliffs for us.
Breakfast is good and hearty and we had fun trying out all the home made jams and marmalades...I am having the Blackberry and Rum one this morning for my breakfast back in my home in Dublin and dreaming of being back in The Green Gate in Ardara with my man.
You have to go and see this place...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Hartley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, OH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

After seeing the Cliffs at Slieve League, we had an amazing drive at sunset to Ardara. Unfortunately, we arrived in Ardara after dark and soon gave up trying to find Green Gate, called Paul, and he graciously met us in town at the Ulster Bank. Good thing, because we never would have believed we were on the right road. It's quite a steep and long "driveway."

We didn't appreciate the view until morning. FANTASTIC! The host and owner, Paul Chatenoud, is a fascinating and lovely gentleman who cooked us the best fried egg I ate in all of Ireland. What a unique and memorable place to stay. Don't expect luxury, take lots of pictures, sleep like you're tucked up nice and cozy in a hobbit hole, take a bath instead of a shower (because you don't have a choice), chuckle about the sign on the mirror explaining that the water is brown because of the peat content, and enjoy the art on the property and music at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This bed and breakfast is unlike any other. It provides the most charming, rustic experience possible and does it in a truly unforgettable way. Even the drive up to the cottages was a charming adventure. This is not an up-to-date luxury B&B with all of the bells and whistles. Its a getaway to a simpler lifestyle and a trip back in time and tradition. And it pulls off these features fabulously. The location is beautiful and breathtaking, the cottage was small and cozy, and the owner Paul was incredibly welcoming and charming. It is perfect for any couple seeking a romantic getaway into Ireland's rich past and charm. I loved every part of my experience at the Green Gate B&B and I will definitely be coming back someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpjpp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardara
1.2 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
14.1 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 3 in Killybegs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gort Na Mona B & B
Gort Na Mona B & B
#2 of 10 in Ardara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Gate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Gate B&B

Property: The Green Gate B&B
Address: Ardvally, Ardara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ardara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Gate is a real old traditional radiant irish thatched cottage. The greatest Bed and Breakfast in Ireland - The Sunday Times. 1 des Bed and Breakfast les plus originaux d'Irlande - Le Monde ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Gate Bed And Breakfast
The Green Gate Hotel Ardara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing