We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
260 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Relaxing venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Another break at this beautiful hotel, where the service is excellent and the welcome warm. We had a special two day treat to celebrate birthdays and the upgrade we were given made our stay all the more enjoyable. Thank you Jessica. Food as always was excellent though I always find Dublin hotel bar prices far too expensive. We, however, will be back again.

Room Tip: Look for a room at the front or side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Retiree Oldcastle,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your return visit to the hotel. Thanks also for complimenting Jessica on the front desk who is a great asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Nicky

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    425
    222
    94
    68
See reviews for
350
536
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went to Fitzpatricks for weekend in July and loved evry minute of it. First massive thanks goes to Sandra who was amazing and helpful even before we arrived, and when we got there she shuffled things around for us to get a balcony room, on 4th floor with fantasic views and no doubt the weather helped but I woudl have sat there rain or snow it was a panoramic over dublin coastline and it made our break very special. thank you Sandra.

The Hotel is full of old world charm and excellent customer service all effort to please made quietly an dwithout fuss. Adam in the bar,made me the best Cocktail I have ever had!

Th edownstaris bistro style restaurant serves a wide vaiety of food and drinks and the staff work hard to get it right. Hotel very popular with American visitors and it seems with the locals too who seem to like to just have a coffee in th e lobby and watch the world go by in this peaceful haven.

Rooms divided into the front with good views and or balconies and the rooms at back have the same decor and feel without the view but very very cleam and comfortable. Will definately return to this charming hotel and maybe this time I will leave time to use the great swimming pool, the weather was so good I wanted to stay outside in the quaint town and using the local dart to shuffle along the local ,coastal towns full of craic.

Room Tip: pay for the balcony especially in summer months. Food inhotel is really good but alos the town of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Monica F,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It was so pleasing to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly pass on your feedback to all our team and especially Sandra who helped arrange all with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and when we can assist, please just contact Sandra or me.

Thank you again.

Yours gratefully,

Nicky

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My fiancé and I were staying in Dublin to watch our daughter compete in an athletics event (for Welsh Schools), so we thought for once we would go a bit more up market.
The Fitzpatrick Castle was a little difficult to find, as our sat nav didn't want to play ball, but when we did find it we knew we had made the right choice. A 4 poster bed in a larger than expected room.
The staff on reception were so helpful, making us feel so welcome. We needed directions to the athletics track on the other side of Dublin, Cara gave us directions to the motorway from the hotel and then to the track, and everywhere else we wanted to visit over our two night stay.
Killiney has a lovely beach (pebbly - no sand) with cracking views, it is flanked by the Dublin Dart Railway which we used to make a trip into Dublin (around 25mins) on the Sunday with free parking.
Back at the hotel, we had a fab breakfast on both mornings, plenty of choice for all tastes. We ate on the Friday night in the Dungeon Grill Restaurant - food and staff were faultless. The spa was fine, even-though we had to purchase swim caps. I cant believe I'm going to moan about the weather, but during our stay we did have some of the warmest temps in Britain and the only downside was the lack air-con in the bedrooms or even a fan - it was absolutely stifling.
We will definitely go back to stay there on our next trip to Dublin, and would recommend the hotel to anyone. Pay a little more for a room with a balcony, the views are stunning with the right weather.
We moved onto Wexford for a couple of days after our stay to visit family.

Room Tip: A balcony would be a plus all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSPREY31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Osprey31,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us here at Fitzpatrick Castle on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and surrounding area.
I will feedback your comments to all our team here who I know will be delighted to read them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Nicky

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We met for a business coffee meeting at this hotel and it was a very pleasant suprise.

Excellent coffee, scones, cream and jam, the service was exceptional and the surroundings were opulent.

I would consider staying here on future business trips

Excellent

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Richard A,

Thank you for your review of your brief visit to the hotel for a business meeting in our newly refurbished lobby.

We were delighted to read your great feedback on the quality of food, coffee and service offered and that you would consider staying here when you are next in the area.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Nicky

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Not only did we have a fantastic room with a balcony and a view of the water, but the friendly staff helped us to get around (to Dublin and beyond) and even told us where Bono's house was so we could do a nerdy drive by, hoping to sneak a peak. Even though it was the last place we stayed after 8 days in Ireland, it was so lovely that it helped soften the blow of goodbye. Comfy beds, great breakfast in bed (or balcony) and Guinness wherever you'd like on the property. Highly recommend this spot! Only 25 minutes from Dublin and yet a world away...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristaaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Kristaaah,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

It was great to read how much you both enjoyed the hotel and surrounding area. Its a shame you did not get to bump into Bono but you never know on your next visit- you might?
Believe it or not he does pop into the hotel from time to time and is always a pleasure.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Nicky

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with our 3 children. Couldn't fault the hotel or staff. We loved the Dungeon Bar. The food was fantastic and the kids had a great time playing Jenga and Scrabble! They loved the bartender, Nick. We were able to sit on the lawn in the evening and watch the children play. We are going back next month!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tracy S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor. It was so pleasing to read how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and so much so that you are returning next month.

Thanks also for your lovely feedback on Nick in our Dungeon Bar and this will be passed onto him.

We look forward to welcoming you next month.

Kind Regards,
Nicky

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This fabulous hotel feels like it is a million miles from the hustle and bustle of life, but it has on its door step some of the nicest places for a relaxing walk up Killiney Hill, which has the most stunning views you will ever see in your life of Killiney Bay, and just a stroll away is the charming Village of Dalkey with its old world feeling it is an enchanting place. But if you never even move from this beautiful Hotel you still have everything you could possibly want, with Leisure facilities a fantastic bar and The Dungeon Restaurant which is very popular with the locals, and that is always a great indication of how good the food is, and it sure is....

All in all this Hotel offers everything you could possibly want for a business or leisure trip you will not find better, it is close to The Dart Station which takes you into the middle of the city in just a few minutes..... Do yourself a favour and try this Hotel....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear JoanWexford,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of the hotel and area on Tripadvisor.

It was great to read how much you enjoyed the hotel, service, facilities and sorroundings.

We appreciate very much your business and feedback and hope to welcome you and your family back again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Nicky

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killiney
1.8 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Haddington
The Haddington
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,279 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Address: Killiney Hill Road, Killiney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Killiney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzpatrick Castle Dublin is the epitome of the elegance and charm of the south Dublin coast. The only hotel located in the fashionable suburbs of Killiney and Dalkey, overlooking Dublin Bay. Fitzpatrick Castle is only 9 miles/20 minutes from downtown Dublin. Luxurious bedrooms and suites decorated in the traditional castle style are also renovated to the highest spec with ISDN lines and in-house entertainment system in all rooms. Wireless broadband Internet access is available in most public areas of hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Castle Killiney
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin Ireland/Killiney, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing