We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Rathmullan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rathmullan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathmullan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in late May and have only just got round to posting a review. Lovely, large room with outside terrace and table and chairs. You only have to walk across the front lawn and you are on a beautiful beach.We enjoyed looking round the kitchen garden. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent. Delightful helpful staff. Wonderful scenery nearby. A memorable stay and we aim to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed our stay. We are very lucky with our location so near to the beach. It is lovely to see the hard work in relation to the different departments recognised and appreciated by yourself. Hope to see you again soon. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 486 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in mid-May and have only just got round to posting a review. This is a lovely hotel to relax in and take it easy. Our room in the new wing was large and comfortable with spacious bathroom. Access to the beach makes for a great walk and the whole surrounding area is worth exploring by car. The walled garden is well worth a look. Pool is better than many hotels of this size. We only ate in the bar area where the food was very good because I was taken ill on our last night when we were planning to eat in the restaurant and was carted off to hospital in Letterkenny but fortunately with no long term ill effects - can recommend the local ambulance service and A&E! I was discharged at midnight as an extremely kind and considerate member of staff (Elaine Ferry) arrived with sandwiches to check I was OK and then went out of her way to drive us back to the hotel. Can't recommend the hotel and staff more highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAYJAYDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. First and foremost, we are delighted to hear you made a full recovery and that there is no long term effects. It is great to hear you enjoyed the features of Rathmullan House. Hopefully next time you will get a chance to sample our Weeping Elm restaurant. I will pass on your kind words to Elaine. She checked on you completely of her own free will and she is always wonderfully kind to all guests. We hope to see you back again soon. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I love Rathmullan House but this year the food was disappointing at best. I suspect a major change in the kitchens as the standards were simply not the same. The chowder was hit and miss, lovely one night but virtually fishless another. Several other people we spoke to expressed disappointment at the standard of the food - not so fresh fish, over cooked steaks, fatty lamb, poor veg selection and (unforgivably) limp and very nearly slimy salad. For the prices charged I'd expect the usual quality not this cost cutting nonsense.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Owner at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy the Cellar Bar food. We have the same team this year as we had last year and we still source our food where possible from local and artisan producers.
I wish you had mentioned it to me when I met with you several times during the holidays.

Mary Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous family meal here in the restaurant. Food delicious, well presented, and tastey. I had smkoed salmon starter followed by sole. Excellent service. Wonderful atmosphere. stunning views. Thoroughly enjoyed the post dinner whiskey!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nic0laann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed the meal. I will pass on your compliments to the chefs. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Been here a few times, the food never disappoints , relaxed atmosphere, knowledgable friendly local staff, if its a quick meal your after in a hurry try somewhere else as this place is worth the small wait,beautifully maintained gardens, will visit soon again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. It is great to see the consistency is still there in terms of the high standard of our food and we appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you soon again. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was fabulous and well deserved the standing ovation.Even through the downpours the ambience, location,staff and food made it a memorable location.Had a quick tour around the wall garden highly recommended. Look forward to returning for dinner next week

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mdc06102001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. The day was a memorable occasion full of joy and excitement. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the performance. We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully next time you will get a more extensive look at our walled garden. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Dinner for 6 adults (3 couples in the cellar bar). For dinner, the Cellar Bar is better value for money than the Weeping Elm restaurant. There was a good selection of local food (fresh local fish and meat). The cooking was adventurous (Lamb Curry) but some hit the mark (gurnard). Compared to the Ferry Gate, the Cellar Bar isn't top of the list in 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maygrove172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your comments on board regarding your cellar bar experience. We would encourage you dine in our main restaurant the Weeping Elm as it is more of a dinner menu as opposed to a bar food menu and may be more suitable. We hope to see you again soon. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathmullan
3.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
974 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
309 reviews
9.2 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
927 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
9.6 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathmullan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathmullan House

Address: Lough Swilly, Rathmullan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rathmullan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathmullan
Price Range: $195 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathmullan House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rathmullan House is situated on the shores of Lough Swilly in Co. Donegal. With a 2 mile sandy beach at the bottom of the gardens it is a perfect spot to enjoy the outdoors. All 32 bedrooms are individually styled from romantic garden rooms to adjoining family rooms. The Weeping Elm Restaurant provides a fine setting for Kelan McMichaels modern cooking as well as the award winning breakfast for which Rathmullan is justly famous. Menus are based on using the freshest ingredients in season from local artisan producers and from the hotels walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Rathmullan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathmullan House Hotel Rathmullan
House Rathmullan
Rathmullan Hotel
Rathmullan House Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing