We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OAPs in the Honeymoon Suite”
Review of Rathmullan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rathmullan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathmullan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our trip to Rathmullan House was a Christmas gift from our kids and grandkids.. a voucher for a standard room with dinner on one evening. When we arrived we were delighted to find we had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite!!!!!!! As pensioners we found this a sketch but what a wonderful touch. The hotel has not been over styled so there is no sense of a multinational generic style. What a relief. We relaxed right into the house and enjoyed every minute. Everyone friendly and service unobtrusive but helpful. Beach and village atmosphere a short walk away. The inclusive dinner on night one was so fabulous we just had to splash out on an equally resplendent dinner on night two. My daughter in law asked 'So is this now your favourite place to stay on earth?'. Maybe. And ta to whoever organised the glorious weather!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed the room upgrade. We try to make everything as relaxing as possible for our guests. Kelan was delighted with your comments regarding the food. We're not sure who was responsible for the weather but we appreciated it too.
Hope to see you soon again.
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 490 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

If I run away it will be to here. I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat. Great food, service, grounds, views. Room clean, well appointed. I wish we had been there in warmer weather to enjoy further. Wifi only in lounge and is poor at best. Negative side, humping luggage, and the peat bog water. Staff in dining area and bar are great. It is a bit to get to ,but once there, you will be happy you made the effort. This place has a good product, hope they keep working on it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to hear you would recommend us. Sorry for the inconvenience in relation to luggage, we would gladly help with your luggage up to your room. The water does have a slight yellow colour to it but it is filtered and perfectly safe. We hope to see you back again soon.
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Rare sunny day in Ireland , so decided to go for lunch at Rathmulland house.
Beautifull location , sitting outside with lovely views over the garden and just a stroll away from the beach for a walk after !!
Food was very good and had a very nice waitress (unf. didn't get her name) looking after us !!
Overall very good experience. Will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Valerie227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us. The weather really adds to the occasion. From records it would seem Leanne was the waitress who served you and I will pass on your comments to her. Hope to see you back soon and feel free to bring the good weather with you again.
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in Rathmullen House in mid August with our 2 children. Our room was to the front of the house with a view of Lough Swilly. It was really beautiful and our children had their own room with theirmown small tv just off ours.

The staff were so nice and helpful and the location is beautiful with a 3 minute walk to the beach.

The walled garden is well worth a visit and is packed with so many different types of fruits, vegetables and plants that are used in the restaurant.

For our family the breakfasts were one of the real winners. Such a selection of fresh local produce.

Being from around the Dublin area, the distance is one of the drawbacks. With such good roads to practically all parts of Ireland, 4 hours approx to Rathmullan now appears very long. It's worth the trip but you'd need to stay for a few days or break your journey with a stay along the way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in our food in general with our breakfast proving very popular. To in some way counteract the distance for people, we reduce our B&B rates (where possible) the more nights as guest stays with us. We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here recently for a family gathering and was underwhelmed by the welcome and overall service. The location is beautiful and although our room did not have a view it was nice. We stayed with our 9 month old baby and due to our travel distance we were unable to bring his regular homemade food purees. On checking out we discovered that we had been charged for a small bowl of potato and carrot puree despite the fact that our party had taken 5 rooms over 3 nights. The party was also charged for a child's bowl of plain pasta and tomato sauce despite 9 adults dining there over the course of the stay. When I voiced my discontent at this nothing was done to rectify it and so the extra was paid for the baby food. We enjoyed the stay overall but it is very doubtful that we will return to Rathmullan house again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dugg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Owner at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear about the above issues.

We are currently looking into our procedures on pricing as we normally don't charge for infant food. We apologise that this wasn't picked up on and dealt with properly at checkout. If you would be so kind to forward on your personal email address we would like to be able to compensate you and offer you a service recovery.

Kind regards

Mary Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just spent a few nights here to celebrate my brother in laws 40th. We had a lovely time here. The food was brilliant for both dinners and also for breakfast. The rooms are in keeping with the period of the property. The setting is stunning, in particular the proximity to the beach. My only complaint would be that I felt the staff were not aware enough of the fact that we had a family celebration on and also that my brother in law was a returning guest. On check in he was asked if he had been here before, this was in fact his 4th visit (he even got engaged here) and he was now bringing the entire family with him (5 rooms worth). This should be logged on their database to make returning guests feel more like they are returning 'home'.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank BNM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely time and enjoyed the food.
Our apologies in relation to the original welcome. We are looking into procedures relating to records of returning guests with a view to improving on this area. This issue will also be raised at the next Human Resources meeting. We hope to see you again soon as it will give us a chance to give you a better returning welcome to Rathmullan House.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had another fantastic five days at Rathmullan House in August. The staff were amazing as usual, and the rooms even better than ever. The new duvets are really cosy! Food was great. Such a relaxing place. Our kids have holidayed in many countries , but Rathmullan House is their favourite holiday! Can't wait to return again ! Thanks for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to see you returning and that you enjoyed the stay just as much. It is also a great compliment to hear the kids preferred the place to others. Thank you for your kind words and hope to see you again soon. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathmullan
15.6 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
969 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
980 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
23.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathmullan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathmullan House

Address: Lough Swilly, Rathmullan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rathmullan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathmullan
Price Range: $198 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathmullan House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rathmullan House is situated on the shores of Lough Swilly in Co. Donegal. With a 2 mile sandy beach at the bottom of the gardens it is a perfect spot to enjoy the outdoors. All 32 bedrooms are individually styled from romantic garden rooms to adjoining family rooms. The Weeping Elm Restaurant provides a fine setting for Kelan McMichaels modern cooking as well as the award winning breakfast for which Rathmullan is justly famous. Menus are based on using the freshest ingredients in season from local artisan producers and from the hotels walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Rathmullan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathmullan House Hotel Rathmullan
House Rathmullan
Rathmullan Hotel
Rathmullan House Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing