We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mc connoran family ,will be back,”
Review of Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Reviewed August 14, 2012

myself my wife and 3 kids are just back from bray,we stayed in 3 hotels on the strand,and when we return for a longer stay,the strand hotel is the spot,the family were great,the food is great,its just got that nice family vibe,,kids loved it,lovely old charn,nice old lady and gent,family pics on the walls ,the only thing was the kids kep saying theres no wifi dad,i was hapy,kep up the good work,

Room Tip: family room looking out over the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kenneth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2007

A very convenient location and pleasant owners. But, were we alone in having problems with the toilet?? What a "waste" of water! so many repeated flushes required. It's a problem I have never encountered before.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank agoodcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed at this B& B for two nights very recently.
After reading the reviews I was slightly disappointed and would probably not stay here again.

On arrival the room we had been offered was occupied and we were 'upgraded' to a family room which made me laugh. The double bed was more a piece of foam than a mattress and I would advise anyone who has a bad back to think twice about this room in particular.
Despite this the sheets smelt and looked fresh, but were very dated and quite worn in places.
Also one of the towels we had to use was also worn and had a large hole in ... (conveniently located for males!). The 'large' irish breakfast was also a bit of a small affair so if you have a big appetite I suggest you fill up on the cereal!

I would like to see the owners update the furniture and decor a bit like they have in the private areas of the hotel which were visable to the public.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ems1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
211
Reviewed June 1, 2006

Really lovely and homly hotel. If you want Jurys or Raddission head into Dublin. This Hotel is in a class of its own. Family run and ever so helpful and friendly. Excellent Breakfast and great food in bar served daily. Right on seafront in bray and is close to dart and buses. Will be there again soon.

Stayed: May 2006
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

What can i say?, I had a fantastic time staying at this olde world style hotel located on the seafront in Bray. The hotel was originally a large house belonging to Oscar Wildes father, William, and is now owned by the Fitzsimons family, who offer a friendly personal service to all who visit.

Great irish breakfast served up and the bar downstairs offers a carvery during the day.

Some great restaurant and pubs located close by, one definitely worth visiting is the Porterhouse.

Powerscourt & Enniskerry are only 15 minutes drive from bray, with Glendalough and the beautiful sally gap about 30 minutes drive. A great place to base yourself if you want to tour Wicklow and still be only an hour from Dublin. The family are golf fanatics and will point you towards some great courses too.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Alanwexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2004

This family run hotel has a friendly athmosphere. The staff done everything to make our stay a relaxing one. The hotel is on the seafront and the room had a fantastic view. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JustinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
6.8 mi away
The Martello Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
5.8 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
631 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,076 reviews
7.3 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel

Address: | Sea Front, Bray, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range: $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Hotel has recently been taken over by new management. We would like to warmly welcome both old and new customers to our new venture. The Strand Hotel is uniquely situated on the seafront. The rooms offer panoramic views of the promenade, sea and Bray Head. The Strand Lounge serves food daily from 12.30Pm and caters for functions. Built in 1850 it has an 'olde world' feel but with modern facilities. The hotel is within walking distance from the town centre and close to the entertainment facilities. You will received a warm welcome from this family run hotel ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Bray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing