We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal”
Review of Nancy's

Nancy's
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Ardara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stopped in from the recommendation of the hotel staff where we were staying in Donegal. It was an interesting place, some former locals were in having lunch at one table and chatting with the staff and the rest of the dining areas were empty. When our order was taken it was done in a very matter of fact way, not completely unfriendly, just no real help with the what was offered. I had the tuna on brown bread. This was the our third day in Ireland and I was already hooked on the brown bread and this was one of the better ones and the tuna on top was tasty. Our friends had the chowder and said it was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tampaandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    104
    35
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best pubs ever!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nancy's has been owned by the McHugh family for some seven generations. I think each generation must have added on to the original structure for the pub winds around and is much larger than it looks from the outside. The staff was very friendly and the seafood chowder and lemon cake were outstanding. They were out of the Guinness Stout Cake that afternoon but I had some later and it was grand. Should you be in Ardara (Pronounced Ardra--lost an a along the way)stop at Nancy's and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh and healthy”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It is very small and local place. Menu options are limited but there are fish, meat and vegetable meals to choose from. Food is very healthy. You can enjoy nicely grilled or steamed fish, vegi burger or salads. I had a fish which was really well done and definitely fresh. There is no chips served at all, which I have too admit was impressive as this is the catchy trick to serve fish. However boiled potatoes were great too. Service was nice and friendly. For a group of 4 we payed 50 euro for a meal and drink each which is very good value for good quality food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Chowder”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stopped for the night in Ardara, and our tour guide recommended we try Nancy's Pub for dinner. We did, and he was right. The atmosphere was great, a small, kind of disjointed layout, almost homey. The seafood chowder was excellent. Most of the 12 members of our tour finally ended up there for dinner and everybody seemed satisfied. The service was friendly and competent. We would go back if in the area again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whcowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Seafood chowder to soothe your soul”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I recently had lunch at Nancy's and what a wonderful lunch it was. We both had the seafood chowder and it was delicious, to say the least. Had a couple of pieces of brown bread and a pot of tea with the chowder and we were ready to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nancy's also viewed

 
Ardara, County Donegal
Killybegs, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Ardara, County Donegal
 

Been to Nancy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing