We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Reviewed February 16, 2013

this was a two night break with dinner,the hotel is very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was first class, with lovely fresh produce. Our room was very warm as indeed was the lounge, and the seats were very well placed that people had maximum privacy.
The pool area was great and well kept.
The staff were on hand at all times without being in your face.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeannie27lifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
There are newer reviews for Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

974 - 980 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the welcoming arrival at reception we sensed that we had chosen well for a short break. Lovely decor, friendly staff, good service all round. Enjoyed a great meal in the hotel bistro on one evening. Breakfast is buffet style and very good quality. We had a very large bedroom with two double beds, couch, chair, table and TV. Nearby Dalkey, about 15 minutes walk, is really pretty. Small independent shops give it a homely village feel and there are several wonderful pubs. A good walk to Dun Laoghaire, about 45 minutes away and back by DART train.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kev6409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently had a family bereavement and had to stay in this hotel, the staff were exceptionally helpful and most attentive, we were provided with the finest of rooms and the meals were wonderful. I would like to say the management and staff provided us with wonderful care and attention during our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your very nice review on Tripadvisor.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in January and have normally stayed in the city centre but will definatley make the trip out of town again. The hotel was situated in a beautiful location in a quaint village just 20 mins on the dart from Dublin centre which was about 5Euro return. The rooms were very spacious and clean and warm. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was very opulent and the full cooked breakfast went down well. The restaurant downstairs in the hotel was small but very pleasant and the Matire d' was extremely professional. My husband was pleasantly surprised by the black pepper added to his gin and cucumber. the food was excellent and the atmosphere good but you need to book well in advance to get your required time. There are excellent award winning restaurants in the village also so you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book the restaurant in good time
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deemccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

After reading about this place on the internet I knew that it was more like a hotel than an authentic castle. However don't let that deter you. This place is wonderful! The staff were exceptional...very helpful, friendly and accommodating. They really made sure you were taken care of. For example, my in-laws were having a minor issue with the heat in their room. The maintenance crew were immediately up there fixing the problem which took no time at all. Also we had to return our rental car back to the airport on our last day and we were concerned with the toll road (M50) which has no toll booth. We asked the gentleman at the front desk how one pays this toll and replied "We can take care of this right here for you, no problem." It was one last thing we didn't have to worry about before departing.

We ate breakfast at PJs restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was excellent! We ate here both mornings.

We took a hike on the grounds behind the hotel where there are great views of the sea. Also during our stay here we also ventured to downtown Dublin by train. The train station is located about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. If you decide to do this, just note that the walk there is easier than the walk back as the train station is downhill from the hotel. Also the trains stop running after midnight. However riding the rails is a very cheap alternative than taking a taxi.

This place is a great option for anyone who prefers accommodations outside of downtown Dublin. As we had a rental car we did not want to drive downtown and we are very glad we didn't. Downtown Dublin is a very busy place! The hotel can be easily reached from the motorway and we found it fairly easy to get back to the airport. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our team very friendly.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice hotel but does not have the feel of a castle. Rooms are well appointed but upon check-in found that the toilet was out of order. A call to the front desk bought the maintenance ,an and it was sorted out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to Killiney.

Kind Regards,
Nicky Logue
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well as my heading would suggest we found the hotel maintained very high standards and any niggling difficulty was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The rooms are quiet and spacious with very comfortable beds and loads of pillows, great views over Dublin city and bay if you book the right side. The food was lovely and it seems to be a popular hotel with the local community as the lobby/lounge area was always buzzing with people. Nice to have a pool for that early morning dip.
The Air coach travels to the hotel straight from the airport for €9 as opposed to a €50 taxi fare and takes less than an hour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bachus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killiney
1.8 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,101 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,034 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
12.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,073 reviews
1.7 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin

Address: Killiney Hill Road, Killiney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Killiney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Price Range: $144 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzpatrick Castle Dublin is the epitome of the elegance and charm of the south Dublin coast. The only hotel located in the fashionable suburbs of Killiney and Dalkey, overlooking Dublin Bay. Fitzpatrick Castle is only 9 miles/20 minutes from downtown Dublin. Luxurious bedrooms and suites decorated in the traditional castle style are also renovated to the highest spec with ISDN lines and in-house entertainment system in all rooms. Wireless broadband Internet access is available in most public areas of hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Castle Killiney
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin Ireland/Killiney, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing