We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Old Rectory(Bray)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodville(Bray)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilton Hotel Bray(Bray)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenview Hotel(Glen Of The Downs)
$120
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveler rating
164
242
243
236
282
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
242
243
236
282
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort breakenjoyable staygreat weekendboth nightsfood was lovelydart stationsea frontmerrillwicklow
Filter
Updating list...
918 - 923 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a murder mystery and I must say the whole experience was wonderful from start to finish,the staff are so friendly and if your looking for a relaxing weekend and a bit of fun give a go at this hotel you will have a ball as I have stayed in quite of hotel's around the world and the staff at this hotel were so friendly and of course the entertainment was excellent

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmy868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you really enjoyed the entertainment.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff and we look forward to seeing you here again, in the not too distant future.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

A group of us stayed in this hotel for the weekend for a murder mystery weekend and must say we had a brilliant time. The staff were very friendly , especially a lovely waitress named Mary who served us our meals all weekend. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable and the food lovely. The murder mystery show was first class and thoroughly entertaining and we will be returning again in the new year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 808Lindyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback. We are glad that you had such a good time during our Murder Mystery weekend.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff. We are delighted that you received such friendly and efficient service as our goal is to always put our customers first.

We are very delighted that you have already planned a return visit in the new year and please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will try my best to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is my second time to stay here. It is a wonderful family hotel and ticked the boxes for everyone!! Kids club is excellent and the people are warm friendly. Easy to get to and loads to go to within a short distance eg. Powerscourt waterfall and Gardens! Dun Laoigre on the Dart, Walk the seafront, if you don't want to eat it there are a great choice of restaurants for all ages, lovely unusual shops etc. Very relaxing break with a 6 and 10 year old. This time my 76 year old mum came with me and she loved it. Good food, clean comfortable room. Really had a full yet relaxing break. Thank you !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your positive feedback which you have offered on our hotel. It is always nice to get such positive feedback from a satisfied customer. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff.

We are a family run hotel and we pride ourselves on our ability to cater for our clientele in the family market. It is great to read that all of your family members had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your kind review.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We had to move rooms as the "non smoking" room was stinking of smoke and also there were road works outside going on into the night, single glazed windows don't keep out much noise.. The replacement room was much nicer but smaller, no complaints with it at all..
The health suite was modern but noisy due to the kids club using it at the same time we were in.
Food was ok, much like a home cooked meal.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful, they are to be commended, although I do have sympathy for them, they seem to spend a lot of time apologising for things.
Overall the hotel is OK.
Using only photos of the refurbishments, new leisure facilities and newly built rooms as a way to get people into the hotel is in my opinion a little misleading but hey we had the opportunity like everyone else to do our research.
I would not recommend the hotel to friends or family but would do so if someone wanted a cheap and cheerful hotel with room for the family and they weren't bothered about any of the things I've mentioned above..

Room Tip: ask for one of the new executive rooms or don't go..sorry
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiky_fly_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel. It is always nice to get feedback so that we can continue to try and improve are quality and standards of service.

Firstly, thank you kindly for the generous praise that you have offered to our staff. I will be sure to pass it on to them.

The reason for so many children being around the pool area was due to the mid-term holidays that the schools were having at the time of your stay. We are a family run hotel and we pride ourselves on this. We always welcome families to stay during any time of the year, but we can become especially busy during school holidays.

The photos which we use on our website are of course of our newer rooms and of our newly refurbished Merrill Leisure club. We are using these photos to showcase the best which our hotel has to offer. However, this refurbishment is an on-going process and we hope to soon have all of our rooms up to an executive standard.

If you would like to contact me directly to discuss your issues further please do not hesitate to do so and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

loveley friendly staff and a nice warm welcome and a nice meal all weekend

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supercarra23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher O, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback.

It is always nice to get positive feedback and I will be sure to pass it on to all of our staff.


Kind Regards,

The Royal Hotel & Merrill leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews