We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old Irish hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Have just had the pleasure of revisiting Dundrum House Hotel after 20 years for a family wedding. A lot of development has taken place there but it was just lovely to see that good old Irish hospitality lives on, together with old world charm. Have to take my hat off to Margaret though for her kindness and care to each and every one of us, on Sun and Mon especially. She is a real 'Irish Mammy' and cosseted us, fed us, searched for all the things we mislaid! She is a treasure to the establishment! Dan too was exceptional - anticipating healthy young men's desires for 'a bit of both' at Sunday lunch and serving up healthy portions of both chicken & beef to them. The wedding was a large one, almost 260 people but everything went smoothly. The food service was excellent and flowed smoothly, the quality of the food was superb, and everything that was meant to be was piping hot! The choice available for a wedding meal was unbelievable. We ordered when we sat down and service commenced as soon as speeches ended. The venue coped not just with the large wedding party but also with Santa visiting the estate and his many, many fans coming to see him. However, they did not impact on us whatsoever & it was magical to see Santa's train touring the grounds - my only disappointment, I needed to have booked to see him:( :( Finally, I have to compliment them on their coffee - beautifully smooth, rich and with superb flavour. Their coffee machines obviously well maintained and cleaned often. Well done to one and all at Dundrum House!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 538 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Dundrum House Hotel is an absolute gem of a property nestled in the breathtakingly beautiful Golden Vale countryside. It's definitely one of those places that you don't want to leave once you've experienced its charm and hospitality. Most assuredly, you'll want to return!

My room, in the manor part of the hotel, was beautifully appointed and had elegant pieces of period furniture. It overlooked the grounds to the side of the building and the vista was awe-inspiring. The bed was exquisite - I definitely felt like Lady Grantham surveying her magnificent estate in that. Indeed, all that was missing was a discreet tap on my door from Lord Grantham inquiring as to whether he 'could join me or not'!!! Note to self: must bring 'him' along next time. And yes, I will most definitely be back. Can't wait.

Apart from the gem that is the manor house itself, the real treasures to be found here are the wonderful human assets i.e. the wonderful staff. Margaret in Lady Clementina's Restaurant is an absolute star. Her genuine warmth and down-to-earth sincerity was refreshing and very much appreciated - as was her amazing brown bread. As a solo traveller, she looked after me like an Irish Mammy all weekend! Take a bow, Margaret. I was fortunate to have three girlfriends join me for dinner on the Saturday night of my stay and they were impressed not only with the amazing food and ambiance but also with the amazing Margaret. She is truly a magnificent ambassador for this exceptional property.

Well deserved mentions also for Duty Manager, Sharon and Noreen at the Front Office. Both were welcoming, helpful, courteous and highly professional. Well done, Ladies! The young barman at The Cocktail Bar, whose name I didn't get, was equally courteous and helpful as was the young Antipodean (I think) gentleman at the leisure centre. Thank you both!

Overall, this weekend was one that will stay in my memory for a long time and for all the right reasons. The ambiance and the welcoming, professional staff combined seamlessly to make it feel as if one were simply visiting old friends at their magnificent country estate. It was truly amazing and completely relaxing. Very well done to all concerned. I genuinely will be looking for any excuse to come back again in the very near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krysskass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We attended the Santa Experience in Dundrum on Sunday the 1st December and can only say that we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience from start to finish. Our 12 and 8 year olds were mesmerised from the minute our journey started until they finally got to sit on Santa's knee. Anyone attending this experience will be very impressed. We have it diared to book again for December 2014. Well done to everyone concerned. The Gleeson Family, Kilteely, Co. Limerick.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2nights for our wedding anniversary.
Our room was amazing with spectacular views and fabulous furniture.
Breakfast was fresh and hot and tasty.
Dinner was such a treat from the pate to the duck in orange sauce and the cheese bored.with my husband having the soup and stake witch he totally enjoyed. Everything was appsolutley perfect.
And so to the staff, they where with out fdouth

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank noredsauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Love, love, love this place! Owner Austin Crowe is such a vibrant gem (as is his brother Jack and wife Mary), that we made this a must do for our second trip to Ireland. Dundrum House is a true value for your money, a good place to roam the countryside or to visit Cashel. The rooms in the Manor House are gorgeous and enormous, the golf course is a real deal. If you plan to use the swimming pool, be forewarned that you must either bring a swim cap or buy one. Not a big deal, just an FYI. Great workout room. Had a lunch and a dinner in the grill, both were lovely, but the real stars were our dinner and breakfasts in the hotel's dining room. Everything was absolutely delicious. Dinners were followed by after dinner drinks in the clubby hotel bar. So glad we found this wonderful place. Hope we can enjoy it again.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the Manor House - we had room 222 - and you'll feel like a country squire.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glynispm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel due to wining a 2 night stay so we used it as part of our honeymoon. We booked our 2 night stay in July for the 3rd - 6th of November. It was peace of mind for us booking so early that we knew that our honeymoon was secure so we could move on with other things to be organised for the wedding. 2 weeks before the wedding the hotel rang to advise that they would be cancelling our stay as they had been advised 2 weeks prior to that they would be closing the hotel from monday to friday due to budget cuts. We were very upset with the news and the hotel were unwilling to help up in anyway. Finally after 3 phone calls we were eventually offered a self catering house off the hotel grounds. As part of our package we had breakfast and one nights dinner. We were advised that breakfast would be left in our house for us but this was not so. We were only given one breakfast and dinner as the restaurant was not open. The clubhouse staff were lovely as were the bar staff but the reception staff were the most unprofessional people i have ever dealt with being so rude. The house itself was beautiful and very historic with beautiful grounds. It was such a shame reception left them down so badly.

Room Tip: Do not book between Monday and Friday as hotel is now closed.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leah52001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I went back to Dundrum last thursday. Our second visit in 12 months. The staff were fantastic and some remembered us from our first visit. The leisure club was a great place to unwind in. The bar staff, Damien and Marion were kept going but looked after us really well, cheers guys. We look forward to our next visit there and are planning to return on a yearly basis. I'd recommend this Hotel to everyone looking to get away for a night or two.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris747_400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundrum
6.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
610 reviews
8.2 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
13.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
12.9 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
426 reviews
22.8 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort

Address: | Cashel, Dundrum, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Dundrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dundrum
Price Range: $100 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Manor House was built in 1730 for the bride of Lord Hawarden, the Earl of Montalt where ancient Irish chieftains, the O'Dwyers of Kilnamanagh once held the land. At the beginning of the century a religious order bought the property and in 1978, the Crowe family bought the house and adjoining lands that lay along the Multeen River.Located in the 'Golden Vale' this resort is located in the heart of Co Tipperary, 8 miles (13K) from Cashel Town, steeped in heritage, in one of the most picturesque settings. As you can imagine, this luxury country house hotel Tipperary is a wonderful country retreat, with old world charm and atmosphere. The Manor House was restored to it's former glory and the resort's ongoing property development provide, modern day comforts in a setting that retains the finest of the old. Absorb the history and beautiful antiques that adorn the manor bedrooms, drawing room, lounge and restaurant. This hotel seamlessly blends modern day living with modern bedrooms, health and leisure centre, wedding venue and spacious holiday homes, with old world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundrum House Hotel, Golf And Leisure Hotel Dundrum
Dundrum House Hotel, Golf And Leisure Resort Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing