We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,186 results
Traveler rating
166
248
247
240
285
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
248
247
240
285
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort breakenjoyable staygreat weekendboth nightsfood was lovelydart stationsea frontmerrillguinnesswicklow
Filter
Updating list...
836 - 841 of 1,186 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with a large group of disabled colleagues. From the moment we booked in to the Hotel to the moment we checked out we were treated with genuine freindliness and helpfullness. Nothing was too much trouble. The atmosphere in the bar at night was great with staff joining in conversations whilst maintaining quick and efficient service. One young lady worthy of mention would be Yvonne from the bar staff who went out of her way to make sure we had a great time. Any faults we came accross during our visit (all minor) were put right as soon as was humanly possible. The restaurant staff were great as was the food, especially the breakfasts.
Facilities in the Spa and Leisure complex were also excellent, again with friendly and helpful staff.
Overall, our visit to the Bray and Dublin area was enhanced by our stay in the Royal Hotel.

Room Tip: Always ask for a non-smoking room, if possible at the front of the hotel - you can wake up to a scene of a lively, welcoming town.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is from these reviews that we can monitor our standards of service and performance.

I am pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable experience in our hotel. It is always good to get positive feedback from happy customers. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I ve stayed at many places over the years but none quite like this. the staff was over the top kind with us (adults) and the 40 high school kids that were there for football. Food was great, rooms were tight but very comfortable . super close to shops and just a 5 min walk to the ocean and more great places. If yo are looking to stay in your room at all times (like your house) then maybe you need something bigger! but if you are touring around and keeping busy and just need a comfortable place to lay your head and be well taken care of .... this is definately the place!
thanks to the staff

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is from these reviews that we can monitor our standards of performance and service.

I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We were happy to look after your group and we look forward to you next visit to our hotel.

I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and myself were in Bray for a day trip and decided to have a meal at this well known hotel. Very very disappointing. The carvery offered only 3 choices of meat in spite of offering more on the menu. We both chose the roast beef which was very tender. The roast potatoes were only luke warm as were the accompanying cabbage and carrots. The plates though were nicely warmed. I had the warm apple tart for dessert. This came accompanied with ice cream instead of the advertised fresh cream and my husband ordered assorted flavours of ice cream but alas the only one served was vanilla. We then ordered 2 Irish coffees but the barman told us there was no cream available. This was at 3. 30 in the afternoon and Superquinn is about 150 yards away!!! I was shocked to be told that in an hotel the size of the Royal there was no cream. Does no one take cream in coffee???? The service was not good and there were very few people eating in the Carvery area. In fact some folk did eventually leave without eating at all. Would we go back??? No definitely not

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manncurrie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your review on our hotel. It is from these reviews that we are able to monitor our standards of service and performance.

I have spoken to the kitchen and bar staff about your comments. They are all aware of this incident and this type of thing will never happen again.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused and I hope that you change your mind and decide to visit with us again.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is a 3 star hotel and it shows. The price may be right but you get what you pay for. The management are nice however the breakfast waiting staff give the impression they are uninterested in their job.

The carpet is worn however let's not get over excited about it.

The management need to invest in a refurbishment of this hotel as it has huge potential. With an investment in the staff and the premises this hotel could well be worth a visit however at present it's a very average faulty tower scenario.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rootuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. It is from these reviews that we are able to monitor our standards of service and performance.

We have taken your comments on board. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting this hotel for almost forty years. It has become a habit for us to book it on our frequent visits to Bray - not again, though. We have several times promised ourselves this is the last time but now we mean it. We stayed for 5 nights this time.
The room was barely clean, with a broken down bed, bedside and bathroom lights not working and a thick layer of dust on the floor, the furniture and the insides of the wardrobe & drawers had not been cleaned in a long, long time. We asked for another room after one night and if I say that the second room was far better, given it had a view of the back yard and the smells from the kitchens, you get the message.
The only saving grace apart from its location is the first class, pleasant staff. They are clearly overworked, however, and corners being cut due, I think, to lack of staff.
Requests for spa appoinements refused due to lac k of staff.
The hotel caters for large family parties, kids run wild late at night in the common areas and corridors while the adults party in the late night, noisey bar,

Room Tip: Ask for a room NIOT overlooking the Main Street - the noise is deafening round the clock - traffic during the day and boozing loud groups through the night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaireadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. It is from these reviews that we can monitor our standards of service and performance.

I thank you for your compliments on our staff and location. However, your other comments with regards to comfort and cleanliness have been noted and will be investigated in further detail.

We hope that this is not your last visit with us and that you will stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews