We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for c2c”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nenthead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherry Tree Cottage
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were a mixed bunch doing the c2c this year , we stayed over night at cherry tree cottages.
Having read previous reviews we were a bit wary.
When we arrived we were met by Helen who is lovely she greeted us warmly and made us a much needed cup of tea..
As previous reviews state the place is old fashioned and non of the bedding matches but the beds were comfortable-and after doing those hill all day thats what you want . The breakfast was really nice.
Would definitely book again when we do the c2c next year.

Room Tip: Basic but fine if there is a group of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

Had a lovely welcome from very friendly and chatty Helen. Had the whole house to ourselves and choice of rooms. we chose the one with double and single facing the fields. It's like staying at my gran's house and being looked after. It's a bit old fashioned and not stylish e.g no fluffy white towels and en suite but felt so at home, we were allowed to help ourself to tea/coffee from her kitchen. Breakfast ok. would have liked filter coffee, but it really did not make any difference. Helen gives good travelling advice to guests. She is used to groups of men cycling on the C2C route as she has shower room with 3 showers in it.

Room Tip: When cycling down hill on the C2C from the mines going into Nenthead, it is half way down on right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I'm afraid that Cherry Tree Cottage is in urgent need of a makeover if it is to serve the full spectrum of potential B&B clients. Helen, the lady who runs this establishment, is extremely friendly and means well, but the rooms are not up to scratch for meeting current expectations. I won't go into too much detail, but suffice it to say that if you are doing the C2C or a long distance walk with a bunch of friends and can't find any other accommodation in the area, then by all means use it as an overnight stay, but if you want to be able to enjoy a break with well equipped rooms and modern facilities, then go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

6 of us stayed here for one night as part of our C2C cycle route. The girls hated it, the guys were less bothered. Basically the accommodation is cheap at around £30 per person B&B per night. The breakfast is fine. But the problem for some will be the standard of accommodation. The furniture and furnishings have probably not been refreshed - ever! None of the bedding matched either with itself on a bed, or the decor of the rooms. The carpets are ancient, and whilst i do not think the property was dirty in overall terms, there is an overall feel of neglect. Which is a shame, because the lady who (virtually singlehandedly) runs the place is a lovely character. You also need to be prepared for the odd surprise, such as a complete stranger turning up to occupy the 4th bedroom and share the communal bathroom!
The property is split into 2 independent sections, and during our stay the other half was taken by a men only group who were also cycling the route. I doubt they cared much at all about the decor, being more interested in the price and the vicinity of the pub 400 yards away. This may well be the key demographic for this property. Think of it as one step up from the YHA and that gives a reasonable benchmark. The fact is that there is very little choice over accomodation in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RedCompliance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cherry Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Cottage

Address: Cherry Tree Cottage Main Road, Nenthead CA9 3PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Nenthead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Nenthead
Hotel Class:4 star — Cherry Tree Cottage 4*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing