We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place of legends”
Review of The Harbour Bar

The Harbour Bar
Ranked #1 of 6 Nightlife in Bray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the official page of The Harbour Bar, one of Bray's best loved pubs.Voted as one of the Lonely Planet's best bars in the world this is a gem located right beside the boxing club where Katie Taylor trains, often calling in to use the facilities.This is one of Bray's top spots for live music with traditional and acoustic sessions in the bar every Wednesday - Sunday and live bands in the lounge every Thursday - Sunday.The iconic Harbour Bar in Bray, Co Wicklow, is famous for attracting a glittering clientele and its visitors' book is a who's who of famous names down through the decades.The Harbour Bar is open daily.
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The place of legends”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Always has been and still is one of the best pubs in the world. I hope it never really changes as these sort of venues are in big decline. Great relaxed atmosphere, fantastic decor and great live music.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    52
    5
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Trip down memory lane”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

On a recent trip to Bray we met up with a group of friends from our glory days in the 60's and 70's..the Harbour Bar was our place. Kudos to Connor Duggan and his team for the loving care they are taking with the restoration..it still feels like home only better. The O'Toole touches are very nicely done, particularly the etching of Paul on the front window!
An historic landmark for Bray and all the Harbour heads..good luck for the future

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SCrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best pub in the world!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Strange as it might sound, I bought my house in Bray because of this pub. It's packed to the rafters with film memorabilia, it's quirky and shabby and just fantastic.

Helpful?
5 Thank Eleanor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Tale of Two Pubs”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I got to stay in Bray for a week and discovered this spot. What a fascinating amazing place. It’s so different from the usual run of the mill boozers. They have 3 general areas. I like the old bar the best, but they have an old style snug and a back lounge where bands play and it’s for free. There is a huge mouse head that Peter O’Toole gave the bar hanging in the back. Plus a great beer garden. The locals are super friendly. Very eclectic vibe to the place. (although the toilets could do with a better clean)

I went down there over a few nights. Now here’s where it gets quirky. Night one, is run by a manager called Colin. I chatted with him, very nice capable chap who gave some great background on the history of the bar. Some of the locals explained that he’s the guy that actually keeps the ship afloat. he obviously cared about the place.From what I saw, the bar was clean, efficiently run, beer was good, staff friendly and welcoming. The locals explained that if I wanted to see some Fawlty Tower moments come back tomorrow. What could possibly be different on night two I wondered?!?

I arrived down on Wednesday night. Boy they weren't kidding. The place was a mess. Empty glasses everywhere, dirt on the floor, an old grumpy guy behind the bar with an unlit cigarette hanging out of his mouth. He didn't seem to have any of the beer I was looking for, took my money muttering to himself and threw my cash into a till without even ringing it up. I was shocked to learn he was one of the owners. He didn't seem to give a hoot about the place. Not long after, a younger somewhat overweight guy turned up, who proceeded to bar some guy next to me for some inexplicable reason. The locals said he was the son of the owner. He seemed to like bsing the customers rather than doing any of the work. If he likes you you’d get a free pint I was told. I was out of luck on that front. He managed to brake two mops while cleaning the toilet and then using the same mop to clean up a spill behind the bar. Disgusting.

I went back on Thursday and it was like I was in a different pub again. Place was clean and well run. One of the older locals explained that the place used to be run by the other owner who had passed away, but the current owner and his son had no idea how to actually run a pub. And hilariously the whole town knew it. They turn up and open the doors - appeared to be about the extent of it.

But don’t let that distract you from checking out this pub. It’s still worth the visit. Just ask what night Colin the manager is on!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the oldest and most interesting pubs in Bray. There is usually a good atmosphere and friendly reception and the food is good too. There are lots of interesting photos and memorabilia on the walls to peruse of Bray in times past, almost like a local museum

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank StillorganSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Bar also viewed

Bray, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Harbour Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing