We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Country B&B”
Review of Gort Na Mona B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gort Na Mona B & B
Ranked #2 of 9 Ardara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Country B&B”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The woodwork is warm and bright like the gracious host Fiona, who met us and showed us around the B&B. The place has everything you need in a rural setting. The shower was full power. The breakfast was delicious and convivial among the guests. Laurence gave me a special treat as he grew up speaking Irish. We exchanged a few words i Gaeilge as I am learning the same in the USA. Turned out he already knew another guest was learning Irish so he helped her and I test our phrases. When we were stuck or goofed a pronunciation, he quietly said what was required or what we meant to say, facilitating the conversation. Very fun! He also gave us driving advice about shortest routes that saved us a lot of time later that day. Wonderful place in a great region.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a cozy B&B surrounded by nature. Facilities were super clean, well equipped and very inviting. Fiona & her family made sure we felt right at home. Expect a free evening drink in the guest lounge, help with your travel plans or other needs and a delicious breakfast served in a comfortable breakfast room with a fireplace. The location was fantastic. A few minutes drive take you into the next town with restaurants and an ATM machine. Ardara is also the starting point for a couple of exiting drives over mountain passes, through high country valleys, to beaches and cliffs. We were glad we booked this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2keentotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

During our hiking trip "Sli Cholmcille" we stayed in the Gort Na Mona B&B. A warm welcome from from Fiona & Laurence. A very comfortable room with a great Full Irish Breakfast. When starting our hiking trip Laurence brought us to the start point; a great service. We could leave our car on their premises during our trip. We made a reservation for a second night at the end of the week. However, we had to cancell the reservation due to the bad weather. This was no problem at all; again a great service. All by all we felt welcome in this very good B&B, with great service, nice clean rooms and as said before a great breakfast.

If we go back to Ardara we would certainly go back to the Gort Na Mona.

Hans Heijkant, The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed with Fiona and Laurence Breslin in their Gort na Móna B & B during my St. Patrick's weekend in Ardara for the Ardara Walking Festival. Room and other facilities were great, while my hosts were very friendly and informative, answering all my questions about other local facilities and events and making other suggestions that made for a great weekend apart from the great walking itself.

The hospitality was best summed up by Fiona sending her children over to my room with home-made scones smothered in rhubarb jam and queen cakes. This was just when I came in very tired and hungry after Saturdays 7-8 hour walk. She knew that I wasn't having dinner for an hour and a half or more and sent the food over to tide me over to dinnertime, even though there was tea making facilities in the room with a few biscuits. Never did a man enjoy food so much!! As for the shower, it was heaven and no!! I didn't spen an hour and a half under it, but I wished I had the time. It was just the thing after a long hot, sweaty day climbing the ever beautiful hills, bogs and cliffs of Donegal.

I would definitely recommend Gort na Móna www.gortnamonabandb.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donegal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here one night over the bank holiday weekend and it couldn't have been nicer. Our ensuite room was lovely & cosy, and spotlessly clean. We had lots of choice for breakfast next morning, fresh fruit (not tinned), yoghurt, cereal, juices and of course a lovely fry up. Laurence & Fiona were perfectly lovely as were their 4 gorgeous children. We definitely recommend Gort na Mona, and we will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. We had 2 rooms in the purpose built detached building. The rooms were both spacious and well fitted out and very comftable. The breakfast meal was varied and well cooked and presented in a nicely decorated dinning room with nice views. Fiona and Laurence are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. Laurence was very helpful with routes to places of interest we were going to. Also local knowledge of the area. Fiona as well as running a great B&B has a young family who the little we saw of them are very polite and very well mannered. It is out of Adara but not so far hat it is a problem. Our friend and ourselves really enjoyed our stay and the company of both Fiona and Laurence in the evening in the lounge where they both joined us after the children had gone to bed.

Room Tip: Between us we had 2 rooms ground floor and upstairs both were excellent obviously the upper floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The three of us had two very good sized en-suite rooms in a new detached building. Great view of many sheep and the bay near town. Delicious breakfast. Enjoyed our stay there and their hint to dinner at Nancy's Pub.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardara
1.9 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
13.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,003 reviews
8.3 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.3 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gort Na Mona B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gort Na Mona B & B

Property: Gort Na Mona B & B
Address: Donegal Road | Cronkeerin, Ardara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ardara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gort Na Mona B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gort Na Mona B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing