We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, start to finish!”
Review of Tower Bistro

Tower Bistro
Ranked #16 of 84 Restaurants in Bray
Price range: $19 - $28
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tower Bistro is one of Wicklow's top restaurants. Situated in The Martello Hotelon Bray seafront, Tower Bistro serves top class dishes all created by head chefKarl Clarke.With a diverse set menu available 7 days a week, Tower Bistro offers a uniquedining experience with the highest quality of locally sourced produce.
Arroyo de la Miel, Spain
Level Contributor
202 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Delicious food, start to finish!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great service, good knowledge about what is available, what ingredients that are in dishes, nothing was too much hassle. Views are wonderful. The presentation, even with a lunch time special shows the chefs care about their job.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ccrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at Tower Bistro, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
ccrystal, thank you for taking your time to post a review about your experience of dining in the Tower Bistro.

We take great pride in our customer service and knowledge of the dishes on our menu.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Regards,
Rachel
Tower Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    24
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bray, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely food”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Visited the tower bistro for the first time since the menu and decor has changed, the evening had a lovely atmosphere and the food was beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful. I will be recommending the restaurant to friends and family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sab lou f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at Tower Bistro, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi sab lou f,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to Tower Bistro!

I am pleased to hear you found the new decor to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed the meal you had.

Looking forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future :-)

Regards,
Rachel
Tower Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

the new look bistro if fab great atmosphere also the new food menu is great plenty to choose from and hard to decide will have to go back soon to sample some more.
The ham hock was beautiful and presented so well will tiny pot of dijon mustard,and the rack of lamb mains again fantastic melt in the mouth cooked perfectely.
highly recommend great value for money,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lion533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at Tower Bistro, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent visit to Tower Bistro. All of your comments will be passed on to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to try some more of the new menu!
Regards,
Tower Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No attention to detail”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Visited the Martello today for some afternoon Sunday lunch.
The place is really busy and buzzing which is great to see - but I found that the level of attention to detail was very poor.
To start off we were seated in a conservatory area upstairs with views onto the beach. Fantastic views but ruined by dirty windows. The curtain we were sitting beside was also very dirty.
When my drink arrived - the glass had lipstick from another customer on it. It was replaced upon request but such slip ups should never happen - we almost wanted to leave at that point.
I ordered scampi and my friend ordered grilled salmon - both were extremely bland lacking any sort of flavour. The only thing we finished were the chips.
I found the set up of the place really nice and the staff courteous and attending, but those little things really ruined the whole experience for us.

We'd love to be back if it will improve in future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pancakes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at Tower Bistro, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent visit to Tower Bistro. We regret your experience with us and hope that you will return to experience a more enjoyable time in the bistro in the near future.

Regards,
Tower Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had the most wonderful meal here on Sat 12th Jan. Staff were incredible (Donal, Adam, Mark were extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with). Service was excpetional, the food abosultely delicious - we didn't have high expectations given that the package we got for the night stay, breakfast and dinner was so reasonable - however our food was impeccable. I've eaten in high end eateries/restaurants around the country and the food at the Martello Towers Bistro definitely would give them a run for their money!!! Friendly receptionist (Laura). I would be happy to recommend this restaurant to people.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank asohiefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at Tower Bistro, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent experience of Tower Bistro. We are thrilled to receive such positive comments in regard to our staff and the Bistro itself! You may have noticed it has been recently refurbished to all feedback is great to receive.

Kindest Regards,
Tower Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower Bistro also viewed

Bray, County Wicklow
Bray, County Wicklow
 
Bray, County Wicklow
 

Been to Tower Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing