We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We definately backed a winner”
Review of The Martello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Martello Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Last weekend saw me & 18 other men take our annual trip to Ireland from Liverpool.

This is the 8th year running we have stayed at the hotel & it never disappoints us. Special mention has to go to Donal who whetherit be first thing in themorning or last thing at night, nothing was a problem & all done with a smile.

I would certainally recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to stay in the Bray area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liamlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Owner at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Hello,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 613 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

Have been to The Martello on numerous occasions due to the fact we loved our stay. The accomodation is lovely - can find no faults. Although it is set in a quiet location me & my friend still found lots do to the town in 5 minutes walk, they have a nightcub on site which you can hear no noise from when staying in the hotel. The staff & food is 5 star, they made our stay more enjoyable. Would definetly recommend this to anyone that is wanting to go to Ireland. Loved it!

Room Tip: Dont go by the bad reviews, the prices are reasonable therefore you are not paying for a penthouse s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheska R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Owner at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Hello,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We had a lovely stay in Martello Aug 2011. The rooms are comfortable but need to be upgraded. Staff are the friendliest ever and the food is 5 star for choice and quality. The canopy area outside is the best use of space with clever placing of patio heaters. It is such a shame that it is not just to protect against Irish bad summers but to faclitate smokers. Tip !
If you fancy sitting outdoors on a weekend night and you are not a smoker Do not sit up the front as you will be surrounded all night by Smokers taking smoking breaks from the nightclub.
This particular practice runied our last meal there.

Room Tip: Smokers are given priority with the whole of front given to them. If you are in the front and you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Hello and thank you for adding your review. We are glad to hear you had a lovely stay. We are currently in the process of renovating our bedrooms. Unfortunately the outdoor area is for both smokers & non smokers so does not suit everyone. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We visited Bray last weekend and while we stayed at the lovely Esplanade Hotel, we visited the Martello hotel just up the road for food and enjoyed the brilliant atmosphere. Our two sons, 18 and 22 loved The Martello, live band, great food at reasonable prices and a brilliant outdoor area with ample seating, heaters and shades on the seafront. The staff were great and very friendly. When you visit Bray, The Mortello is the spot for a great night out.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carrigfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience here and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Without there being any real accommodation options in Greystones, we had to look elsewhere and decided to stay in Bray at The Martello. It was a good choice, despite the fact that our very spacious one bedroom suite backed right onto the rail line. If possible, get a room closer to the front of the establishment. Despite the hotel being a bit of a magnet for young people, The Martello was quiet at night and the staff were exceptionally friendly. Situated right on the Irish Sea, it's easy to get into Dublin either by car or rail. The food was memorable and the service was particularly attentive and accommodating. The rooms themselves are simply but fit the bill for a family retracing some ancestral roots in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnT.D.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will be passing all of your comments onto our team. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I arrived at the martello to find the staff very nice and helpful food was great and very reasonable , the entertainment was great with brilliant atmosphere in the place. I will certainly be back ...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Owner at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed at the martello with my family in 2 separate apartments. We had booked our stay online but when we arrived we were not expected. It took an hour for the staff to get their head around the fact that we were staying. Then when we finally got to the apartments, we found that the electrics were faulty, some lights wouldn't turn off because the light switches were broken, and some wouldn't turn off. There was also a less than pleasant scent in the apartments, particularly off the beds. The windows also look at a brick wall and one window looked straight into someone else's room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darragh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartelloHotel, Owner at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our sincere apologies for the mix up with your booking. If we were aware at the time that we were having problems with electrics we could of moved you immediately. We take on board any feedback and try to improve our services.

Kind Regards
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,087 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martello Hotel

Address: Heather House Hotel 47 Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range: $91 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Martello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martello Hotel is located on the beautiful seafront in Bray, Co Wicklow and is situated only 5 minutes walk from the local train station. (Dublin city centre/ 02 Arena, Aviva Stadium/ Bord Gais Energy theatre only 40 mins away) The hotel is set in a beautiful Victorian house, which has been tastefully refurbished to create a modern interior with a vibrant atmosphere. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, television, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WIFI.The Martello features the Tower Bistro, Koo nightclub, Martello Bar and an all weather heated beer garden. The Tower Bistro serves European style cuisine while the bar offers a more relaxed dining style. Evenings at The Martello Bar offer music most nights with live musicians. Koo nightclub is open every weekend and is one of Bray’s hotspots attracting a lively and party style atmosphere. The Martello is set in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and has many local excursions on it’s doorstep including golf courses, kayaking, hill walking plus much more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Martello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing