We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Excellent night manager made our stay over and beyond always available for all my needs
Excellent night manager made our stay over and beyond always available for all my needs
Excellent night manager made our stay over and beyond always available for all my needs
Excellent night manager made our stay over and beyond always available for all my needs
Excellent night manager made our stay over and beyond always available for all my needs

Room Tip: call ashraf
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard N, Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review relating to The royal hotel bray . I have passed on your kind words on to Ashraf. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon. Yours Sincerely Richard Nolan Operations Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

Was in Bray on business for a night- stayed here as the location was ideal for me. Let me start by saying that the staff were very pleasant. Bedroom was a very good size, Bathroom also a very good size with a very powerful shower. Bedroom is in need of some paint and the furniture could also be upgraded. The bed I had could be also replaced - it was defintely the worst bed I have ever been in. Hardly got any sleep that night. I had something to eat in bar that night and it was fine - and the breakfast was a buffet. As I said staff are pleasant and the leisure club was also a bonus.

Room Tip: Check the bed out when you get to your room to ensure that you will be able to get a good night slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OGONTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard N, Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review relating to The royal hotel bray . I have passed on your kind words on to theall the staff .We are currently in the process of
bedroom redecoration ..I have taken on-board the points you have mentioned. I sincerely hope that you will take my comments onboard and allow me the
opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We should have known what we were in for by the state of the grubby furniture in reception.The bedroom carpet had been used as an ironing board. Check opening hours at the Heritage Restaurant which are as changable as the weather. Dont bother eating in Quins/Quinns Bar, they cant decide on the spelling. At least the waiter is religious as he called out to "Jesus" when we asked for clean glasses. Eat your starters quickly as your mains are served at the same time. We ordered medium steaks with fries and mash. We got well done, no mash and when we asked for it we were told theres none but we could have boiled potatoes. Is their masher broken ??? And finally the best part, the dress code !!! Wear your work clothes and you will fit in very well ! You do not even have to wear shoes !! We were joined as we ate by 7 builders in their trackie bottoms and football shirts. The one who wore his vest,track bottoms and socks was SO into hygiene that after he scratched his genitals he smelt his hand !! Plus their language was very colourful, lots of "Fs" and "Cs" to entertain us.
When I tried to complain to the duty manager I was told he would sort it. Nothing was done.
When we checked out two days early the next day the manager appeared to be concerned but it was much to late as our stay was ruined.
This "hotel" is in no way worthy of three stars which is such a pity as it was a good hotel in its day, 30 years ago as agreed by the locals.
Do not waste your money, check out accommodation by the seaside.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shireen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel and found it to be quite lovely. Bray is a beautiful little seaside town outside of Dublin, and we were able to take part in the storytelling festival. But anyway, the hotel staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were nice and comfortable. The only thing is they advertise WiFi throughout the hotel, but turns out it was only in the main lobby and executive suites. That was a downside. Other than that, we had a great time. It was too bad we had to pay to park in the lot outside, but it was only 5 euro a day for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acds24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review relating to The royal hotel bray . I have passed on your kind words on to theall the staff . I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon. Yours Sincerely Richard Nolan Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just want to say I had the best fun weekend in your hotel. Very
clean, good food, great entertainment and the staff were so lovely. I'll be
recommending the Hotel to my friends. Thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolores H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review relating to The royal hotel bray . I have passed on your kind words on to theall the staff . I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon. Yours Sincerely Richard Nolan Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My aunties birthday party brought us back to Bray.
When we booked in the receptionist remembered us and said welcome back (great start)Then the hotel manager Richard stopped and spent ten minutes chatting (hope you enjoyed your Spanish break and yes the band on the Saturday night - The Arbour boys were immense just like you said!).
Off to the bar and another welcome back from Noel and it was like we had never left.
Mary in the Resturant was as always extremely helpful and friendly.
We had four nights at the Royal and it was as good as the first visit.
We will be going back Bray and stopping at The Royal because you carnt beat a place that has genuine people who are willing to put a little effort into making you feel welcome so thank you from me and my family.
P.S. Bernie sorry to here about the Cat.

Room Tip: 252 ill be asking for it next time I go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review relating to The royal hotel bray . I have passed on your kind words on to theall the staff . I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon. Yours Sincerely Richard Nolan Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Sometimes it is unwise to return to a hotel where you had a exceptional stay as it can be difficult to achieve same standard but have to say our second stay was as good as the first.From first arrival nothing was too much trouble,staff accessible and as always very helpful,food fantastic and rooms great.Once again thanks to all for another fantastic stay.Hopefully we might see you next year.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper ask from room away from front although after a while you will not notice traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review relating to The royal hotel bray . I have passed on your kind words on to theall the staff . I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon. Yours Sincerely Richard Nolan Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,070 reviews
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,129 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range: $86 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing