We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice for a weekend away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Innishannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Innishannon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Innishannon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Really happy with our weekend break here. The location and beautiful setting of this hotel gave everything we wanted for a relaxing get away. Our room was very comfortable and a nice size. The country night stillness gave me the most restful sleep I had in a while. Then waking up and opening the curtains to a beautiful view overlooking the lovely gardens leading down to the river was a great start to our day. Breakfast had a good choice, served in a homely atmosphere.
The staff were very nice, and very helpful in providing information on what to do in the area (which is plenty). We chose a day trip into Kinsale, with a quick detour into Bandon on the way back. An enjoyable day. Back in the hotel, the bar offered a lovely relaxing drink by the open fire. The menu for evening meal had a bit of choice and the food served was excellent.
Will return there again in the summer to better enjoy the gardens and the country walks around the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Innishannon House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 127 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

A really picturesque setting beside the River Bandon. Our rooms were beautifully furnished, comfortable and full of character - in keeping with the overall homely, relaxing ambience. We stayed on a B&B and evening meal basis. The menu catered well for our varied tastes and the food was excellent, served by very friendly and efficient staff. Would love to return late summer and try a spot of fishing from the jetty at the bottom of the garden.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and it was excellent. Our children's room was differently appointe...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed in this hotel (two couples) on Friday night January 24th 2013 on a B&B -evening meal basis. The building is country house style dating back to1720 and has a lot of character and "ye olde" charm. The surrounding grounds, on the banks of the river Bandon, are really picturesque and I am sure that, in summer time, they are even nicer still. The hotel location is an excellent one for touring other resorts in the beautiful West Cork.
Facilities in the hotel are generally great. The bedrooms are very large and comfortable and the standard of hygiene throughout the hotel was excellent during our short stay. However, if you are very tall, you should avoid rooms in the attic ( 3rd story) area as it is difficult to stand up straight in the showers due to the sloping shape of the roof.
Dinner was a little bit disappointing, 5 out of 10 marks, but then it was the off season! Breakfast was as one would expect, nicely cooked and well presented, 10 out of 10.
The televisions in both rooms were flat screen and up to date, however we could only access 2 or 3 channels max on each and could not get RTE1? I asked one of the staff about this but he could not offer any constructive help. We came to the conclusion that the problem was tuning but neither room had the original remote controls (only universal ones) so tuning the sets ourselves was not possible.
Also, the hotel does not have an elevator so it is not be suitable for people with walking difficulties.
To finish on a positive note, the staff were excellent, most welcoming and helpful and were the most friendly of any hotel we have ever stayed in both locally and internationally. We enjoyed our brief stay very much.

Room Tip: Avoid the top story rooms if you are tall.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liam_mccaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here in May 2011 and I can still remember the awesome location even after all this time, the hotel is located in such peaceful and relaxing area it was lovely. We had the pleasure of staying in a top floor room which was round and so beautifully furnished, the bedroom was very comfortable. My only quibble about the whole stay was that my partner (all 6 foot of him) couldn't stand up straight in the shower but we did laugh about it as we had such a lovely stay. The owner served us that night in the bar and we both found the food very enjoyable. Would love to stay here again

Room Tip: Maybe request a room below the roof level if you are tall as the roof slopes inside the bathrooms bu...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maeve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneR854, Manager at Innishannon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We at Innishannon House Hotel very much appreciate your comments and strive to improve to make your next stay all the more memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Last week we had a wedding reception at the Innishannon House Hotel for our daughter.It was an great success & many guests who we spoke to or have written since were full of praise for the lovely setting,the nice feel about the place, the good food & prompt service.The hallway & stairs looked lovely weth the holly& ivy decorations as did the tables at the reception.The open fire in the bar drew many favourable comments.My wife & I stayed for a night a few months before the wedding & the wedding night & found everything to our expectations.It is nice to see a family run hotel with the owners having such a hands on approach. Many thanks to Margaret & Shane for making the wedding such a memorable occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had our wedding reception here on 7th December. The service & food was top notch. The location is amazing and the venue is cosy and intimate. Margaret, Shane and the rest of the staff were fantastic. I would definitely recommend Innishannon as a place for a wedding venue. Thanks a million Margaret & Shane for making our wedding day so special.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnabell95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stopped off at Innishannon House on a cold Saturday evening and the open fire and tasty bar food menu were very welcome after a long days walking in West Cork. We opted for four homemade burgers which came with Dressed salad and hand cut fries. Everyone agreed they were all delicious and just perfectly cooked. Portions were generous size and the salad very good also. For desserts we opted for a sherry trifle / chocolate brownie a homemade apple pie and an apple crumble. Again all were very good and the service was very friendly and attentive throughout. The restaurant seemed closed for dinner on a Saturday evening but for barfood, comfort and overall service Innishannon is A1! The front lounge is nice and cosy and there is also the Innish bar towards the rear.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Innishannon
3.7 mi away
Glebe Country House
Glebe Country House
#1 of 2 in Bandon
45 reviews
9.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Cork International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
952 reviews
3.5 mi away
Munster Arms
Munster Arms
#2 of 2 in Bandon
84 reviews
7.4 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innishannon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innishannon House Hotel

Address: Main Street, Innishannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Innishannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Innishannon
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing