We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful countryside”
Review of Glengesh Pass

Glengesh Pass
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Ardara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
banbury
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful countryside”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Well worth a drive through this area. The countryside here is breathtaking. Roads are very narrow and windy so drive with caution

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    27
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
609 reviews
296 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,048 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just south of Ardara you'll find the Glengesh Pass. If your in the vicinity it's definitely worth the drive. The roads aren't great so caution is required. The Connor Pass in Dingle is more scary but this is much quieter which allows one to stop and take a few snaps. An earlier reviewer mentioned cycling up but you would need to be very fit to attempt it. Probably one of the nicest drives in Donegal if not Ireland. Stop off in Nancy's Bar afterwards for a pint.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank letterkennycaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Take a bike”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This road is one of the most famous Hill climbs in Donegal. My advise would be to take a bike up the Glengesh, and experience the true exhilaration of reaching the summit. If you do take a bike up the pass, expect cheers of support from local drivers and tourists alike

Alkso, at the foot of the pass, about 100 metres before/after the bottom is a supoerb example of Irish architecture in a Red doored, Thatch cottage.

Mind the hairpins on the way up, as they arent the best road surface.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
400 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Great views- great driving experience”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family [wife, son, daughter, and son-in-law- 2 cars] took this drive during our recent vacation in the Killybegs area. We really enjoyed it. The views were great and the driving was fun- well, except for that one hairpin curve where after stopping, I was rolling backwards, then spinning the rear wheels in the sand on the road but I persisted and made it up the hill/curve. If you enjoy Ireland's scenic beauty and the challenges of driving on the rural roads, this is the drive for you! I'll add a few pictures later.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DonnieOshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardara, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely view of Ardara, Co Donegal”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Its just a picture perfect scenery on your way driving into Glencolmcille from Ardara, The road has cork screw bends, drive slowly. LOvely on a sunny day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaLarryGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glengesh Pass also viewed

Carrick, County Donegal
 
Ardara, County Donegal
Glencolmcille, County Donegal
 

Been to Glengesh Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing