We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Chose this hotel for the free parking, walk to train. pleasant staff - bartender made sure the kitchen stayed open for us with 5 minutes to spare, and that was much appreciated. Right on the beach. Clean room. Older hotel, but nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Esplanade Hotel, Bray I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and our great location. I am glad the staff looked after you well as we try to do to all our guests. Hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Helen o'Reilly
Esplanade Hotel
Bray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 635 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

first night in hotel good welcome
expensive drinks close on sea front
warm room may be to warm
great staff
Great brakfast selection apart from rubbery eggs

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for your review, sorry about the rubbery eggs we will check that out and ensure they are kept fresh. I am pleased you enjoyed our good location.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Esplanade hotel Bray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

staff friendly enough ,but room well under sized seriously needing updating to keep up with other hotels at the same price range ,dirty cutlery and tea pots at breakfast .wont be stopping again plus no heating in room

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifemadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Hello sorry to read your review and find you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to the department heads to get them to address the shortfalls that impacted the qualitity of your stay.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Esplanade Hotel Bray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our nights sleep was only spoilt by the Hen party that lasted until 6am on our corridor. The hotel is a great imposing building with really helpful and friendly staff and clean and comfortable rooms. The car park is round the back but is not secure whihc was a slight worry for our motorbikes. I would definately stay here again as it was resonably prices and an ideal location for visiting Bray.

Room Tip: Aviod the triple rooms on weekends as they attract the hen / stag parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with my elderly parents and had a wonderful and relaxing break. The staff were lovely and extremely helpful. The first night my parents had a problem with the plumbing in their bedroom which we reported in the morning as we were going out. When we returned a couple of hours later they were given the keys to a really beautiful room with fabulous sea views which my parents loved. When we stayed the weather was fabulous and the heating was turned off during the day in the bedrooms, however, my parents (in their 80's) feel the cold so when we phoned reception the heating was immediately turned back on.

Room Tip: I would recommend a non-smoking room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKL894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at end of Jan 2012, we got a great deal of double room, breakfast and dinner for less than €100. When booking I had read on trip advisor about issues people had being near function rooms re noise at night, so when I booked I requested a room away from these. On arrival our room was on the top floor....away from any noise. The staff were polite and friendly, the room was ok, small, but clean and functional.
There were some great bars on the seafront, and we had the dinner in the hotel later that evening which again was fine, waitress was nice and attentive and there were no delays.
When we returned later that night there was a 21st birthday party in full flight so we were glad we got a room away from any noise....not that we noticed any.
Breakfast next day was nice, good choice and tasty food.
Overall quite happy with our stay. It is a 3 star and doesn't profess to be any more than that. We'd happily go again and would love to bring friends along.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenRamadaBray, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Hello and thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Esplanade Hotel, Bray. I am pleased to read you enjoyed and experienced the best in our food accommodation and friendly staff as well as our great and convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Best Western Esplanade Hotel Bray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel New years Eve. Got to the hotel about 7pm and the girl on reception was lovely, so friendly and helpful. Went to our room and it was quiet big, 2 large double beds. window looked out on the carpark but that didnt matter to us. Lovely en-suite bathroom aswell.
We didnt eat in the hotel so i cant make any comment on the food. We came back to the hotel just after midnight and had a few drinks in the residents bar until it shut at 2am. Had a great sleep and no disturbances at all which was great. Would def reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxed friendly hotel to stay in and I cant wait to go back again myself and I will make sure i eat there next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as there may be some noise at front from passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EmerbFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenRamadaBray, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Hello, Thank you for adding your review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay on New Years Eve and enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we do have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and we certainly do recommend you try dinner. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Best Western Esplanade Hotel
Bray.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.2 mi away
The Martello Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
4.1 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
477 reviews
2.9 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
643 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range: $82 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bray
Bray Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing