We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,187)
Filter reviews
1,187 results
Traveler rating
166
249
247
240
285
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
249
247
240
285
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort breakenjoyable staygreat weekendboth nightsfood was lovelydart stationsea frontmerrillguinnesswicklow
Filter
Updating list...
935 - 940 of 1,187 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2011

hotel+rooms was clean but needs updatin+most of staff r friendly+helpful but we was there+was in group of 18+most was ill after eatin chicken or fish+was other ppl at reception who complained about food and then found out casino night that we went down 4 had been cancalled+not one person got told it was cacalled+still advertise it was on in hotel we found out at 630pm+then had 80s night on saturday but got told unless u booked meal u was not gettin in so only entertainment was person playin organ

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. It is from this feedback that we can update and improve our quality and standards of service. We are currently in the process of updating our rooms, but as we are a hotel of 130 rooms this is taking some time, but once finished, all of our rooms will be of outstanding quality.

There is a new team of chefs working in the hotel and their food is of the highest quality. I have checked with reception and there has been no complaint of poor food service all weekend or of residents in the hotel being sick.

Unfortunately, our 80's themed Christmas Party Night was full on Saturday and this is why you were not allowed to take part in what was a fantastic party. The entertainment in the bar was of a good standard and the majority of our clients find it most entertaining.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion.

Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

A nice hotel, but no water pressure and a very tired mattress make the experience less than ideal. Most of the staff were friendly...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neuchatel_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is always good for the hotel to receive this feedback so that we can continue to improve our service. We look forward to seeing you back in the hotel shortly.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a murder mystery and I must say the whole experience was wonderful from start to finish,the staff are so friendly and if your looking for a relaxing weekend and a bit of fun give a go at this hotel you will have a ball as I have stayed in quite of hotel's around the world and the staff at this hotel were so friendly and of course the entertainment was excellent

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmy868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you really enjoyed the entertainment.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff and we look forward to seeing you here again, in the not too distant future.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

A group of us stayed in this hotel for the weekend for a murder mystery weekend and must say we had a brilliant time. The staff were very friendly , especially a lovely waitress named Mary who served us our meals all weekend. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable and the food lovely. The murder mystery show was first class and thoroughly entertaining and we will be returning again in the new year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 808Lindyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback. We are glad that you had such a good time during our Murder Mystery weekend.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff. We are delighted that you received such friendly and efficient service as our goal is to always put our customers first.

We are very delighted that you have already planned a return visit in the new year and please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will try my best to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is my second time to stay here. It is a wonderful family hotel and ticked the boxes for everyone!! Kids club is excellent and the people are warm friendly. Easy to get to and loads to go to within a short distance eg. Powerscourt waterfall and Gardens! Dun Laoigre on the Dart, Walk the seafront, if you don't want to eat it there are a great choice of restaurants for all ages, lovely unusual shops etc. Very relaxing break with a 6 and 10 year old. This time my 76 year old mum came with me and she loved it. Good food, clean comfortable room. Really had a full yet relaxing break. Thank you !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your positive feedback which you have offered on our hotel. It is always nice to get such positive feedback from a satisfied customer. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff.

We are a family run hotel and we pride ourselves on our ability to cater for our clientele in the family market. It is great to read that all of your family members had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your kind review.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews