We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Martello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Martello Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hi I recently had a Christmas night at the mortello tower hotel in bray. We stayed in one of the apartments which were excellent for our needs 5 girls sharing. The service the was great the staff were lovely the accommodation was perfect. I forgot my phone charger and within two days they had posted it to my house with no extra costs. Would recommend this hotel for many different reasons well done to all the staff keep up the good work. Thanks sandra

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us in The Martello Hotel. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,
The Martello Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    159
    61
    20
    27
See reviews for
98
148
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in the Martello on the 23rd November 2012, We parked on the street but thankfully no parking fees as it was a Friday evening. The girl at reception was very pleasant and we checked in without any hitches. We asked for a quiet room as we had seen from other reviews that the weekend can be quite noisy thankfully our request was granted I think we got a room at the back of the propery and we had a great sleep.The room was clean,very comfortable if a little compact but the couple we came with and who also checked in with us were disappointed there was no bath but that didn't bother us. Once checked in we went down to the bar and ordered drinks and some food the bar person/waiter (I am sorry I didn't get his name) was so friendly and it just seemed like a lovely place to be on a Friday evening. Our meal was delicious we only had a main as we had a party to go to later - the brie parcels and garlic potatoes were fabulous and my husband enjoyed the gourmet burger and chunky chips. Breakfast was served from 8-12 the following morning in the Bar which was great as we had plenty of time to enjoy a lie in. We couldn't fault the breakfast served, a full irish with a lovely pot of piping hot tea. There were also cereals and fruit juices to choose from. In all we really enjoyed our stay The Martello and we would definitely stay again, The Martello offer good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a quieter location this will mean you won't get a sea view but I was willing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent stay in The Martello Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Regards,
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We checked out of a hotel in Bray and into the Martello as it was recommended tous by a local businessman. The room was very clean and comfortable. The food is very good and it has a varied menu. There are lots of tables outside which overlook the sea and lots have heaters so we braved the weather to relax. The service is excellent. Staff are friendly and efficient. I must mention two by name that were outstanding and they are Kim and Katriona who are an asset to the hotel. We were very happy to stay here and would highly recommend it others.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shireen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent visit to The Martello Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and found the staff to be such an asset to us. Your comments will be passed on to the staff who you have mentioned and all of your comments taken on board. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Martello Hotel next time you are in Bray.

Regards,
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

4th time staying in the Martello, absolutely love it, staff very helpful and pleasant, not one thing we could complain about will Defo be back.
Big improvement in rooms since the refurbishment, Robbie and the manager Ian accommodated all of our needs.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie1311x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent stay in The Martello. We are delighted to see you coming back to stay with us again and that you enjoyed the new rooms! All of your comments will be passed on to the staff members mentioned in your post.

Regards,
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I didn't stay at this hotel but I did have dinner in the Tower Bistro.

It was just after 9.00 p.m. when we arrived, having been told that last service was 9.15. There was nobody else in the restaurant - not too surprising as it was a Monday night. We chose to sit in the newly opened conservatory near the windows. The views were really nice to look out on as we chatted.

The menu is quite extensive and covers all tastes. For starters two of us had deep fried brie, which was nicely wrapped in filo pastry and the consistency of the cheese was perfect. One of the party chose the Liver Pate and it was served in a most attractive little self-seal pot with a good helping of toasted ciabata and compote. She pronounced it delicious.

Mains were fillet steaks and hake. Both were delicious, perfectly cooked and nicely presented. Selections of vegetables completed the dishes. Desserts were pavlova for my two companions and I chose the Toblerone Cheese Cake. The pavlovas were beautifully served - cream topped by strawberries and a large piece of merangue on top. The Cheesecake was decadent and delicous !! Beautifully rich chocolate filling with pieces of Toblerone - I enjoyed every mouthful !! Good quality coffees finished off what was a lovely meal.

The staff were very attentive and pleasant. They checked several times to see if we needed anything and to ascertain that everything was to our satisfacton.

In all, a very pleasant evening with really good food. Prices were also quite reasonable. In the words of Arnie...... I'll be back !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mysteriousmims_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent visit to Tower Bistro. As one of the first customers in the newly renovated Bistro we are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable evening. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro again in the near future.

Regards,
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments in the Martello over the October (Halloween) bank holiday. Very well equipped and clean apartment with a fantastic king size bed in the master bedroom.
Very good value and service.
We go to Bray every year to meet friends and this was, by some distance the most comfortable stay over yet.
Bray seafront and immediate area has a lot attractions and a great nightlife (albeit a bit socially downmarket). However it's well organized and policed and never ceases to entertain us.

Room Tip: Bit of a rabbit warren inside and has the potential to be noisy if you are an early sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ithought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent visit to The Martello Hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay in your apartment! We do have a lively crowd each weekend who attend our night club 'Koo'.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balbriggan, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from our second stay at the Martello in 4months. Fab location for us as a walking group with beautiful walk to Graystones and back on first day and climbed Djouce the second day.
Every one of the staff are very polite, friendly and helpful. Had bar food one night and ate in Tower Bistro the second and both had excellent food and great value for money. If you do not want the noise from the Night Club best to visit mid week.

Room Tip: Self catering apartments are great for small groups but they are beside the railway line which did h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent stay in The Martello Hotel. We are delighted to hear that your second visit was as enjoyable as the first and you thoroughly enjoyed the food on offer in both the Martello bar and Tower Bistro. We are indeed located in a fantastic location for access to the Wicklow mountains and beyond.
Hopefully we will be seeing you again sometime in the near future!
Regards,
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
1.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
7.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martello Hotel

Property: The Martello Hotel
Address: Heather House Hotel 47 Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Martello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martello Hotel is located on the beautiful seafront in Bray, Co Wicklow and is situated only 5 minutes walk from the local train station. (Dublin city centre/ 02 Arena, Aviva Stadium/ Bord Gais Energy theatre only 40 mins away) The hotel is set in a beautiful Victorian house, which has been tastefully refurbished to create a modern interior with a vibrant atmosphere. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, television, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WIFI.The Martello features the Tower Bistro, Koo nightclub, Martello Bar and an all weather heated beer garden. The Tower Bistro serves European style cuisine while the bar offers a more relaxed dining style. Evenings at The Martello Bar offer music most nights with live musicians. Koo nightclub is open every weekend and is one of Bray’s hotspots attracting a lively and party style atmosphere. The Martello is set in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and has many local excursions on it’s doorstep including golf courses, kayaking, hill walking plus much more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Martello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing