We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking.”
Review of The Martello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Martello Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We checked out of a hotel in Bray and into the Martello as it was recommended tous by a local businessman. The room was very clean and comfortable. The food is very good and it has a varied menu. There are lots of tables outside which overlook the sea and lots have heaters so we braved the weather to relax. The service is excellent. Staff are friendly and efficient. I must mention two by name that were outstanding and they are Kim and Katriona who are an asset to the hotel. We were very happy to stay here and would highly recommend it others.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shireen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent visit to The Martello Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and found the staff to be such an asset to us. Your comments will be passed on to the staff who you have mentioned and all of your comments taken on board. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Martello Hotel next time you are in Bray.

Regards,
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for The Martello Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 586 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

4th time staying in the Martello, absolutely love it, staff very helpful and pleasant, not one thing we could complain about will Defo be back.
Big improvement in rooms since the refurbishment, Robbie and the manager Ian accommodated all of our needs.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie1311x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent stay in The Martello. We are delighted to see you coming back to stay with us again and that you enjoyed the new rooms! All of your comments will be passed on to the staff members mentioned in your post.

Regards,
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I didn't stay at this hotel but I did have dinner in the Tower Bistro.

It was just after 9.00 p.m. when we arrived, having been told that last service was 9.15. There was nobody else in the restaurant - not too surprising as it was a Monday night. We chose to sit in the newly opened conservatory near the windows. The views were really nice to look out on as we chatted.

The menu is quite extensive and covers all tastes. For starters two of us had deep fried brie, which was nicely wrapped in filo pastry and the consistency of the cheese was perfect. One of the party chose the Liver Pate and it was served in a most attractive little self-seal pot with a good helping of toasted ciabata and compote. She pronounced it delicious.

Mains were fillet steaks and hake. Both were delicious, perfectly cooked and nicely presented. Selections of vegetables completed the dishes. Desserts were pavlova for my two companions and I chose the Toblerone Cheese Cake. The pavlovas were beautifully served - cream topped by strawberries and a large piece of merangue on top. The Cheesecake was decadent and delicous !! Beautifully rich chocolate filling with pieces of Toblerone - I enjoyed every mouthful !! Good quality coffees finished off what was a lovely meal.

The staff were very attentive and pleasant. They checked several times to see if we needed anything and to ascertain that everything was to our satisfacton.

In all, a very pleasant evening with really good food. Prices were also quite reasonable. In the words of Arnie...... I'll be back !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mysteriousmims_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent visit to Tower Bistro. As one of the first customers in the newly renovated Bistro we are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable evening. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bistro again in the near future.

Regards,
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments in the Martello over the October (Halloween) bank holiday. Very well equipped and clean apartment with a fantastic king size bed in the master bedroom.
Very good value and service.
We go to Bray every year to meet friends and this was, by some distance the most comfortable stay over yet.
Bray seafront and immediate area has a lot attractions and a great nightlife (albeit a bit socially downmarket). However it's well organized and policed and never ceases to entertain us.

Room Tip: Bit of a rabbit warren inside and has the potential to be noisy if you are an early sleeper
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ithought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent visit to The Martello Hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay in your apartment! We do have a lively crowd each weekend who attend our night club 'Koo'.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from our second stay at the Martello in 4months. Fab location for us as a walking group with beautiful walk to Graystones and back on first day and climbed Djouce the second day.
Every one of the staff are very polite, friendly and helpful. Had bar food one night and ate in Tower Bistro the second and both had excellent food and great value for money. If you do not want the noise from the Night Club best to visit mid week.

Room Tip: Self catering apartments are great for small groups but they are beside the railway line which did h...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent stay in The Martello Hotel. We are delighted to hear that your second visit was as enjoyable as the first and you thoroughly enjoyed the food on offer in both the Martello bar and Tower Bistro. We are indeed located in a fantastic location for access to the Wicklow mountains and beyond.
Hopefully we will be seeing you again sometime in the near future!
Regards,
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed a saturday night in October, just as a couple.

Great location on Bray seafront. Well maintained and staff friendly and helpful.

Room layout in hotel is a bit higgledy-piggledy but I guess that is the consequence of a hotel that has expanded over time. But the room was well decorated and cozy, compact but not too small, huge bed, tea & coffee provided. Bathroom impeccably clean and well maintained. Located at side of hotel, so not a great view, but was a bit away from nightclub as we had heard it does get noisy and asked for a room away from the front.

Could hear the night club when we went to bed, but as we had been up late at a friend's birthday bash, it didn't bother us.

We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on food, but on passing through the bistro, the food looked good.

Nice function room with view over bay.

Room Tip: For a quiet night when nightclub is open, ask for room towards rear of hotel. Be aware there is a ni...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at The Martello Hotel. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay in Bray and appreciated our location along the promenade and views over the sea.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards,
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a great time here. The room is fantastic, with a separate room for the kids (we had a party of 4) and a kitchen area. The restaurant was excellent and breakfast was very good. The staff was very friendly, and we were able to check in very early (around 1000) which was great since we got off the train so early.

Room Tip: The 'Apartments' have an extra room and kitchen, which is not apparent on some travel sites.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAVM182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us here in The Martello hotel. We do indeed have self catering apartments which are great as they have a separate bedroom and living dining area which can also be used as a second bedroom to cater for larger parties.

Regards,
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,048 reviews
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,072 reviews
19.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martello Hotel

Address: Heather House Hotel 47 Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range: $104 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Martello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martello Hotel is located on the beautiful seafront in Bray, Co Wicklow and is situated only 5 minutes walk from the local train station. (Dublin city centre/ 02 Arena, Aviva Stadium/ Bord Gais Energy theatre only 40 mins away) The hotel is set in a beautiful Victorian house, which has been tastefully refurbished to create a modern interior with a vibrant atmosphere. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, television, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WIFI.The Martello features the Tower Bistro, Koo nightclub, Martello Bar and an all weather heated beer garden. The Tower Bistro serves European style cuisine while the bar offers a more relaxed dining style. Evenings at The Martello Bar offer music most nights with live musicians. Koo nightclub is open every weekend and is one of Bray’s hotspots attracting a lively and party style atmosphere. The Martello is set in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and has many local excursions on it’s doorstep including golf courses, kayaking, hill walking plus much more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Martello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing