We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable weekend”
Review of The Martello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Martello Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from a most enjoyable weekend at the lovely Martello Tower hotel.
From start to finish we could not fault it.
The rooms were warm, spacious and cosy.
The staff in the restaurant and Reception were very friendly, hardworking and catered for every need.
Menu was varied and food excellent- recommend the Lamb shank.
We'll be back- Martello take a bow.
Tom. Dublin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hi Tom O,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us at The Martello! I will make sure to pass your compliments of the staff in both the restaurant and in reception on to them :-)

Looking forward to seeing you back with us in the future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 613 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

We've seen this Hotel grow over the years and always look forward to our stay.

The location right on the sea front is great and the views from the upstairs conservatory are wonderful.

The staff really work extremely hard and will go out of their way to help you.

We enjoyed one evening meal downstairs in the main bar, it was too cold to eat outside, (the restaurant was fully booked at the time we were wanting to eat) the food delicious, steaks cooked to perfection, and we were also tempted to have a sweet too (just one between us) which was very tasty.

On another evening we just had a snack, but that was massive and well worth the price.

We had a twin room, and although the night club was open each evening we were there, we slept through.

There's plenty of choice at breakfast and the scrambled eggs are so creamy, the best we've ever tasted!

Always look forward to returning, and hope to in the Spring next year.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. It is always lovely when people show their continued support through returning to stay with us. It is clear that you enjoy staying in The Martello for both the location on the seafront and the atmosphere of the place which is helped by the worth ethic of our staff members and the quality of the food served in our restaurants.

We are looking forward to hopefully seeing you again next Spring!

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went back too The Martello exactly 2yrs after the sleepless weekend. They still have a disco fri and sat nights, but since the rooms at the back of the hotel have been done up the noise level was 100% better, so if you do go ask for a room at the back. The bedrooms could do with curtains putting up instead of a thin blind which lets in too much light. Overall the experience 2nd time round was 95% better than 2011. The food at the hotel was a little pricey, but was very good .

Room Tip: Definately ask for a room at back of hotel, especially at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hi Craig,

Thank you for your review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in The Martello Hotel. We do have a nightclub on site which is open Friday - Sunday weekly.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Absolutely love this place stayed a few times and would go back again. The food is excellent both in the hotel and the bar, the staff are always very cheerful and polite they cant do enough for customers. Stayed in early october and was surprised to find the rooms have been upgraded in good taste , the beds are very comfortable and our bathroom was spotless. I have only one bad thing to say about the Martello and that is the Carpets in reception and up the stairway to the bedrooms are a bit smelly, i dont like putting it that way but it is a damp smell otherwise its a great little place and it has all the surroundings too. All in all a great place to stay when in Bray.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riminisue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Hi rimisue_12,

Thank you for your review of The Martello Hotel. We did upgrade the hotel bedrooms and it's lovely to hear your feedback about them. We will look into the issues with the carpets and have it worked on.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

the price was very reasonable, we had a self catering room-lovely view of DART (:-), but had everything we needed. Did need some minor repairs done when we checked in, but staff was very helpful and gracious. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayeffcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Hi Kayeffcee,

Thank you for your review of your stay in The Martello Hotel. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Martello for a weekend. It was an unexpected trip for a family funeral. We had an apartment for the four of us. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the apartment was very clean and tidy with comfortably beds. The tiling around the bath was not brilliant and it could have done with a non-slip mat in the bath for using the shower. The food and service and value was excellent. The only thing that spoilt our stay was the noise coming from a take-away food outlet across the street from the hotel and our apartment window which was still serving customers at 3.30am.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hi Eileen,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in The Martello despite the unexpected nature of it.
Great that you found the service and value to be excellent despite the other issues.
Hopefully we will see you again in the future on a planned visit!

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We are a golf society and were looking for a base in Co Wicklow with the intentioenjoyed the playing two of the many courses in the county
One of our members suggested the Martello hotel Bray as he was a regular visitor to the hotel and said we would not be disappointed
So I phoned the hotel and was talking to Laura who was very friendly and booked 26 of us onto Druids Glen and Powerscourt
Now I have to say the Martello was brilliant in the way that they looked after us, rooms were clean the food was very good although we had to wait a while to be served but given that there were 26 of us it was worth waiting on
The catering manager Donal was very accommodating and professional and of course our lovely waitress Annette looked after us so well and kept us in craic
After we got home to Armagh I received emails and texts saying how much everbody enjoyed the weekend
Thanks again Laura and the Martello

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyfagan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi Tony,

Thank you for your review! It's lovely to hear that you all came to stay with us on the back of a recommendation from one of our customers.
Sounds like you all really had a great time out on the golf courses that Laura booked for you all and dining back in The Martello in the evening time.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,087 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martello Hotel

Address: Heather House Hotel 47 Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range: $91 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Martello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martello Hotel is located on the beautiful seafront in Bray, Co Wicklow and is situated only 5 minutes walk from the local train station. (Dublin city centre/ 02 Arena, Aviva Stadium/ Bord Gais Energy theatre only 40 mins away) The hotel is set in a beautiful Victorian house, which has been tastefully refurbished to create a modern interior with a vibrant atmosphere. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, television, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WIFI.The Martello features the Tower Bistro, Koo nightclub, Martello Bar and an all weather heated beer garden. The Tower Bistro serves European style cuisine while the bar offers a more relaxed dining style. Evenings at The Martello Bar offer music most nights with live musicians. Koo nightclub is open every weekend and is one of Bray’s hotspots attracting a lively and party style atmosphere. The Martello is set in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and has many local excursions on it’s doorstep including golf courses, kayaking, hill walking plus much more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Martello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing