We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great places to stay in Rathmullan”

Neil's Cottage & Looking Glass Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rathmullan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neil's Cottage & Looking Glass Apartments
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great places to stay in Rathmullan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed in both of these accommodations, spotlessly clean and comfortable. After several days in large hotels, the feeling of being in real homes was wonderful. The kids have had several great holidays in Neil's Cottage, and when we needed to stay on for extra days Looking Glass Apartments was there for us.

Neil's Cottage is a few minutes out of the village, with great views of the valley and the sea. The apartment is in the village, but the noise from outside wasn't a problem even with a weekend (although we were aware of the family upstairs).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We booked Neil's Cottage and Looking Glass apt through internet and from first contact with Kathleen we knew that all would be well. Both accommodations were excellent; spotlessly clean, so well equipped that we did not lack anything. Both are close enough to each other, conveniently placed to beach and pier, and beautiful Rathmullan itself.
The welcome, with home scones and banana bread, was wonderful.
We cannot wait to go back next year and have booked already!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maryferris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Kathleen was so helpful and reacted immediately to any requests we made and the cottage was spotless.

However for six adults, sitting together in the lounge was a bit of a squash. There is comfortable seating for four round the TV and two other chairs in the porch. A swinging chair on the verandah is lovely for warm evenings.

TV reception was poor.

Apparently the upstairs front bedroom bed was squeeky but we told Kathleen about this and Im sure she will sort that out. We were in the downstairs ensuite and it was quiet and comfortable.

Every evening we would walk down into the town of Rathmullan which took about ten minutes. Sometimes just to look at the beautiful Lough Swilly.

We used the Rathmullan ferry to go to Buncrana and then to Londonderry for the day. But the best day trip was the trip round Horn Head, Ards Forest and the village of Dunfannahey. The scenery in the whole area is wonderful with just lovely long white sandy beaches.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forgedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Please do not make the same mistake as us and stay in the looking glass apartment. We are writing this having left a day early. We were told we had to pay the money in cash up front and were refused a receipt. The noise from the tenants in the apartment above was so bad we didn't get one nights sleep. The owner was totally unhelpful. The website says there is a dishwasher. There is not. It says there is a cot and highchair available. There was not. The D.V.D. was broken. We have learnt our lesson and will never pay up front in cash again. The only thing we can do is advise others not to stay there and have the same stress and bad experience we did.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsdDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALLYCASTLE / NORTHERN IRELAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

We rented Neil's Cottage for two nights, myself and my husband. Enjoyed every minute of it. Beautiful views and so peaceful. Not very far from main town. Dealt with owner Kathleen and she was so pleasant and helpful. Cottage was very clean and cosy. Throughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BONNY34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

There were 7 of us staying in Neil's Cottage including 2 babies and our elderly grandmother. The house was beautiful and suited us all perfectly. Kathleen was the most helpful and welcoming person you could ever meet. She made our stay so enjoyable and was at hand when we needed her. The location of neil's cottage is quiet and pieceful and the area surrounding it is absolutely beautiful. We would definetely stay again and would reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JusieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

Where do we begin to summarise Neil's Cottage?...
Kathleen made us feel so welcome before, during and after our stay - freshly baked scones on arrival and departure and a log fire set up for our arrival.
The cottage was beautiful. Travelling with two young children can be daunting enough but we couldn't fault anything about this house. It was home from home with all amenities for our stay; cot, stair gate and high chair. The garden was fully enclosed and safe for children. We had a fantastic week staying in Neil's Cottage and Rathmullan.
The Water's Edge was a great place to eat and child friendly. All the people we met in Rathmullan could not have been more welcoming or friendly. We will be back ...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamish75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neil's Cottage & Looking Glass Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neil's Cottage & Looking Glass Apartments

Property: Neil's Cottage & Looking Glass Apartments
Address: Rathmullan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rathmullan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rathmullan
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Neil's Cottage & Looking Glass Apartments Rathmullan, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing