We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great budget hotel”
Review of The Martello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Martello Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great budget hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

stayed one night with husband daughter and 5yr old grandson, had an apartment which was excellent for a family and great value.Had dinner which was also great value staff were great and very helpful.Breakfast was freshly cooked with great variety( would recomend the eggs benidict). Will definitly be back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keno44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I have passed all your comments onto our management team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    164
    62
    21
    30
See reviews for
101
155
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

i stayed at your hotel over a week ago have to say wat a spot,your right in the heart of everything rooms were lovely wat we saw of them,,the koo night club was very good and i loved the beer garden,only had 1 complaint your night porter serving in the residents bar(chinese guy) had no manners he didnt want to be there and you could tell,but everything else was fantastic and im def comming back!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you for your review. Apologies for your comment on the nightporter I have passed the details onto the general manager and he is looking into this. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay otherwise and are thinking of returning, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

First let me say we did not stay at the Martello. My daughter's wedding reception was held here and my review is ONLY for the restaurant.
The staff, especially Christine and Donal, went above and beyond in helping to organise and carry off this wedding reception, or "the afters" as the Irish refer to it.
Before the dinner, everyone gathered in the beautiful glassed-in sun room for cocktails and visiting.
The room where the dinner/dance was held is a very tasteful grey,with pink wall sconces, a lovely fireplace and attractive bar, as well as tall windows featuring a view of the sea front.. Wedding guests dined on a mixed leaf salad with feta cheese, olives and pesto or homemade vegetable soup; braised lamb shank with a red wine and rosemary jus or breast of free range chicken with a morel sauce.
There were several "foodies" in attendance and the food received rave reviews.
The staff were definitely on top of things and the service was excellent.
We could not have been more pleased.
We liked it so much, we came back the next day to have brunch in the sun room. This restaurant also makes the best cup of coffee in Ireland!
Kudos and a big "thank you" to the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is always great to hear good feedback. I will pass all of your comments onto the management and staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future.


Regards
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

second time to stay this year with a family group. for the price you get really good service and very cheerful staff who cant do enough for you. there was a slight hitch with our room which was sorted promptly and as a gesture they offered our group free breakfast which was a very nice touch. seaview rooms are by far the best and such good value for money. overall - great food, staff, beer garden, location. will definately be staying again. great for groups - maybe not so great for families with younger children due to the noise from the beer garden.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments onto our staff. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Booked to stay in the apartments here in January 2010 with my girlfriend, one year old son and extended family. We booked the apartments thinking it would be more suitable for having a child running around - how wrong were we?

On arrival, reception was more like a hallway than a reception. When being guided to our room by the receptionist we were taken through dirty hallways with dirty laundry lying everywhere. Store room was lying open and was full of rubbish. The walls were mouldy and smelt of damp. The room wasn't much better. Once the door was opened the smell of stale smoke was obvious. Two of the four beds were in the living area. A magnifying glass was needed to watch the small portable TV. The DART line run right alongside the hotel and the noise was unacceptable with a one year old staying in the room.

When we left the room to go collect our luggage at the car we exited via the side door. Bins full of rubbish were lying everywhere and a Chinese worker was smoking in the hallway. Needless to say we never returned. One of the party returned to reception and told them that this was not the same hotel that we seen on the website and we would be leaving. Luckily we had paid no depoist and swiftly relocated to the excellent Royal Hotel which was much nicer and a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellmullers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2010
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience here at The Martello Hotel. The time at which you arrived must of been during house keeping hours which I am sure you can understand there would be some cleaning being carried out at these times. We have had complaints in the past about the smell of stale smoke and we have now allocated non-smoking rooms to eliminate this problem. The dartline does run to the back of the apartments but this would be a benefit to some customers as it is so close to our premises.

We are disappointed to receive these comments, however we are working hard to improve our services.

Regards
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed in the Martello Last week in June 2010. The atmosphere was great, they had a carnival night on the Saturday night with fire breathers, snakes and lovely snake charmers.

Definitely recommend it for a night out and some great food with a smile. We sat in the beer garden all night long then we headed into the Koo night club and had Koo burgers afterwards, they gotta be the nicest burgers ever.

We will be back up as soon as we can, hopefully try and get back up for the Summer Fest, Festival which has loads of local talented bands playing in the bandstand right across from The Martello.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDoherty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback. We are glad to hear you had a good experience here in The Martello Hotel. The carnival night was a great success and was enjoyed by all. Keep in touch with us through our website or facebook to be updated about all of our themed nights. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Regards
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We had a brilliant time at the hotel, all the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The bar has a wide range of very good food, as well as live entertainment. I would definitely recommend this hotel and cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biscuit90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2010
Hello, I have shared your comments with all the staff and management. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the food and live entertainment. Thank you for your positive feedbackand we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
1.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
4.3 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
7.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martello Hotel

Property: The Martello Hotel
Address: Heather House Hotel 47 Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Martello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martello Hotel is located on the beautiful seafront in Bray, Co Wicklow and is situated only 5 minutes walk from the local train station. (Dublin city centre/ 02 Arena, Aviva Stadium/ Bord Gais Energy theatre only 40 mins away) The hotel is set in a beautiful Victorian house, which has been tastefully refurbished to create a modern interior with a vibrant atmosphere. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, television, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WIFI.The Martello features the Tower Bistro, Koo nightclub, Martello Bar and an all weather heated beer garden. The Tower Bistro serves European style cuisine while the bar offers a more relaxed dining style. Evenings at The Martello Bar offer music most nights with live musicians. Koo nightclub is open every weekend and is one of Bray’s hotspots attracting a lively and party style atmosphere. The Martello is set in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and has many local excursions on it’s doorstep including golf courses, kayaking, hill walking plus much more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Martello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing