We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view and nice surroundings”
Review of The Waters Edge - CLOSED

The Waters Edge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful view and nice surroundings”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a relaxed and relaxing venue witch is well worth a visit when in Rathmullan, Co. Donegall area. Whether for a drink or to dine the atmosphere is pleasing and the split levels gives the place a cosy feel. The food is good but not outstanding and the prices are what on might expect. What makes the dining experience outstanding is the view over the lough. The staff are friendly and attentive and make everyone feel at home. This is a good place for large groups as the dining area can accommodate them. we would certainly return to have a meal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cyberdenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    20
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Out with a group of friends , the food was excellent especially the stuffed mushrooms for starters. Everyone had a great dinner. The Restaurant was very quiet but in a very nice setting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jakeDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Stunning view”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have been in the Waters Edge many times the tranquil setting is lovely and the food super ,also the staff are very nice they go out of there way to make your stay a very welcome one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Stopped just for a coffee and time out.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The restaurant looked amazing. I didnt have enough time to have a meal here and regretted it a lot. Beautiful views over the lough and such a tranquil setting. Had a cappuccino and really enjoyed it. Staff really nice and I will return for a dinner here at some stage.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretentious, over priced and poor service”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hi, booked a table in this restaurant for my partners birthday and was very disappointed! Lovely setting and very nice inside so was expecting great things going on other reviews. Service was poor, waited ages for someone to take our order and had to ask for a wine list. We both ordered starters @ around 7/8 euro each - prawn salad which was well, a prawn salad and a Tempura of Cedar Smoked chicken with Tandoori Vegetable Stir fry. Chicken was dry and veg was overcooked and over spiced, could taste nothing only the burn. Main courses were both on the specials board @ 25 euro each with no veg sides! My partner had the cod on a chorizo bean casserole which looked lovely but tasted of nothing but sugar, like tinned beans with sugar added. I ordered sea bass which was served on a slate - hate this presentation anyway but the garlic butter leaked off on to the table.....yuck! My main came with 3 little asparagus which were over cooked, grey, limp and stringy and a mushy bit of roasted overly sweetened aubergine. Garlic potatoes were good @ an extra 3.50. We were not asked once throughout the whole meal if everything was ok or if we needed anything else and we were there for nearly 2 hours! We did asked a waitress about the food being overly sweetened and were told that, 'thats the way the chef makes it'. We decided to leave very disappointed after the main course and went to the desk to pay where a waitress was about to walk off even though she had seen us and was going to leave until I stopped her. She seemed annoyed and rushed but gave us a receipt and told us to pay at the bar and again without asking was everything ok. We paid at the bar and left without any pleasantries from the barman either. Needless to say, I did not leave a tip. Way over priced for the quality of the food, over cooked veg, pretentious and poor service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dacocobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waters Edge also viewed

Rathmullan, County Donegal
 
Rathmullan, County Donegal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing