We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It couldn't be more perfect !”
Review of Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 4 Bray B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“It couldn't be more perfect !”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed at the Old Rectory for 5 nights during October while visiting our son who was working in Enniskerry.
Kay welcomed us into her beautiful home. The Old Rectory became our home and we loved the comfortable bedroom and huge bath as well as the delicious breakfasts each morning.
We highly recommend this property and would certainly stay here again.
Thank-you Kay - you are a very special person !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daltonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
34
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

A friendly welcome, warm comfortable rooms, elegant bathrooms, incredible breakfasts, all in a beautiful listed building. If you are looking for a big anonymous chain hotel in the middle of Dublin city centre this is NOT for you. If you are looking for somewhere charming, cosy and comfortable with character, then book into the Old Rectory.
And the location ... convenient. On day one we took the Dart into Dublin (Bray to Dublin in 35 minutes). On day two we drove into the mountains (30 minute drive from the B&B). On day three we walked along the coast from Bray. What more could you ask?

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroline186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I recently had to stay overnight in bray to attend a funeral.
I was looking for somewhere quiet and private, convenient,
clean, and with private safe parking,,and at the right price.
I found it all at The Old Rectory. The owner Kay Kelly was
most welcoming and friendly, as was her daughter Philippa
who not only gave me directions to where I had to be, but
also drew me a map. My room was spotless, warm and cosy
and the shower worked. The big breakfast was as much as
I could handle, and set me up for the long day ahead. Thanks
to all again for their kindness and help. I will definitely be back.
Bob Kelly.
Strandhill.
Co Sligo.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knocknarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We looked for a nice B&B outside Dublin for an early start to Powerscourt gardens. We were surprised with the place, its location and more than anything its great style.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shvilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed in the Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights which we had previously booked,but wished we were only staying for 1 night.This stop is convenient for catching the ferry or flying from Dublin,as it is not far from the busy and expensive city,and easy access on the Dart railway.We found the guest house required a lot of attention to decor,and found our room very unusual,has the bathroom was accessable through the built in wardrobe.On the plus side we did have a wonderful breakfast which we found more than adequate when you are travelling a long distance.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This B&B certainly has character - very gothic! We chose it, though, for its location - touring Ireland by car, we wanted somewhere outside the city but with easy access. The Old Rectory fits the bill - bus from right outside down into Bray, then the DART (rapid transit train) to Dublin (and at a very reasonable cost). We did have a few moans about the accommodation, though, and unlike other reviewers we would not describe it as one of the best in Ireland. There was a bath tub in the bathroom, but no plug (so it was unusable), and the shower over the bath was not very good either. Also, as there was no double glazing, there was some traffic noise from the very busy main road. But we would still recommend it as a convenient place to stay to see Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ceiniog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed at the Old Rectory for two nights in June. It was the best B and B we had stayed in during our travels around Ireland. It is a beautiful old interesting house with lots of antiques and tastefully decorated. The bedroom was really lovely as well as being very spacious. The bathroom was also bigger than most b and bs. The real advantage was that it was only 30 mins away from Dublin. We loved our stay at the Old Rectory and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. The price is also very reasonable considering it is so close to Dublin which is an expensive city.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanielon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
1.4 mi away
The Martello Hotel
1.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
3.5 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,010 reviews
7.3 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory

Property: Old Rectory
Address: The Old Rectory Cottage Herbert Road, Bray, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Rectory is breathtaking Gothic Victorian guesthouse offering B&B accommodation located in a pleasant spot close to the coastal town of Bray in County Wicklow. It's a majestic old residence that was originally a rectory as its name points out, and the truly authentic design of the listed building really does ooze the character and charm of a bygone era. There's also a pleasant little garden area where you can enjoy the air and take in the scenery. The premises is fully heated and all of the rooms are non smoking, en-suite and equipped with TVs and tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi and there's private parking available for guest use. Nearby Bray offers you plenty of opportunities to enjoy yourself, you can play golf, go fishing in the River Dargle, swim at the beach or just relax with a drink and a bite to eat in one of the nearby restaurants or pubs - Bray is a great spot to spend the day as well as the evening, and you are only a short journey by train to Dublin and the wealth of options that Ireland's capital has to offer. The Old Rectory is a great location for visiting Powerscourt Gardens, Glendalough and the walkways of the Garden of Ireland. Directions: Old Rectory 0.5Km accessible from N11 at Herbert Road junction. Also 1.5Km from Bray main street out the Herbert Road beside Ardmore Film Studios. Rooms from €60 (€30.00 Per person) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel Bray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing