We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a lovely area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Belfast
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a lovely area”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great for a relaxing weekend in this lovely coastal location.
There is plenty of parking available and the area feels safe day and night.

We got a huge bedroom which was clean and very comfortable.

A 10 minute stroll will take you to vibrant Dalkey where you can take your pick of numerous bars and restaurants.

Staff were courteous and helpful throughout our stay.

No complaints, and I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AJQ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear AJQ5,

Thank you very much for your nice review of your stay on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon and if we can assist please do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,

Nicky

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    439
    234
    98
    68
See reviews for
360
551
25
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lurgan, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I booked this hotel based on their website. My husband and I were looking forward to a relaxing weekend in opulent surroundings. When we arrived in our room I felt like crying it was dated and dirty. The carpet had stains and the wall paper was coming apart at the seems. We complained to reception and they offered to change our room to a sea view, but to be honest it wasn't any better. We told them we couldn't stay as it was just not what their website advertised. The receptionists were lovely and didn't seem surprised at our reaction. We were told that the 3rd floor was recently renovated but there were no available rooms. I was also asked to leave my details so the duty manager could contact me but as yet 4 days later I'm still waiting. My advise book somewhere else until every room has been renovated!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sinead,

I was very sorry to read your e-mail following your visit to the hotel last week. My colleague Sandra Jackson called you earlier this week and left a voice message. I have also tried calling you a short time ago and also got your voice mail.

If you could kindly call Sandra or me at your convenience on 01-2305455 we will be delighted to talk to you and try to resolve this to your satisfaction.

My sincere apologies to you both.

Yours sincerely,
Nicky

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Fitzpatrick is located on the lovely south side of Dublin city and about 20-30 min car ride from City Center.

The Castle is not an ultra modern property and if you're expecting that choose another property or you will be disappointed.

If you're looking for some old world charm this is the place. I don't understand why people are surprised when they don't find a brand new hotel when they come here. Its not a new sterile Hilton, it's an old world sort of place.

The staff was as friendly as you might expect of the people of Ireland.

The one thing that puzzles me as stated in the title is the wifi, while the system is exceptional once you are up and running, the problem (albeit relatively minor) is having to register each item upon registration and then have to do it everyday! This is beyond comprehension they must figure out a better way.

All in all if thats our only gripe then I'd say they did a nice job.

We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cupcardriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Cupcardriver,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say we are an older premises but as you highlight have a lot of soul and history compared to some very sterile hotels.

We have noted your comment on the Wi-Fi and I will be discussing this with our provider to see how the initial registration can be streamlined.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours gratefully,

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is a 10 minute walk from the charming Dalkey village.

You can get the local rail link into Dublin for €5 return.

The room was large, spacious and spotlessly clean and we were fortunate to have a wonderful view of Dublin bay.

The staff were very friendly & courteous. The hotel has a fine old world style lounge and foyer, where you can sit and read the papers or enjoy some refreshments.

Great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timfinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Finnigan,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and the area including Dalkey which is a beautiful village.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours gratefully,

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

From the website it looks as if you will be staying in a historic castle with dungeons and dragons, in reality it's a hotel with battle mounts...the standard rooms are in desperate need of updating...wall paper peeling, carpets need changing bed linen with holes in..... But.... Value for money it's good... The staff are excellent, more than friendly and the location is perfect. Not quite the 20 mins ride to Dublin and expect to pay 30 euros each way on a taxi. The closest village is a 15 min walk away, but is an absolute must. Avoid the breakfast, and bring your binoculars for the sea view .... A pleasant break if you are using this hotel as a "sleeping point" on your vacation

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliveymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Cliveymac,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and the area including Dalkey which is a beautiful village. We are in the process of upgrading bedrooms and will our remaining 20 to be completed by year end.

Thank you once again for recommending the hotel to others and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived in the Fitzpatrick Castle and got a standard double room.

First of all: The rooms you see on the website don't look at all like what you get!

We looked around in the room and we instantly knew we won't stay the night there.
It was shabby, old, dusty, small and the wallpaper came off ... The only good thing was the balcony but that didn't make up for the room. It was not a 4 not even a 3 star room.

So we went back to the reception. Luckily the receptionist was very friendly and helpful and showed us another room. This time it was a "family room". I must say it was cleaner and much more spacious but this also wasn't a 4 Star room at all! It needed a total makeover.

The Receptionist still was very nice and tried to make us happy so she showed us the another room. Now we've seen a suite. This Suite was much nicer and mostly clean (only some issues with the towels and the dust on the cabin) but also this room wasn't kept very good and a new carpet is a must. We asked her for a cancellation but our money would have been lost anyway because the canellation deadline was 24 hours before the booked date. I have no idea how you should cancel a room you dislike 24 hours before you've seen it but as the suite was clean and spacious we decided one night would be ok but looking forward to leave this place.

The Hotel itself is also not a nice castle. Part of it was a castle once but the larger part of the Hotel has been added and there was no nice flair at all. It was more likely a big tourist bunker that is quite the opposite of a charming castle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IL0veSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear I love spring,

Thank you for taking the time to review your 1 night stay with us this weekend on Tripadvisor.
I am aware through our Senior Manager Sandra Jackson that you were unhappy with the first rooms allocated but pleased we were able to upgrade you to a suite which you stayed in.
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Ireland.

Yours sincerely,

Nicky
Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed here many times now, but I've never reviewed it and it's time I said what a lovely place to stay this is. It is very comfortable, staff are very friendly and efficient, the food is good and the location overlooking Dublin Bay is magnificent. Dalkey village has pubs, shops and restaurants within 15 mins walk (it's uphill coming back but we are 70 and can do it!). The DART (Dublin Area Rapid Transit) will get you into the city in 20 mins from Dalkey station and runs very frequently and if you have a car you can be in Wicklow in 20 mins the other way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldMike1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear WakefieldMike1943,

Thank you very much for your really lovely review of your stay on Tripadvisor. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your break with us and that your stay with us regularly.

Our team will be delighted to read your wonderful comments.

Please do come and visit us again soon and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards,
Nicky

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killiney
1.8 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,739 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,406 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Address: Killiney Hill Road, Killiney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Killiney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzpatrick Castle Dublin is the epitome of the elegance and charm of the south Dublin coast. The only hotel located in the fashionable suburbs of Killiney and Dalkey, overlooking Dublin Bay. Fitzpatrick Castle is only 9 miles/20 minutes from downtown Dublin. Luxurious bedrooms and suites decorated in the traditional castle style are also renovated to the highest spec with ISDN lines and in-house entertainment system in all rooms. Wireless broadband Internet access is available in most public areas of hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Castle Killiney
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin Ireland/Killiney, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing