We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unwashed stay not by choice”
Review of Cahir House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cahir House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband an I stayed on Feb 22nd for one night b&b +evening meal. Room was good and spacious and clean ,teacups supplied in bedroom were all chipped on rim probably by dishwasher but you just could not use them. Had dinner booked for 6.30 went for shower at 5 30 and no hot water, just warm enough to wash your hands,abandoned shower until the morning what a shock that was when it was stone cold water than ran on all hot taps, which is totally unacceptable anywhere not to mind a hotel. Went for breakfast food cooked to order supposedly as this also came cold and had been sitting around for a while. Decided to get out of here fast,checked out at 10 40 unwashed and hungry, made my complaint about cold water, got a dismissive reply if I hadnt complained how could they fix it, which I replied, I am not the complaining type, and had expected to have hot water at 8 30am. Biggest dissapointment was there was no mention of an apology whatsoever. Must say our evening meal was very good, and the entertainment in the bar on Sat. night was very enjoyable. Would not revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BessieCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 445 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely overnight stay here on 16th Feb. The Room was adequate, small, floorboards creaky, but fine. We had dinner in the Hotel bistro - it was excellent. The staff were very courteous and professional.
There were 2 young people playing easy listening music in the bar on Sat night, which gave a nice atmosphere.
Cahir was surprisingly nice, There are lots of sights - Swiss Cottage, Cahir Castle - two of the places to explore. Galtymore mountain is only 8 miles away and worth a hike.
It was excellent value as we had a Living & Social Deal.

Room Tip: It might be better to ask for a room in the new part of teh Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homeraway33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel very centrally located, food was good value and very tasty. Rooms were outdated but very clean it was very noisy at night the walls were very thin and hard not to hear people in the next room or outside the door. Staff were very nice one Barman in particularly was not so friendly but maybe he just had a bad night. Everyone else was lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samcummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had new set menu dinner at the bistro restaurant in the hotel and it was excellent. The menu was 25 euro a head and included starter, main course, dessert and tea or coffee which was brilliant value for money. There were 5 or 6 well varied options in each section to choose from. The ambiance was great lovely lighting and tables far enough apart to have a private conversation. The staff were excellent and very professional. Overall I would highly recommend this restaurant for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fishtank5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

There are wonderful staff throughout this hotel, in the bar, reception, restaurant and housekeeping. Most of them were on Saturday night and again on the Sunday morning. This was a feat, as there had been a huge Hunt Ball event on in the hotel on the Saturday night, which went on until morning, literally! I don't recommend that any out of towners stay in the hotel during this event as you will get no sleep but any other night of the year, you will enjoy this lovely hotel. We had a really nicely cooked breakfast and dinner was good too. Great value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

great castle near by ,also swiss cottage ,unfortunately it was closed when we went ,people lovely and helpful and friendly .Food in the hotel was gorgeous and excellent value.rooms were large and very clean ,bed was very comfortable.There was a great buss in the hotel and residents bar ,all in all i would recommend this hotel to anyone ,just don't go to the local chipper

Room Tip: get a room in the old part of the hotel,other wise its a long walk to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Grand hotel situated in the lovely town of Cahir and overlooking the magnificent Cahir Castle where Excalibur was flmed. Stayed here on a Living Social deal. Looking at hotel's own website and tarrifs would come again for the accommodation, location,value for money. Breakfast was cooked to order with good quality ingredients, especially the bacon and freshlt baked bread. Dining room wasn't open while we were staying and we ate in the bar. Menu was standard hotel choice - goats chees, smoked salmon, pate, fish, steaks, roast meats, etc. The atmosphere in the bar was relaxed and jovial. There were a couple of families, a couple of groups of women, and local people enjoying a meal or drink. Everyoe seemed to be enjoying themselves as we overheard people commenting positively about their meals. Portions were large and quality was really good for a bar menu. Staff were friendly and informal, no silver service here, but were eager to be helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Didn't try the leisure centre and pool but observed a regular flow of traffic in and out. The hotel is really well located on the square in Cahir and is a great location for sightseeing in the county. Will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank putcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahir
4.8 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
9.9 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
633 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
21.7 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
414 reviews
9.8 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahir House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahir House Hotel

Address: Cahir House Hotel The Square, Cahir, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Price Range: $76 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahir House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahir House Hotel is set like a jewel in the heart of hertiage town Cahir. The hotel is very much the focal point of the town and is very popular with tourists and locals alike. For the past two years the property is under new management which has seen its patronage improve. The hotel itself has 42 well appointed rooms, a restaurant/bistro, an elegant bar and a beauty salon. There is a host of local attractions/ammenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cahir House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Cahir
Cahir Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing