We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed here on New Years Eve whilst attending a wedding nearby. It was the most expensive hotel I have stayed in and the poorest. The duvet was stained, had no cover and the lock on the bathroom door was broken. Room was small and view was of the smoking area. The lift seemed unsafe. Hotel car park was full so I had to park on the street. Room service is not 24 hour.

When I returned to my room the toilet was broken and making a lot of noise which meant I could not sleep. My partner called reception and they said they would send someone up to fix it. Half an hour later no one had appeared so I called again and was told maintenance would not be available until the morning. When I complained I was then told someone would come up to fix it now. Staff seemed reluctant to help and unsympathetic while on the phone.

Myself and my partner had booked a double room, however we very quickly discovered the "double" bed was two singles pushed together. There was only two notable areas I could praise of this hotel. The breakfast was nice and when we requested a later check out we were given until 1pm free of charge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is with this feedback that we are able to improve and generate better standards of performance right across the hotel.

We would like to apologies for the negative incidences that you experienced while in the hotel. They are being looked in to, so that we can make sure that they do not happen again.

We were extremely busy over the New Year break and this explains why the car park was full. We operate it on a first come, first serve basis so whoever arrives first receives a spot.

Many hotels do operate a similar system of putting two single beds together to create a double bed. I appreciate that this is not ideal but it is not uncommon, especially on a very busy weekend.

If you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the hotel.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

Lovely bar and close to amenities . Our first room had stains on the pillow and sheets so I asked to be moved. The second room had green mould damp patches around the windows and ripped curtains ! Filthy rooms will never go back. Very diss appointed

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is only through this feedback, that we are able to improve our service and standards of performance.

We are sorry to read that on this occasion, you did not have a satisfactory experience in our hotel. It is our aim always, to make sure that all of our guests have an outstanding experience while staying with us. The issues that you have highlighted have been investigated and addressed and we would like to assure you that they will not be issues for future guests.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

hotel+rooms was clean but needs updatin+most of staff r friendly+helpful but we was there+was in group of 18+most was ill after eatin chicken or fish+was other ppl at reception who complained about food and then found out casino night that we went down 4 had been cancalled+not one person got told it was cacalled+still advertise it was on in hotel we found out at 630pm+then had 80s night on saturday but got told unless u booked meal u was not gettin in so only entertainment was person playin organ

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. It is from this feedback that we can update and improve our quality and standards of service. We are currently in the process of updating our rooms, but as we are a hotel of 130 rooms this is taking some time, but once finished, all of our rooms will be of outstanding quality.

There is a new team of chefs working in the hotel and their food is of the highest quality. I have checked with reception and there has been no complaint of poor food service all weekend or of residents in the hotel being sick.

Unfortunately, our 80's themed Christmas Party Night was full on Saturday and this is why you were not allowed to take part in what was a fantastic party. The entertainment in the bar was of a good standard and the majority of our clients find it most entertaining.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion.

Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

A nice hotel, but no water pressure and a very tired mattress make the experience less than ideal. Most of the staff were friendly...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neuchatel_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is always good for the hotel to receive this feedback so that we can continue to improve our service. We look forward to seeing you back in the hotel shortly.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a murder mystery and I must say the whole experience was wonderful from start to finish,the staff are so friendly and if your looking for a relaxing weekend and a bit of fun give a go at this hotel you will have a ball as I have stayed in quite of hotel's around the world and the staff at this hotel were so friendly and of course the entertainment was excellent

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmy868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you really enjoyed the entertainment.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff and we look forward to seeing you here again, in the not too distant future.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

A group of us stayed in this hotel for the weekend for a murder mystery weekend and must say we had a brilliant time. The staff were very friendly , especially a lovely waitress named Mary who served us our meals all weekend. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable and the food lovely. The murder mystery show was first class and thoroughly entertaining and we will be returning again in the new year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 808Lindyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback. We are glad that you had such a good time during our Murder Mystery weekend.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff. We are delighted that you received such friendly and efficient service as our goal is to always put our customers first.

We are very delighted that you have already planned a return visit in the new year and please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will try my best to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is my second time to stay here. It is a wonderful family hotel and ticked the boxes for everyone!! Kids club is excellent and the people are warm friendly. Easy to get to and loads to go to within a short distance eg. Powerscourt waterfall and Gardens! Dun Laoigre on the Dart, Walk the seafront, if you don't want to eat it there are a great choice of restaurants for all ages, lovely unusual shops etc. Very relaxing break with a 6 and 10 year old. This time my 76 year old mum came with me and she loved it. Good food, clean comfortable room. Really had a full yet relaxing break. Thank you !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your positive feedback which you have offered on our hotel. It is always nice to get such positive feedback from a satisfied customer. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff.

We are a family run hotel and we pride ourselves on our ability to cater for our clientele in the family market. It is great to read that all of your family members had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your kind review.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
627 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,056 reviews
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,089 reviews
2.5 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range: $91 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing