We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilton Hotel Bray
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$179
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$103
$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenview Hotel(Glen Of The Downs)
$196
$190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin(Killiney)(Great Value!)
$129
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveler rating
149
161
101
47
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
161
101
47
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa large family roomself servicelovely hotelbar foodenjoyable staytea and coffeeporridgehot foodfirst morningtown centrean overnight staystayed here for one nightnet curtainsdouble bedreception stafflast weekendreception area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 485 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was alright. We booked in and walked to the lift to find our room. All ok but a huge smell of fried food and cooking as we were walking through diners to get to the lift. And the smell of it really lingered in the lift which wasn't nice.

Our room was quite big with a view of other roofs and a side view of a small dilapidated courtyard with an unused, broken looking fountain. We had to ring down to ask for more towels as there was only one set. We were told that they were being washed (?!) and they would bring another set. When two more sets arrived I asked the lady if she could bring some more shower gel as there was only one bottle - and it was firmly attached to the wall by the sink so not much use as I wanted to have a leisurely bath. She said that she would get some straight away but it never materialised so I ended up using the half filled bottle of shampoo which was by the bath (but not attached to the wall!)

We didn't eat there (quite frankly the smell of fried food had put me off) but had breakfast the following morning. That was ok but there was no fresh fruit and the tinned pears were rock hard!! The cooked food was good and plentiful and the bread was nice.

We had hovered around for a couple of minutes when we got to the dining room but no one came to us so we just sat down and helped ourselves. We weren't asked for a room number at any time so we could quite easily just have wandered in from the street!

I believe that this hotel has changed hands several times over the years and it just seems a bit tired and neglected as if no one can be bothered. To be fair both receptionists that we spoke to were lovely but it just feels as though the whole place needs a good shake up and sort out. With a little more attention to detail this could be a great hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go-gags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Hello, thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Wilton Hotel. The current owners are the same owners that built the hotel in 1999 the hotel was franchised with a hotel brand but the ownership has remained the same throughout. I note your comments on the courtyard after the winter it probably does need an uplift so thank you on your feedback for that, we always have a selection of fresh fruit on the breakfast buffet so will check why there may not have been any available.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Wilton Hotel
Bray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We are here for two nights. To say the least it's a disappointment!!
To start from the beginning there was only one staff member on the reception & we waited 10 minutes to be dealt with.
After arriving to the room. We are in a king room. There is a tiny telly at the far side from the bed. The room is quite big so a pair of binoculars is needed to see the telly from the bed. There are no little bars of soap,shower cap etc in the bathroom. We also saw in the hotel itinary that a mini fridge was available upon request, when we rang down for it, we were abruptly told that we couldn't have it as it needed to be requested.
The telly is acting up & has audio subtitles on, which none of the staff seem to know how to turn off!!!
Also we had the do not disturb sign up, only to have the house keeping come in to clean the room.
Enough said!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hello we are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. I understand that whilst the mini fridge was not available immediately it was delivered on the 2nd day of you stay and it was delivering the fridge that house keeping did knock on the do not disturb. A small compensation was made to you on departure as a token of our apology for any inconvenience you felt during your stay, we did try to assist as much as possible and our apologies that you still felt disappointed. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you wish to discuss it further.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Wilton Hotel
Bray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here on a coach holiday to Dublin, Lynns Travel of Eastbourne (highly recommended)and they could not have picked a better hotel, the staff were friendly,the rooms were clean and the food was delicious and plentiful.Not far from Dublin Bray is a pleasant town with plenty of shops and a promenade and also the DART train into Dublin along the coast, all in all it was a very pleasant stay, Would we go there again YES.

Room Tip: not really applicaple only two floors up and all floors are serviced by a lift
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susannahanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your great review on your recent stay at the Wilton Hotel Bray. We are delighted you enjoyed your 4 day stay, your group were a pleasure to have and I am really pleased you all enjoyed our location, friendly staff and great dining.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Wilton Hotel
Bray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at the hotel recently and have to say the Hotel is a beautiful hotel to stay in Bray. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the food ( be it breakfast lunch or dinner ) is top class. Easily matching most of the 4 star hotels around. The staff are always friendly and polite and cannot do enough to make your stay that bit more comfortable. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The Family rooms on the new section of the Hotel are very big and comfortable. Just what we were looking for and recommended.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArchieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Wilton Hotel especially your dining experiences and our friendly staff. We certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Wilton Hotel
Bray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very Friendly and courteous staff nothing is too much trouble
Great selection on menus something for all tastes and ages
always a very pleasurable stay staff go beyond the call of duty
Great location and good value for money
I would highly recommend it to anyone only half hour drive from Dublin city centre

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zialvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your review on your recent stay I am really pleased you enjoyed the services of our friendly staff. great dining and convenient location. Thank you for the recommendation I hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Wilton Hotel
Bray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews