We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome in Rathmullan”
Review of Rathmullan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rathmullan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathmullan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Communicaiton in advance of arriving was excellent with quick responses to requests around appointments in the spa and a table for dinner. On arrival Michael made us feel extremely welcome, and a valued visitor to Rathmullan House. We had a clear explanation of all the facilities and a quick guided tour around the public areas. The hotel sits on an elevated site overlooking Lough Swilly surrounded by manicured gardens with a real Irish country estate feel - sweeping lawns, walled vegetable and fruit garden, crunchy gravel drives. There is a short path which gives you direct access to the beach and it is a ten minute walk into Rathmullan village, whcih has a handful of pubs, restaurants and local shops (butcher, Spar, garage). We had booked a Superior Room and it was beautiful - very large with an entrance hall, a large bathroom with a free standing old fashioned bath tub, separate large walk-in shower, and views over the garden. The bedroom was very large with a king sized bed, sofas and easy chairs, mirrors galore and coffee making facilities. The decor looked quite new and the ornaments and paintings were "olde worlde". The view was over Lough Swilly out the front bay window and over the garden on the other two sides - the windows are original sash, so a wee bit draughty up close, but authentic. The room was warm anyway. Some noises during the night - creaky old building noises, but again it all added to the authentic old country house experience. The breakfast is a fantastic event - fresh juices, fruit, cheeses, ham, yougharts, cereals, pastries, cakes... and then the friendly breakfast team take your order for cooked breakfast! Oh wow, make sure you leave room for this meal! Really delicious - freshly cooked (not a buffet that has been sitting for a while under heat lamps!). It was quite expensive for one night away - 270 euros including dinner and a couple of glasses of wine for two people, but I felt it was value for money. And I felt like Rathmullan House staff really enjoyed having my husband and I visit them. The staff smile, they are attentive, they care. Well done!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a gorgeous bathroom and views over the gardens and Lough Swilly
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetotravelIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Over the year's we have always tried to maintain an old worldy charm to the hotel.

Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you back again soon.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Rathmullan House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 470 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from my cousin's wedding and have to say everything about RMH was excellent.

From the friendly informal checkin to the superb food for 150 people the service and quality was excellent.

The remote location is perfect for weddings and the scenery and each are ideal for photos.

Breakfast this morning lived up to the high standard. Only sorry we couldn't stay another night.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank StarchyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the wedding celebrations with us.

Weddings should always be special and we try to add to this as much as possible. It is great to see the relaxed atmosphere noticed and appreciated.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Having rented a house very nearby 5 adults, 2 kids, we went there for lunch in the Cellar bar, on day one, took a long time for food to arrive and when it did, one order was wrong,then waitress returned with the same Burger with all just scraped of and put on the pan to burn off what wasn't asked for. We went there again for a drink only to be told that only kids staying in hotel were welcome. So, even at that we went back on our last night for a meal in the cellar bar, to be told after we ordered wine and drinks that they were booked out, (told us that they are expecting most of the guests 'probably' will come in for food. )
So basically if your not staying in the hotel- don't go there for your daily insult, staff very young an inexperienced, this place needs a good manager and change of attitude. Nice looking place however with great gardens.
Suggest the Ferrygate or Waters Edge for great food and service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank greg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Owner at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for reviewing all the properties in Rathmullan after your weeks rental of a holiday cottage.

The Cellar Bar is only open during July and August so is now closed and we have reviewed feedback.

Following this feedback, next year the Cellar Bar will open for longer during the summer months which will help facilitate servicing parties with children. If next year you do take a house again please give us a call to book a table as we still expect it to be very busy.

The menu will be small bites to complement the Kinnegar Beer’s from our local brewery who will have their tap room in the Cellar.

Kind regards

Mark & Mary Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our trip to Rathmullan House was a Christmas gift from our kids and grandkids.. a voucher for a standard room with dinner on one evening. When we arrived we were delighted to find we had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite!!!!!!! As pensioners we found this a sketch but what a wonderful touch. The hotel has not been over styled so there is no sense of a multinational generic style. What a relief. We relaxed right into the house and enjoyed every minute. Everyone friendly and service unobtrusive but helpful. Beach and village atmosphere a short walk away. The inclusive dinner on night one was so fabulous we just had to splash out on an equally resplendent dinner on night two. My daughter in law asked 'So is this now your favourite place to stay on earth?'. Maybe. And ta to whoever organised the glorious weather!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite Great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the room upgrade. We try to make everything as relaxing as possible for our guests. Kelan was delighted with your comments regarding the food. We're not sure who was responsible for the weather but we appreciated it too.
Hope to see you soon again.
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If I run away it will be to here. I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat. Great food, service, grounds, views. Room clean, well appointed. I wish we had been there in warmer weather to enjoy further. Wifi only in lounge and is poor at best. Negative side, humping luggage, and the peat bog water. Staff in dining area and bar are great. It is a bit to get to ,but once there, you will be happy you made the effort. This place has a good product, hope they keep working on it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to hear you would recommend us. Sorry for the inconvenience in relation to luggage, we would gladly help with your luggage up to your room. The water does have a slight yellow colour to it but it is filtered and perfectly safe. We hope to see you back again soon.
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Rare sunny day in Ireland , so decided to go for lunch at Rathmulland house.
Beautifull location , sitting outside with lovely views over the garden and just a stroll away from the beach for a walk after !!
Food was very good and had a very nice waitress (unf. didn't get her name) looking after us !!
Overall very good experience. Will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Valerie227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us. The weather really adds to the occasion. From records it would seem Leanne was the waitress who served you and I will pass on your comments to her. Hope to see you back soon and feel free to bring the good weather with you again.
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in Rathmullen House in mid August with our 2 children. Our room was to the front of the house with a view of Lough Swilly. It was really beautiful and our children had their own room with theirmown small tv just off ours.

The staff were so nice and helpful and the location is beautiful with a 3 minute walk to the beach.

The walled garden is well worth a visit and is packed with so many different types of fruits, vegetables and plants that are used in the restaurant.

For our family the breakfasts were one of the real winners. Such a selection of fresh local produce.

Being from around the Dublin area, the distance is one of the drawbacks. With such good roads to practically all parts of Ireland, 4 hours approx to Rathmullan now appears very long. It's worth the trip but you'd need to stay for a few days or break your journey with a stay along the way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in our food in general with our breakfast proving very popular. To in some way counteract the distance for people, we reduce our B&B rates (where possible) the more nights as guest stays with us. We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathmullan
9.2 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
3.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
818 reviews
13.8 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
273 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathmullan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathmullan House

Address: Lough Swilly, Rathmullan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rathmullan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathmullan
Price Range: $222 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathmullan House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rathmullan House is situated on the shores of Lough Swilly in Co. Donegal. With a 2 mile sandy beach at the bottom of the gardens it is a perfect spot to enjoy the outdoors. All 32 bedrooms are individually styled from romantic garden rooms to adjoining family rooms. The Weeping Elm Restaurant provides a fine setting for Kelan McMichaels modern cooking as well as the award winning breakfast for which Rathmullan is justly famous. Menus are based on using the freshest ingredients in season from local artisan producers and from the hotels walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rathmullan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathmullan House Hotel Rathmullan
House Rathmullan
Rathmullan Hotel
Rathmullan House Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing