We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no frills, no fuss - good 3* hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“no frills, no fuss - good 3* hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at the Esplanade Hotel Bray in late May. Booked through the supervalue sale price @ €27.50 per night bed and breakfast. At that price I couldn't complain. Check in was fast and efficient with a smile from a lovely young girl. Room wasn't seaview - didn't expect it and wasn't bothered. Had fine bed and lovely bathroom - slept like a log. Breakfast was self service, eat and drink all you like and excellent choice - and a complimentary newspaper thrown in. Not the Ritz but good standard 3*. Staff very helpful. Not into music or noise so bar was just ideal, nice and quiet. Overall a most enjoyable week-end.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtimer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lovely hotel.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Esplanade Hotel
Bray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    141
    126
    85
    104
See reviews for
177
218
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in the hotel a few weeks ago - Sorry for not writing review sooner.
We had a great time. I was looking forward to meeting Barry.... Would it be the great Barry, or the bad Barry (according to the reviews)? Is there two Barrys? Well I have to say we had the wonderful Barry.!
We will be back for another break. Staff and hotel were great. But do we stay in a seaview room or the extension?
Keep up the good work Barry!! See you later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello thank you for adding your review I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Esplanade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights with a SuperValu deal. The hotel is nice and homely but is in need of refurbishment and more attention to cleaning.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar the first night and both ordered steak, one well done and the other medium-rare. Both steaks were cooked well done, I brought it to the attention of the waitress but also told her that it was very tasty and I was happy to eat it. I then asked if the brownie was made in house and enquired about the ingredients as I have an allergy. She assured me that the brownies were made in house and would check with the chef re the ingredients. She came back to tell me that the chef had read the box and that the brownies would not be suitable. The box….of the brownies made in house……! We had dinner in the restaurant the last night, there was a tour staying in the hotel dining at the same time, we were given the same menu as the tour which I found to be very basic, the portions were quite small and the dining room was very crowded with tables very close together.

We had breakfast in the hotel every morning; it was hot and well-cooked buffet and was kept well stocked throughout the morning. There was a good selection of bread and good supply of pastries along with a good selection of juices.

For the price we paid it was good value and the location is wonderful. We had a room with a bay window overlooking the sea which was really nice and a Queen size bed which was very comfortable. I would stay here again but I don’t think I’d be willing to pay the hotel’s full prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Esplanade Hotel Bray on one of our value breaks with Supervalu, I am pleased you enjoyed the food, comfortable accommodation and friendly staff we always have a selection of great value offers so hopefully we will see you back on one again.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Esplanade Hotel
Bray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youghal, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night recently.The bedrooms are scattered on different levels and very hard to find.In general the rooms are a bit dated,but they are clean and warm.The food here was piping hot and service was excellent,despite the fact that there were only two staff on duty.Food was of a high quality,as was the self service breakfast next morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, the original building being Victorian does mean as you describe the rooms are scattered but we like to think that's part of the charm. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Esplanade Hotel
Bray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed bank holiday weekend. Have no faults, in fairness its not the ritz but has great character, location and really friendly staff!! We got a sea view room, which was beautiful. Its a great location and your not going to spend every second in the hotel so for us it was perfecrt. We will definitly be back.

Room Tip: sea view room fab especially on a sunny day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dub005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Esplanade Hotel we are delighted you enjoyed your stay as you say you just can't beat the seaview on a sunny day. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Esplanade Hotel
Bray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last summer for 2nights with my girlfriend. Upon entering our room which was located at the front of the hotel we were greeted by a man at the window painting the balcony outside our window. In fairness the view was great, however it was awkward looking over the painter shoulder to get a look outside. The inevitable paint fumes had also engulfed the room. Another point of note is that the cherrypicker made alot of noise, this was a feature was a feature throughout our stay. Cherry picker operated until about 6pm the first night and woke us at 7am the next morning. I informed the manager Barry but he told us the works where essential and offered us little other than a sorrowful face. The noise and fumes meant the window had to remain closed throughout. Breakfast was ok, hardly worth 10euro per person tho. Then there was the carpark situation, the carpark got so full it became a problem to get the car OUT of the hotel. This lead to the car getting scrapped against the gable wall of the hotel which caused scratch damage to the car. When i informed the ever useless Barry about this i was told there is nothing he could do. All and all, the hotel is well located and the staff were by and large friendly. However i don't believe the hotel is value for money - the building is old the TV was tiny, the room was very basic and the cherry picker/painter & carpark situation left me with a bad impresson of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed our great location and friendly staff. We did have to carry out external painting last year and our apologies this caused some inconvenience to your stay and interrupted the great seaview from the bedroom, the presence of the cherry picker was very temporary so its very unfortunate. As you can appreciate maintenance and painting are always on going to maintain the hotel to a good standard but we do always endeavour to keep interruption to guest stay and enjoyment to a minimum. If you wish to discuss it further please do not hesitate to ring us directly.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Esplanade Hotel
Bray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bray hotels

klang100
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel is situated on the promenade and from the outside looks old and grand. When you enter you will not disappointed as the high ceiling and the tasteful decor befit the grand look of the outside. However when we arrived to our room we were slightly disappointed we had a room in the extension which is like every other hotel except it is very dated. The hotel room could do with taking down the old wall paper and painting it replacing the old style tv with a flat screen and lift the old faded carpet. However the old style front of house is lovely and it was nice to just sit and look out of the big windows and watch the world go by. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Nice place to stay although a bit pricey for a dated room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klang100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed the charm of the original Victorian building of the hotel, the extension of bedrooms at the rear is a newer and more modern building which some prefer whilst others love the bedrooms in the original building. Our seafront location is great so I am glad you enjoyed this.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Esplanade Hotel
Bray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.2 mi away
The Martello Hotel
0.9 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
7.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bray
Bray Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing